We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great variety of plants and animals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Biodome de Montreal

Biodome de Montreal
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.17*
and up
Montreal Attraction Pass
Ranked #16 of 394 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Along with the Botanical Garden, the Insectarium and the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium, teh Biodôme is part of the Montréal Space for Life, Canada's largest natural museum science complex and Montreal's top must see attraction. Travel baggage-free at the Biodôme! Embark on an immersive, sensory journey through the ecosystems of the Americas. Listen to the sounds of the tropical rainforest, go in search of lynx in the Laurentian maple forest, dive into the heart of the Gulf of St. Lawrence and give a wink and a nod to the penguins in the sub-polar regions. Listen as our nature interpreters let you in on the secrets this fascinating biodiversity holds. An oasis in the heart of the city, the Montreal Biodome recreates some of the most beautiful ecosystems of the Americas which allows plans and animals to live as in their natural habitats.A unique experience of nature and fun !
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great variety of plants and animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

i love going to the biodome, specially in the winter when there isnt much to do. if you like nature, then you have got to go. they have 4 different mini ecosystems from different parts of the worldin amazing detail, each with its own unique member plants and animals. i am talking about real plants and animals i.e colourful birds and very small monkeys that you only see in nature documentaries. i dont know if i will have the chance to go to the amazon one day but now i have an idea of what its like to be in the amazon thanks to the biodome.
if you go, make sure to ask the staff what time they will be feeding the penguins, its a very enlightening and kind of amusing demonstration. the girl who feeds the penguins must have one of the best jobs in the world(and she is kinda cute hehehehehehehe).
depending on when you go, they always have different exhibitions. when i went the 2nd last time they were demonstration a family of that monkey from madasgascar(god i cant remember the name of the species). the last time i went the resident lynx had a baby lynx who was running around everywhere trying to explore everything and just learn about its surroundings.
but for some reason i have yet to see those otters, they are always sleeping and everyone around me talks about them when they talk about the biodome. and here i will abrupltly end my review.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mghalibk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,546
    1,516
    624
    134
    45
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beavers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was a great place. I had been most looking forward to the puffins, but I was worried it would be too old fashioned and aimed at the kindergarten set. However, it was great! Wandering into the first room - the rainforest - I nearly walked right into a giant bird just sitting on one of the railings. By that point, I decided the place had paid for itself. From the little monkeys that looked like old men to the playful penguins, I loved watching the animals. It was really structured so that although the animals were hanging out in their habitats, they were never invisible. The otters were sleeping when we go there, but every other animal was happily playing and exploring and mugging for the tourists. Even the lynx could be spotted if you looked really carefully. The best display by far was the beavers. We saw them playing above ground, then watched them somersault underwater, then watched them swim into their den and saw them snacking on wood chips via a night vision camera in their den. We were two adults and had a great time along with all the kids. Totally worth the time if you love animals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mantaraggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Loved it! The rainforest was warm and humid with plants and animals everywhere. As close to a real rainforest as you can get in Canada! Other sections were very cool as well, really enoyed the penguins and the puffins, they looked like they were having a lot of fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun For Kids, Not So Much For Adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Adjacent to Montreal's Olympic Stadium, and housed in a building that was once used as the Velodrome during the 1976 Summer Olympics, the Biodome is an indoor zoo/aquarium/botanical garden where you walk through four different ecosystems, each featuring animals, birds, fish, plants and trees native to a different part of the world. The best part has to be the Tropical Forest, which is a replica of a South American rainforest. The Laurentian Forest area is interesting as well, as the temperature changes with each season (warm in the spring, hot in summer, cool in fall and cold in the winter). Many of the animals are free to move around in their designated ecosystem, so what you see depends on where they are or what they're doing (mostly hiding in the bushes). The penguin exhibit at the end was also good. This attraction is geared more towards children, as an adult I thought it was a bit boring. Also, I think the price of admission is a little too high ($17.75 for adults), and I also don't think it's fair that admission is cheaper if your a resident of Quebec!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyNamedBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

You will walk through different environments and experience the climates and flora, fauna, and birds that live in these places. The attention to detail is astounding.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bellotaPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biodome de Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Biodome de Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing