We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best part of Montreal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Piano Blanc

Au Piano Blanc
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Piano Blanc
Ranked #78 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best part of Montreal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

After having to vacate a dirty, smoky vacation rental that was giving my boyfriend breathing trouble, Celine greeted us at 11 o'clock at night at her beautiful gite. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. It is cozy, beautiful and absolutely charming. The location is amazing - right by a metro station and a block off the main drag. We were on the ground floor facing the street and I had no problems with noise. The breakfast was gorgeous as well. My new favorite place in Montreal!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rimouski (Québec)
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I spend two nights at this B&B. We had a small room called l'Écolière on the ground floor. The room was fairly small and we had to share the bathroom also on the ground floor (there are two rooms with private bathrooms but they were already taken when we booked).

There is no A/C although with the fan and a window opening on the courtyard, it was not really a necessity. The courtyard is in the back, well shaded and a nice and pleasant area. On our last night there instead of going out for dinner we bought a bottle of wine, cheese and bread which we took to eat in the courtyard with other guests. It made for a enjoyable evening.

They served very good breakfasts on both days with plenty of choices of cereals, toasts, croissants, jams, etc. Breakfast is served on one long table where all guests sit. It makes it convenient to meet the other guests and exchange with them. There is a "smokers corner" in the courtyard where you can take you coffee and cigarette. The only negative item about the breakfast was the the time of serving. At 8 h 30 we found it a bit late as we are early risers.

There is a private parking lot across the street which charges only $3 for a full day and night. We left our car in the parking lot and used public transportation. There is a metro and bus stop less than 50 meters from the B&B. It is also very close to Avenue Mont-Royal and all its cafés and restaurants.

The personnel was helpful and courteous although they did not do room service (maybe because we were staying only two nights?).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed two nights at au piano blanc. Céline was very helpful and accommodating and treated us to a vibrant and entertaining song accompanied by her guitar. The breakfast was excellent and the company stimulating. It is right by the Mont Royal neighborhood full of restaurants and engaging boutiques. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickandBethFeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

Right off the Mont-Royal metro station is this charming B&B that's a great place to call home base when you visit for either business or vacation. Rooms are extremely comfortable and outfitted with all the modern conveniences of a hotel. The staff are incredibly gracious and helpful, including the friendly little dog who hung around to keep me company as I worked on my laptop at the dining room table. Breakfast is different each morning but is always a tasty surprise. I enjoyed chatting up my fellow boarders at the breakfast table, and found it hard to tear myself away from the spirited conversation and proceed with my day. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oimoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Celine is an amazing energetic and welcoming host. B&b is in a great location - away from crazy loud club scene and close to alternative and classy shops and restaurants. Whether gay or straights, couple or single you will feel most welcomed and relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunMaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Céline made us feel at home immediately and the house reflects her interests and charm - the stairs are painted to resemble a piano keyboard! I read the grumpy review about breakfast, but we were on holiday and it suited us perfectly that breakfast was basically whenever you emerged rather than some regimented time. Céline also took the trouble to ask what we'd like the next morning so it did vary too, depending how we felt. we took a cheaper room with shared bathroom which has a wonderful shower, but the other rooms looked even better. Overall, wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clu2life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england u.s.a.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

we just returned from the grand prix in montreal. it was a wonderful weekend. we stayed at au piano blanc in the mont royal section. it is a lovely bed and breakfast. the hostess celine is so charming and made us feel welcome the whole weekend. we were greeted by one of her assistants, gigi who helped us to settle in. we have stayed at this b&b three times and really enjoy it for several reasons - it's lovely, comfortable, has good breakfasts and is very close to the metro which we take to get to the racetrack and the mont royal area has a lot of good restaurants and shopping.
i recommend au piano blanc at any time of the year. the fall is great in montreal for sightseeing. and a stay at au piano blanc would be lovely at that time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#86 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Shezelles
Shezelles
#29 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#26 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Bienvenue B&B
Bienvenue B&B
#79 of 144 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
leQube Apartments
leQube Apartments
#7 of 94 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#11 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Piano Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Piano Blanc

Property: Au Piano Blanc
Address: 4440, rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing