We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel - will stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel - will stay here again!”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Found this hotel on tripadvisor and delighted that we did! My husband and I travelled to Montreal for a weekend of shopping and relaxing. We stayed for 3 nights. We usually stay at boutique hotels in Old Montreal but wanted to be closer to Ste. Catherine Street for some Christmas shopping. We were not disappointed in this hotel. We arrived early in the morning and our room - a Grand Luxe suite - was actually ready. The hotel is just over a year old...new...clean...very pleasant decor. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was awesome...comfortable bed...lovely linens...the bathroom was gorgeous with sliding shutter doors separating it from the bedroom...we were not at all bothered by this and actually thought it was a romantic touch...obviously this room is more suited for couples!! There are flat screen TVs in the bedroom and the bathroom. There is a room safe and a mini-bar fridge. Our suite had a corner fireplace (not real but still very nice) and a Keruig coffee maker. Bottled water and wifi were free. We were in room 401 which was on a corner...we heard no street noise at night. We did not eat at the restaurant downstairs but did stop into the bar twice on our way back to our room at night. It was busy, noisy and fun and just what we were looking for! The location of this hotel is perfect...a 5 minute walk from the main shopping area and right next door to a Metro station...we will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Montreal!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uffizi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    421
    78
    35
    24
See reviews for
243
711
60
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Was very impressed by this hotel. Loved the bathroom and especially the seperation between bedroom and bathroom...very romantic. Front desk staff was great, and very accomodating with my early check in and answered all my questions about where to eat, visit, and shop. The location is amazing, walking distance from shops and restaurants. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyssa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We just returned from a belated birthday celebration in Montreal. Stayed two nights at the St-Martin. Room was lovely, having reserved the Classic King Foyer. Plenty of room, fireplace, clean. We were able to check into our room around noon which was helpful to get an early start to our day. Referrals for restaurants were excellent from the staff.

We had a lovely breakfast Saturday morning but when we returned to the hotel after watching a game at the Bell Centre, we decided to stop for a drink in the restaurant, L'Aromate. We sat at the bar and ordered a drink. No music was playing until we sat down and then it was blaring. Others at the bar asked for the music to be lowered. The bartender agreed but within five minutes, some young man danced his way behind the bar to increase the volume and change the music (it was connected to the stereo on his iphone). This happened several times before my husband again asked for the volume to be lowered. There was no way we could have a conversation under those conditions.

I don't mind loud music but if that's what I had wanted, we would have gone to a dance bar. This was a restaurant.

Between this young man constantly changing songs, raising the level of music and glasses of champagne being smashed on the floor across from us, we stayed long enough to finish our drink. At least three other tables left around the same time.

What seemed to be some sort of celebration in the restaurant took over the place, with servers drinking and dancing and completely ignoring the idea that this was a public restaurant with other patrons. In what seemed like a classy place, it quickly dropped to amateurish and rude.

We complained to the bartender who basically threw up his hands in embarrassment. We complained to the front desk, who said it wasn't the first time they've received complaints about the restaurant. They did offer us coupons for a limited breakfast there the next day.

My advice: avoid this place or just don't ever expect consistent, good service.

It was a real disappointment in what was otherwise a nice trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idletgoifihadagrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here one night in transit. Comfortable bed. Free Wi-Fi. Efficient but rather gruff front desk personnel. Fast room service. Very clean. It all sounds great on paper but the bathroom was .... weird. Nothing really separates it from the bedroom -- just some ineffectual wooden shutters. Trust me on this one -- it was very off-putting. Though it's a nice enough hotel and they're trying very hard, I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSico2004, General Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you very much for your valuable points. Our culture is to ensure personailzed service. We have also implemented many incentive programs for all staff members to ensure that we can get the best out of them. Althought it is not perfect I beleive that they are striving to be the best in the industry. Of course their constant growing pains for any brand new hotel but, I am confident of our team. I am also pleased that we have guests such as yourself that take the time to write so that we can improve our services and amenties.
In terms of the bathroom shutters, we do have many guests who enjoy this feature and use it as a romantic gesture. Our website will showcase several pictues that may be able to aid in your choice. This will include larger rooms, panoramic rooms, and rooms with no bathroom shutters Our goal is to please all guests from business to leisure. We have created many types of rooms to suit many types of needs . Thank you once again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This Hotel was wonderful, the suite was beautiful clean roomy the view great, bahroom shower roomy and squeeky clean,
The only problem the ceiling to floor wall to wall windows are only covered by light blinds, so if you are like us and like a dark room to sleep in then that could be a problem.
My Husband is in the hotel drapery business and said it would be an easy fix for them to add a blackout drape in front of the blinds.

Room Tip: Higher floor less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyRadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in October; what a fantastic hotel in terms of design and service. The rooms are beautiful- more design oriented than a generic business hotel like a Sofitel, but more practical than the dim-lighting trendy style like W-Hotels- a perfect combination of design and practicality. We had a corner room with fireplace (decorative only) with a large soaker tub. The pictures on the hotel website are very accurate. Service was also top-notch. Nice extras like free bottled water and wi-fi, a free beverage and snack service in the evening- nice touch. But then there are the windows....I don't know if someone cut corners in construction (the Hotel is just over a year old) or what, but when we went to bed- so the room was quiet- you could hear EVERYTHING that was happening outside. It was as if the window was open- which it wasn't- they don't open! I have stayed in other Montreal hotels are equally busy streets- actually more busy streets- but never heard street noise in the room like this before- and we were on the 8th floor. I actually went to the window and you could feel air- and hear sound- streaming in along the bottom of the window. The cavity below the window also seemed hollow. This is also a walking route from the McGill student area to the downtown bars, so the street noise (esp. Fri & Sat) consists of frequent groups of screaming students from 11:00 PM to 4:00 AM, mixed in with sirens. Then the beeping of the delivery trucks start at 6 AM. Heck we could even hear dogs barking and people talking- from the sidewalk 8 stories below. 'm not sure, but something is definitely not right. Perhaps some spray foam and caulking could help?

The only other disappointment was the exercise room- so small. The Crystal has them beat here (similar style, similar price). So while the service and condition of the room were far superior to the Crystal, and more stylish than the Sofitel, the windows are a deal-breaker- as much as I would like to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr.weinerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The room was very well furnished and comfortable, the complimentary breakfast was excellent and appreciated the free wi fi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Property: Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing