We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Explore Old Montreal - A Small-Group Walking Tour for the Curious
814

Book in advance
from
$44.50
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel
from $44.50
More Info
from $13.89
More Info
from $37.71
More Info
Reviews (1,180)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveler rating
664
418
90
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
664
418
90
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marguerite bourgeoys notre dame bell tower old church bonsecours market entrance fee rue st sailors ships museum history margherita interior donation artwork mass sanctuary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2019

These are the two words that best describe this little chapel at the city's Old Port.
The inside is amazing. Look at the light fixtures dropping down from the ceiling and you will notice all of them are wood-sculpted fishing boats.
Wonderful area to stroll down Rue St. Paul as well.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank flemish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

This beautiful chapel is not only integral to Montreal’s history, but also a humble nod in a Leonard Cohen song. The entire area surrounding it (Old Port) is truly one of the most gorgeous and well preserved towns we have ever seen. You will be instantly transported through time. Worth the visit and all the walkable surroundings.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank dieciseis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

Completed in 1771 replacing an earlier wooden church destroyed by fire in 1754 Notre Dane de Bonsecours is one of Montreal’s oldest churches. It is situated at the northern end of the old town close to the impressive domed market building with which it shares its name. It is on the site of a chapel built at the instigation of St. Marguerite Bourgeoys, first teacher in the colony of Ville Marie abs founder of the congregation of Notre Dame. In 1849 the Bishop of Montreal gave the chapel a statue of the Virgin as Star of the Sea contributing to its reputation as the Sailors’ Chapel. In 2005 Marguerite Bourgeoy’s mortal remains were returned to the chapel where she now lies in the sanctuary.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank futtock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

Went to see the Aura show ! An experience that cant be missed
The light show kind of recreates the creation story and was beautiful - Well worth the ticket

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Karyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

This church was built by Marguerite Bourgeoys. The chapel became a favorite place of prayer for sailors and has some model boats hanging from the ceiling. It was a nice little place to visit. I definitely recommend checking out the museum also.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Renee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews