We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of reading...”

Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.80*
and up
Old Montreal Private Walking Tour
Ranked #37 of 421 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Montreal’s portal to its past, the Chateau Ramezay was the first building in Quebec to be classified an historic monument. Chosen as one of the 1001 Historic Sites You Must See Before You Die, the Château invites you to relive more than 500 years of history, from the pre-contact Amerindian era to the 20th century.A not-to-be-missed heritage landmark in Old Montreal, the Château Ramezay holds fascinating collections, displayed in numerous exhibits, intermingled with multimedia portrayals of historical figures recounting, in six languages, highlights of their lives at the Château. Items in the museum shop reflect this legacy.Visit the Governor's Garden and experience delights typical of an urban garden in New France. In summer, a courtyard café overlooks the garden.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Self guided = A lot of reading. Because of French tours in progress it was a big distracting. Good to learn history- we've been to Montreal before & wanted to see something new- interesting comparisons if you have been to English settlements in the US. The print on all of the descriptions is tiny so really had to lean close to read.

Thank urbanagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauRamezay, Public Relations Manager at Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback!
Visitors may visit the Château Ramezay in two different ways: self guided, (if they want to take all the time needed) or in a guided tour with dynamic guides (for a one hour visit). We offer tours twice a day, in French and English and they are included in the entrance price. If visitors want a mix between a self-guided visit and a guided-tour, we also offer a multimedia circuit that is more interactive than reading everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 268 of 415 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location of this museum is perfect, at the top of Place Jacques Cartier. Inside, each section of the museum is well presented but overall disjointed. The first few rooms are lovely recreations of period rooms. The next few rooms display period artifacts with a nice measure of curation, but in simple format. Downstairs in the cellar is a loosely arranged grouping of arts and crafts, along with some exhibit on servants' life of the 18th century in Montreal. The last few exhibits back upstairs are dedicated to contemporary artists.

Overall, I would have been happier if the single theme of period recreation of the furniture and architecture had been carried through the whole venue, but it is a lovely 45 minutes or so to visit.

Thank SyrinxSounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauRamezay, Education and Communication Coordinator at Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for the feedback!
We are happy that you enjoyed your visit at the Château Ramezay. As you said, the Château Ramezay has a great location. Because it is in the Old-Montreal since 1705, its history is very rich. This is why we present more than 500 years of history of Montréal, Québec and Canada, from the pre-contact Amerindian era to the 20th century in our permanent exhibitions.
We appreciate your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you want to learn about the history of Montreal, there is no better place to start then the Chateau De Ramezay Museum. The building was constructed in the 18th century for the first governor of Montreal and the exhibits inside this museum present a timeline of history on the founding of the city of Montreal. We really enjoyed listening to the audio recordings in every room and seeing all the old artifacts and portraits. When you're done with the museum, walk across the street and check out the Montreal City Hall where you can see the assembly room and walk through another old and interesting building.

Thank Paul0115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauRamezay, Education and Communication Coordinator at Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback!
We are really happy that you enjoyed your visit at the Château Ramezay and we hope we reached all your expectations. The multimedia circuit in the rooms is a very good way to learn easily about the history of Montreal. We present new temporary exhibitions every year, so visit us again if you come back to Montréal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was one of the best things to see in Montreal. Not big but filled with the history of those who had lived there and the history of the developing city. It was well laid out - although I could have done without the rooms on folk art which seemed so out of place in this lovely old house.

2  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauRamezay, Education and Communication Coordinator at Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback!
We are really happy that you enjoyed your visit! Even if the Château is not big, its history is rich and reflects well the history of Montréal. We have new temporary exhibitions every year on different topics related to popular Québec culture and heritage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A true gem in the heart of Montreal. Incredibly enjoyed the culinary tours offered in the Spring. The tour starts off with a culinary history lesson in the Ramzey kitchen in front of the old wood burning oven and then you are whisked off through the streets of Old Montreal. You learn about the history of the architecture,and the evolution of Montreal as a culinary hub. You stop at select restaurants to sample some of their specialties which reflect the historical lecture Highly recommended Note, these tours are not available all year round , Spring Season only.

1  Thank BougieBFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing