We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The entire family loved this!”

Biodome de Montreal
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$87.91*
and up
Montreal Attraction Pass
Ranked #16 of 396 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Along with the Botanical Garden, the Insectarium and the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium, teh Biodôme is part of the Montréal Space for Life, Canada's largest natural museum science complex and Montreal's top must see attraction. Travel baggage-free at the Biodôme! Embark on an immersive, sensory journey through the ecosystems of the Americas. Listen to the sounds of the tropical rainforest, go in search of lynx in the Laurentian maple forest, dive into the heart of the Gulf of St. Lawrence and give a wink and a nod to the penguins in the sub-polar regions. Listen as our nature interpreters let you in on the secrets this fascinating biodiversity holds. An oasis in the heart of the city, the Montreal Biodome recreates some of the most beautiful ecosystems of the Americas which allows plans and animals to live as in their natural habitats.A unique experience of nature and fun !
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The entire family loved this!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Biodome is amazing! A must-see for any age. We loved the layout of the habitats. It was great to be so up-close & personal with so many animals. We especially loved the rainforest. We also spent time talking to the staff who were feeding the animals. My husband & I loved this exhibit as much as the kids!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkumpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,639
    1,578
    647
    139
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A nice break from city attractions”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We enjoyed getting out of the city for a while, and the Biodome was a nice spot. We drove as it really isn't walkable from downtown, where we were staying. It's isn't the same as zoos I've been to, so doesn't take nearly as long to visit, but it has a nice balance of animals and ecosystems featured, so we really enjoyed it. We'd recommend for couple, friends, or a family visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank atticgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So-so attraction”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went to the Biodome as it was one of the few things we could find to do with kids in Montreal (in March). My boys are 13 & 15, and while I will say that they enjoyed it, I was disappointed in it--especially for the price we paid.

I knew what it would be like going in (from reviews I had read), but again, it was one of the few things we could find to do! There are basically four different ecosystem areas in the Biodome: rainforest, forest, Saint Lawrence Bay, and an arctic area. In each area there are several animals to see and a few displays. None of it was outstanding, although it wasn't horrible. We liked the otter in the forest area, and a couple monkey's we saw in the rainforest. The penguins and puffins were cute in the arctic area. That was about it though. It only took us around 1 1/2 hours to go through the entire Biodome.

On the plus side, we loved the food in the Cafe at the entrance! It was the best food I've even had at a museum-type place! I had a roasted veggie sandwich which they heated on a panini press. you could choose 2 salads to go with it from a choice of pepper salad, chick pea salad, potato salad, pasta salad, and green salad. The salads were delicious and they gave you tons of it! The meal also came with a can of soda and was $10. Great deal and great food!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fridayafternoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer, null, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place to take the kids”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

an amazing indoor nature!
really impressive place with 4 different nature types.
LOVED the aquarium!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Place is OK but so over-priced”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family of 3 ( 2 adult and 1 5 yrs boy) spent $47 on tickets and $15 on parking, took us about 75 min. to finish everything. and no other place for kids to kill their energy, so not worth for driving a long way to go there, won't go again in the next 2 years.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biodome de Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Biodome de Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing