We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!”

La Ronde Amusement Park
Ranked #71 of 393 things to do in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White-knuckle fans will love the spectacular "Manitou" or "Vertigo," two of many thrill rides at Canadian Six Flags.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

LaRonde is the absolute worst "amusement" park ever, in fact I wouldn't even compare it to my local fair that happens each September. LaRonde not only had lame rides but when I went most of the food booths were closed and even some of the rides were shut down. My family and I went on 2 rides (both roller coasters which sucked majorly) before we left the park. This park is horrible so save your money or take a trip to Canada's Wonderland in Vaughan, now that's a good amusement park!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RamenGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    251
    190
    100
    94
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lots of fun for all ages”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I took our 3 grandchildren here and everyone had a great time. It is quite expensive, though about par for amusement parks and a lot cheaper than Disney. We got our tickets at Costco a couple of days before, which saved us a few dollars on the regular price tickets (seniors and children under 54” have a reduced price at the park too). We got there by Metro to the Jean-Drapeau station, where a free bus takes you to the park. Contrary to what I read in a TripAdvisor report, you are NOT allowed to bring in your own food and drinks. There is a sign at the entrance stating this and the staff search your bags going in. Luckily I had only brought water and they don’t object to that. It was a hot weekday in late August. We arrived at opening time, 11 a.m. and left about 3:30. The lineups for most rides weren’t bad and there was no waiting at all on some of the tamer ones.

Our grandchildren are aged 8 to 12 and there was a good mix of rides for them. The Ferris wheel is a great place to watch some of the ones that none of us would try, like the scariest roller coasters, the catapult and the bungee ball. In my view watching them is a lot more fun than trying them out. :-) It was a very hot day so we enjoyed cooling off on the Splash but if you don’t care about that I’d avoid this ride; it’s just a pretty tame roller coaster where you get soaked. The food is quite pricey but Pizza Pizza has a not bad deal – 2 large pieces of tasty pizza and 1 pop for $12. Prices in the gift shop are more reasonable than the food.

It’s a nice clean park, lots of fun for families. I’m sure we’ll be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very expensive!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The worst amusement experience ever! If you are NON-Canadian tourists, this is NOT a place for you. The park offers several coupons/packages, so if you are local, you can enjoy the deals.
The sign says that a daily ticket is $59 (59.96 or something like that). Although we were advised to use our AAA card by the AAA agent, which were supposed to give us a discounted price $49.99, we could not use the card. Besides, the ticket price was not $59. It was $65+. We had to pay tax even for the admission. It should include the tax! All foods and beverages are the same way. There are many closed food concessions, and their foods were not appreciated. This is more expensive than Disney Land! There are at least cute and popular characters in Disney, and the facilities are much more nicer. Disappointed...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Sully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Twice this season”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have season passes that we always buy in the fall when they have their big special. It's works out to be cheaper than a day pass. That being said, there are cans of Coke everywhere which will give you a $10 discount on a daily pass or if you know someonw who is a CAA member, you can get the tickets even cheaper. Buying in advance also saves you waiting in line to buy them.
You can't bring food into the park at all but you can bring bottled water. We drink and then refill at the fountains. Bags are searched at the entrance.
I also went to Six Flags New England this summer and the food at La Ronde is cheaper. McDonalds is a good bet -- it's about $3 more per trio than the regular McDs.
Their popcorn bucket is also a good buy. $7.50 and it includes 3 fill ups of popcorn or cotton candy. Subsequent refills after that are $2.30 (tax incl). They also sell refillable drink containers, but we just stick to water.

Sometimes getting there is great, and other times the lineups to get into the parking lot are tough - it depends on the day. Your best bet is to have a plan of attack, get there as early as possible, and then go to the rides that tend to have the longest lines first.
My sons tried the new Aqua Twist ride. They loved it, but they got very wet. Same with Le Splash - you will get soaked. Pitoune is fine, you'll only get a few drops of water on you.

One criticism: They have taken out several good family rides over the last few years and replaced it with either a new thrill ride or a paid attraction. Most people hate the paid attractions and it just spreads the lines into the included-with-entrance rides. They took out the Maelstrom and replaced it with a paid thing and a few years ago took out the tea cups and replaced it with Ednor. They little kids section is great, but there isn't much inbetween rides which is why the Pirate Ship and the Toboggans Nordique tend to have long lines. Yes the new Aqua Twist is a family ride but I hate stuff where I have to walk around soaking wet for hours.

If it's really crowded on the day you go and you only have a day pass, then spring for the Flash Pass if you can afford it -- you'll get more out of your day.

Overall it's OK, but they need to add more family-friendly stuff for kids who have outgrown the kiddie stuff but aren't ready for the Goliath.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreMeTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amusement Park Showing its Age”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We took our 3 kids in early August and were a bit disappointed. There is an adequate number of rides and some pretty good roller coasters. However, the park overall is starting to show its age: many empty kiosks / food concessions, visible construction sites, a couple of abandoned buildings. Six Flags needs to put some money into this park to rejuvenate it. A few new rides wouldn't hurt either. The line-ups were long on the "big" rides and the big wooden roller coaster Le Monstre was shutdown for repairs. They have a "fast pass" system to bypass the lineups but it is quite expensive. You cannot bring food onto the site but they do have a picnic area adjacent to the parking lot. Overall...meh...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sensfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ronde Amusement Park also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to La Ronde Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing