We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winner of the 2013 Canadian hire pushbike rode by Australians Grand Prix”

Circuit Gilles Villeneuve
Ranked #27 of 426 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on Ile Notre-Dame, the 4.361 km-long Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve hosts the Grand Prix du Canada, as well as biking, in-line skating, jogging and walking enthusiasts! PARTIAL CLOSURE The Circuit Gilles Villeneuve will be partially closed to cyclists, pedestrians and inline skates enthusiasts from May 15 to September 4, 2017 due to the mounting, the hosting and demounting of major events, to maintenance work done on the circuit in preparation for the Grand Prix du Canada, and to the STM bus circuit to Jean-Dore beach. This partial closure means two things: • The Circuit Gilles Villeneuve will be accessible to cyclists, pedestrians and inline skates enthusiasts for only 43 non consecutive days this summer, from May 15 to September 4, 2017. Visite the Parc Jean-Drapeau website for the detailed schedule. • A portion of the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, the "Hairpin" area, will be inaccessible at all time time from May 15 to September 4, 2017.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Canadian Grand Prix always looks like an amazing event based on a cool track. Although when I visited Montreal in May (when there is no Grand Prix) we were able to ride our bikes around the circuit. That, as a Formula One fan, was an awesome experience. It was even awesome to crash straight into the Wall of Champions (albeit at a lot lower speed, also on purpose). It’s a good place to ride just for exercise and for the view, but as a race fan it is just incredible. This was a highlight for me during my visit to Montreal.

Thank Travelling_Manchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 310 of 700 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Rented a bike in old city area, then rode out to the islands on the bike paths. There is open access to the track for all modes of transportation, but in cars there's a 30mph limit, so I found it more fun to ride a bike for some element of speed. :) There's places to grab drinks or get refreshed down there, but no F1 shop or anything besides random outdoor activities. The casino is there, but I didn't go in. Just ran 2.5 laps and headed back to town. I did the round trip from old town in 2 hours with brief stops on both islands and some photo ops on the track itself. Good way to spend a nice afternoon in Montreal. I'm an average biker and had a good time. Recommend renting a bike from a shop, not a Bixi bike, as you'll get higher quality for the same price.

1  Thank worldtravlr987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The place is great as it is open to everybody in such a natural way.
While biking through the circuit I couldn't avoid remembering all the amazing races that took place on this beautiful racetrack. The location is also very nice as it is surrounded by a lot of nature, with plenty of trees, the St. Lawrence river and nice gardens in the isle of Notre Dame.
A must-go place for any real F1 fan!!! Best is to go by bike. Greetings from one of the few "non Ferrari" Italian F1 fan :-)

Thank Alena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've been going there since 1987 for race events and a few bicycle trips but on non racing weekends it is open to the general public who can drive around the track as it 's a public through fare and bus route. In the interior are beautiful flower gardens, footpaths, a river and a large man made lake/beach. This lake apparently has a special filtration system that cleans and re pumps the water. On the north side is a centre that rents kayaks, I think it was $15 per hour but not terribly expensive. There is a specially designated/cordoned area at the casino end for the kayaks. The casino is also there and has a large parking garage and regular bus service.

Bicycles are allowed on the circuit and a bike trail goes around the island of ile Notre Dame. On the north side are washroom stations and one with an air pump; this side gives a stunning view of downtown Montreal, Mount Royal and old Montreal. The south side traverses the Olympic rowing basin.

The circuit/ile Notre Dame is easily reached by the Metro station on ile Ste. Helene and walking across the bridge as well as being on a bicycle path and bus route.

1  Thank MarkhamMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We hired some bikes for the day and cycled over the bridge to the Formula 1 circuit, it was so much fun, just being able to ride your bike around a formula 1 circuit was great, taking those sharp corners and chicanes on a two wheeled bicycle was something i will always remember, you can also drive your car around if you like.

Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circuit Gilles Villeneuve also viewed

 

Been to Circuit Gilles Villeneuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing