We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel and Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Ranked #13 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the St-Martin Hotel in November. It was a great central location to enjoy the sights and experiences of Montreal. It is located within reasonable walking distance to old Montreal, the Rue St-Denis, Rue St-Catherine and Mount Royal Parc. In fact, if I had realized how close to Mount Royal Parc we were located I would have brought my outdoor running gear instead of using the small, but well equipped gym at the hotel. We didn't try the outdoor pool as it was a little nippy outside, but it looked inviting. The service was prompt and friendly delivered in English or French. The room was very comfortable with microwave and coffee machine. During the evening hotel staff came by to make sure we had enough complimentary bottled water, coffee and usually offered us a snack from the cart. The beds were extremely comfortable and the black out curtains allowed for a comfortable sleep in if wanted. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGreen3775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    337
    58
    30
    19
See reviews for
176
570
42
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Val d'Or, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This nice hotel is well located downtown Montreal. The service is fast, and very good. Tou can leave your car at the entrance, and they're preatty fast to get it when you nedd it back. The romms are very comfortable and you must need the key to acces the elevetor to go to your room. The restaurant beside it is OK, the breakfast aren't expensive.

It's a very good hotel...but I prefer Le Germain wich is at walking distance of that one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielMasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor .
I am very happy to read you enjoyed your time, and found that Le St-Martin meet your expectations both in terms of rooms and service.

I also understand you still prefer Le Germain, which is certainly a beautiful option.
That being said, I certainly believe we have more to offer since we are the brand new property, with a more central location and offer a more hip/modern guest experience!
Did you have the chance to take a look at our outdoor heated pool? Its a unique feature in the city!

Hopefuly we get the chance to host you again in the future, and have become a loyal guest of Le St-Martin Hotels!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent 5 nights at Le St-Martin and it was the perfect central location for business and leisure alike. The hotel is close to all shopping and terrific dining options. My room was comfortable: large work desk, quiet, charming décor, amazing shower (glass between the shower and the bedroom). However the lighting in the bathroom was not that great. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful -especially the valet staff they were SO fantastic! I wouldn’t recommend the restaurant at the hotel; I had breakfast and lunch there and both times I had horribly rude and slow service and it is incredibly overpriced, especially for the plethora of amazing restaurants surrounding the hotel. All in all a lovely hotel and I would stay again on my next trip to Montreal!

Room Tip: Stay away from the restaurant at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Absolutely an amazing Hotel, excellent quality, service and decor. Great location, the nicest pool outdoor-very clean and amazing staff.
The Bistro Restaurant was the Worst experience, the food was not great.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariposa376464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after our return from Quebec city. The only good thing that this hotel had was great location. The service was awful. There was an Indian Manager at the front desk when we first came in and he did not have the manners and courtesy of even greeting us. We feel he should take some courses in hospitality. The bell boy was very good and gave us great tips about good restaurants around the area. The beds were comfortable. The shower was awful as it did not have any place to put the soap or shampoo and we had to put in on the floor and worse of all the water would pool in the shower less than a minute. We called the front desk and told them of the situation and they said they will look into this but all they did was come and clean the area and the next day it pooled again. We stayed for only 2 nights but I don't think we will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Life_is_beautiful19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
As you might imagine, I am saddened to hear your stay was not to the standards you had expected from Le St-Martin.
If I am happy to read you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of the city, I want to make a moment to apologize if you received subpar service during your time amongst us.
We typically ensure all our guests have a great individualized experience, and it seems we dropped the ball that time.
Rest assured we will revisit training & procedures with our staff and make certain such situations do not happen again.

We also apologize about the small shower issue, and greatly appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We actually identified the maintenance problem and fixed it soon after your departure.

Please do not hesitate to contact me privately should you want to discuss this further.

Frederic Aouad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just stayed here for the weekend for a special occasion and it was perfect! I contacted them ahead to request a room with a view and an upgrade if possible and they did both! Great service. We loved the location, very central. Great restaurants close by. Their outdoor lap pool with jets was amazing. Not very big but intimate and because we were the only people in it, it was perfect. Oh, the heated floors surrounding the pool was a nice touch.
Our room on the 15th floor was the King Foyer with Fireplace and was tastefully decorated, very clean and we especially loved the bathroom and fireplace. The whole hotel has a great vibe and decor. We went to the restaurant for a drink and then again for dessert. It was excellent as well.

We will go back to this hotel for sure next time and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 40inNYCOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I actually got engaged here!!! It's a gorgeous hotel, and I will try and stay here every time we visit Montreal!
Very clean, great staff, amazing onsite restaurant and great location for walking anywhere.
The perfect hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snnelson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor!

We are all honored and touched to know you (and your significant other) got engaged at Le St-Martin Montréal.
As you can imagine we are immensly happy to have played a small part in such an important moment for you, our guest!

Next time you come Le St-Martin, do not hesitate to let me know.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#11 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 2,056 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#9 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Property: Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing