We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

The hotel is very nice and new... you can still smell the paint from the walls. The rooms are GORGEOUS!!!!!!! very tastefully done... the bed is large, no view though even though they claim that most of their rooms (De Luxe and Verriere Suites especially) have nice city views. The location is good, within walking distance to everything. We did not have any problems with the noise and our room was on the 9th floor. The pool is VERY SMALL, it's more off a jacuzzi with cold water and there is no possibility for suntanning. The reception staff is not friendly, but that's Montreal for you. The concierge staff was nice! Also the reservations manager was EXTREMELY RUDE and not accomodating on the phone and that really turned me off from going to the hotel initially. The breakfast was really good. The hotel is nice but overpriced, try to find a deal on it and then make it worth while. As an aside, upon checking out I got a nice $$$$$ charge for the minibar, which was never used!!!!!!! I didn't even know where it was in the room!!!!!! So make sure you check your minibar as soon as you go in the room to avoid the pain upon checkout... if anything is missing make sure to report it ASAP!

Room Tip: get a room in a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    411
    73
    32
    22
See reviews for
231
687
55
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for the U2 concert! The hotel was awesome. Location was great, staff were friendly. The pool was very unique. We went with 3 other couples and hung around the pool for 2 hours. The only complaint we had was that we had friends who stayed at the hotel and their room was not ready until 5 pm. Other than that it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuse101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Upon checking in, we were greeted by less than friendly staff. In 80 degree weather, the lobby was hot and crowded. There are only two elevators and we waited over 10 minutes to get an elevator to take us up to our room. This long wait for the elevator persisted throughout our stay.

Our room was nice at first glance but our big tub which we were excited to use had four pubic hairs in it- I know, vomit-inducing- and one really long black hair. Immediately we were turned off. We called down to have out tub cleaned and they had the nerve to simply come in and remove the hairs with their hands and fail to disenfect the tub. We called them back and the simply washed the tub by hand without even rinsing it. I was sickened by the housekeeping in this hotel.

The hotel claims to have a pool and we were looking forward to spending time relaxing by the pool and swimming. Pool? This was a glorified hot tub without the heat! Imagine a cold jacuzzi. Yikes! There were only three lounge chairs and no sun exposure. Additionally, all the flowers and tree were dead.

I would dissuade anyone from staying at this hotel. It has no class and it's filthy and hot.

Gross experience.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We booked into this hotel as a last minute thing two Saturday nights ago after travelling up from Toronto. It was glorious, the room (1409) was stunning with a huge bed that was so very comfy, large tv, mini bar and everything you could possibly need. The view of skyscrapers reflected in the building opposite was captivating. The bathroom was large and had both a two man bath tub and and a two man walk in shower, the bathroom itself opened up into the room which is a lovely idea. We both slept soundly as it was so quiet and comfortable. Room service was very prompt and all of the staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful.

Sadly when we arrived back the next Saturday night (after spending a week in Quebec City) it was quite a different story. We had an early flight to Boston on the Sunday morning so decided that we'd stay here again and have a nice relax. We were given room 804, again the room itself was gorgeous and the bed and bathroom were exquisite but the noise was incredible. On the 14th floor we had been too high to hear anything but the eighth was awful!! The glazing on the windows was so thin that you may as well have been trying to sleep in the middle of the street.

The main feature of the room was the window and the view but quite frankly the view was better on the 14th. The blinds on the window failed to shut out the light and the curtain only covered about a quarter of the backs of the blinds. I suppose it's called art but the room was totally light from dawn onwards so even if you had managed to nod off through the noise for a few hours you wouldn't have managed it for long.

If you do choose to stay here refuse any room below the 12th Floor if you want any peace. Oh and I'd also make sure they haven't put any "hen do" parties on your floor too as they were also an isssue.

Room Tip: Don't touch anything below the 12th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

This hotel was very convient to the downtown shopping area and some very good restaurants. Staff was friendly, rooms neat and clean and breakfast was included!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyroadtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We had a really great time. Everyone was so nice and the hotel is very elegant. While waiting for the car, someone from the hotel ask us if we would like a cup of coffee for our trip. So thoughtful and unexpected. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nan61743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Le Saint Martin in Montreal for the second time last week. This will now be my hotel of choice when traveling in Montreal.
Beautiful hotel, brand new, very clean, perfectly located, just a wonderful spot.
I highly recommend this hotel for business or leisure travel any time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahbear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Property: Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing