We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toroli

Toroli
Ranked #261 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: French, Japanese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I went to Toroli last night (Fri Aug24). I found this place from TripA and just wanted to give it a try. We didn't make a reservation but lucky enough to get the table at 8. My husband ordered Tasting menu 5 courses with Filet mignon. His was med rare and meat was so tender. He said it was the best meal he ever had. We also got salad, miso soup and appetizer of the day. They were excellent!!! taste was far better than typical Japanese food. You can't compare them with the Toroli. To my main course I got the seafood roll and it was so delicious, a little bit of heat. I would recommend to anyone who loves to eat good food. This place is the best and must try. We will come back again for next visit to Montreal!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Poppiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    16
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Don't Judge a Book by it's Cover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I travel a lot and eat out more than most. I would therefore say I'm pretty well qualified to say the food is fantastic. Really really something special.

I will warn you and say you will read reviews here and look at their site and get the the restaurant and it will NOT be what you expect. It looks a bit like a cafe in a sidestreet. Don't be put off. That added to the atmosphere in my view. The place is owned by a really nice Japanese couple who moved to Montreal to learn French cuisine. They are doing an amazing job.

Go - you won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank takemetohrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Unbelievable food. This restaurant is a must. Dont be fooled from the outside, it was a quiet night and nobody in the restaurant so we were hesitant to go in even though we booked. Well it was the best restaurant I have been to in years. The chef and server were amazing. Well done , it should be number 1 on trip advisor.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank theshutterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
444 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“One of Montreal’s best restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our second visit to Toroli, which we find to be perfect for a romantic dinner for two or a special outing with a few foodie friends, since swanky décor is less important to us than savouring original creations that make taste buds practically dance for joy! The textbook definition of a hidden gem, Toroli is tucked away down a narrow one-way street, just a 2-minute walk from the Mont-Royal metro station. Don’t be alarmed by the incongruous mural of a cow out front, a holdover from the previous tenants; inside, you will find a homey ambiance and attentive, knowledgeable service.

An earlier reviewer stated that the main course alone cost $43, but in fact this is the per-person price of the least expensive five-course tasting menu (there are two other options at $46 and $48). A six-course tasting menu is also available for $65. For those who prefer to order à la carte, individual main-course dishes currently range from $25 to $42—admittedly not cheap, but very reasonable considering the excellence of each dish.

Since Toroli has only six tables, to be safe you should reserve by phone (the restaurant’s website does not offer online booking), though only one other table was occupied during our latest visit so walk-ins would have been seated immediately.

Previous reviewers have applied a long list of superlatives to Toroli. They are not exaggerating! The Japanese–French fusion dishes here are a revelation, and can compete with the very finest anywhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank WMarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum-O”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

First of all, it was an interesting place, very tiny but the food and flavour was not! I live in Toronto and we have pretty excellent Asian Cuisine and I would admit that held up and delivered. Everything was flavourful excellent technique - My boyfriend ordered the filet mignon and was perfectly done to a medium rare standard and my Palais De La Mer Roll was the best roll ever. Nothing will compare. For a fusion, dead on!! I will return on my next visit to Montreal. Apps were super awesome as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toroli also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Toroli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing