We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip!”

Biodome de Montreal
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.66*
and up
Montreal Attraction Pass
More Info
$18.32*
and up
Montreal Tower Observatory Admission plus Optional Ticket to the Biodome
Ranked #18 of 412 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Along with the Botanical Garden, the Insectarium and the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium, teh Biodôme is part of the Montréal Space for Life, Canada's largest natural museum science complex and Montreal's top must see attraction. Travel baggage-free at the Biodôme! Embark on an immersive, sensory journey through the ecosystems of the Americas. Listen to the sounds of the tropical rainforest, go in search of lynx in the Laurentian maple forest, dive into the heart of the Gulf of St. Lawrence and give a wink and a nod to the penguins in the sub-polar regions. Listen as our nature interpreters let you in on the secrets this fascinating biodiversity holds. An oasis in the heart of the city, the Montreal Biodome recreates some of the most beautiful ecosystems of the Americas which allows plans and animals to live as in their natural habitats.A unique experience of nature and fun !
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to the biodome, insectarium and botanical garden. All were very fun and educational. I especially enjoyed the botanical garden but I'm a florist so I'm a little biased! We spent a good 4 hours there but walking from exhibit to exhibit took awhile too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,728
    1,676
    710
    152
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Cool- But Really Busy”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Awesome attraction. However there were some school groups that were loud. The penguins are really cool.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank History_Is_Cool_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty neat place, good for families”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The concept is very cool and they are serious about trying to preserve the authenticity of the ecosystems. They even have the birds reproduce (very challenging in caprtivity) to replenish the population. You can see natural nests, animals behaving pretty close to how they would in the wild, and lots of interesting flora.

The cons are:
1. It gets very crowded. We waited in a very long line and some areas had a flow of traffic that made it difficult to see what was going on; and
2. Some ecosystems do not feature much wildlife. I know, it's very difficult to maintain animals in man-made ecosystems, especially while trying to be true to conditions, but it would be more fun with more animals.

I recommend this for families, especially with smaller children. I don't so much reommend it for people who have been to a lot of similar museums.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun For All Ages”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Biodome is a great stop in Montreal. So much to learn and experience, and fun for "kids"' of any age! I had been before in school, but my boyfriend had never been. It was a great break in travel back to the NB from Ontario. Give yourself a few hours to really enjoy searching for all of the animals in the rainforest exhibit, and have fun appreciating all of the life in the Biodome.

There seemed to be a lot of construction going on (mostly on the grounds, and parking areas) which caused some serious confusion getting parked, and in/out of the Biodome, but once we were in, it was a great time. We did not have a positive experience with parking, but hopefully this will be resolved shotly. Food was also a challenge. There was one tiny cafe (mind you we did visit during the Ontario March Break) with little selection, and was very overpriced. I suggest you eat prior to going! Note - you are not able to eat while in the exhibits - human food and garbage is not animal friendly! :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun (for the whole family)”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fantastic spot. Each of us throroughly enjoyed the tour (including our 14 year old son .. he loved it). I cannot put down in words everything that I would like to say ... it is "all good". One warning - parking is brutal as they would not allow us access to the Olympic stadium parking. We had a nice walk to the car - not a big deal; but, something to be prepared if the weather is bad.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sadie280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biodome de Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Biodome de Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing