We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Explore Old Montreal - A Small-Group Walking Tour for the Curious
814

Book in advance
from
$44.50
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel
from $44.50
More Info
from $13.89
More Info
from $37.71
More Info
Reviews (1,180)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveler rating
664
418
90
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
664
418
90
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marguerite bourgeoys notre dame bell tower old church bonsecours market entrance fee rue st sailors ships museum history margherita interior donation artwork mass sanctuary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2019

Really nice looking church, no crowd so easy to get around and enjoy the interior's sculptures, and statues

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Karenou91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Stop in and see the votive lamps shaped like ships. This is the oldest church in Montreal and offers free admission. Leave a donation to support upkeep. Located right next to Bon-Secours Market, you can easily pop in while walking around Old Montreal.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Chip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

This is a fairly early church in Old Montreal that was the sailors' church. That's why you'll see model wooden ships hanging from the ceiling. The history of the church is fascinating, and there are miniature rooms on the second floor telling the story. The prize here is the climb to the bell tower. It's not too many steps (92) and it give a 360 degree view of Montreal featuring the old city and the river.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank bnwilensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

It’s a small chapel in the heart of old Montreal, the oldest church in town. It’s quiet and uplifting in a nostalgic touching way. It’s neither grand nor monumental, but very beautiful, particularly the ceiling over the sanctuary. The story of the first Canadian saint Marguerite Bourgeoys who the church is dedicated to, is really moving and meaningful. Her tomb in white marble is in the church.
You can climb to the top and the views of the port and the city on two different levels are breathtaking.
There is a small museum and a gift store. You have to pay for the climb which is totally worth it, but the chapel is free.
Very glad we stopped by, a lot of history here.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank ldjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

These are the two words that best describe this little chapel at the city's Old Port.
The inside is amazing. Look at the light fixtures dropping down from the ceiling and you will notice all of them are wood-sculpted fishing boats.
Wonderful area to stroll down Rue St. Paul as well.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank flemish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews