We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place with amazing staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of M Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
M Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool place with amazing staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb and had a good time. Rooms have individual temp control, very clean ensuite in room and amazingly nice and helpful staff. Went to the Thursday 'college party' which has now replaced comedy in the hostels bar. I wouldn't recommend it- everyone there spoke French and had no interest in meeting others outside of their uni faculty. Made it hard to meet other people from the hostel but a few of us went to some local bars after. Overall a great place i the perfect location to walk places

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    72
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
36
137
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Travelers visiting Montreal: Stay here at least one night, or you're seriously missing out.
Could not ask for more. We arrived on Thursday January 30 2014 and paid for two nights, but after seeing how clean the rooms and kitchen were, we didn't need to visit other hostels; there was no surpassing the value of the M Hostel, so we booked for 3 additional nights. All the front desk staff were AWESOME and assisted with everything from printing boarding passes, calling taxis, recommendations for great themed restaurants in Montreal, they even provided an adapter for a guy staying in our ten-bed room to plug in his European appliances. Free Wifi, free use of a very clean kitchen to prep any food you might want to cook, free coffee all through the day, free waffles & eggs every morning. Nearly all the other travelers were friendly, fun, and respectful of the rooms and other roommates' property. The ONLY thing that was upsetting was that Thursday comedy night is advertised on their website as having $2 beers, which is apparently an old promotion and the website hasn't been updated yet. But then they have great bands on Friday night, and the Monday promotion where you can get a free shot for every karaoke song that you sing. Great rooms. Great people. Great service. Great times. Great value.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 10 bed room with 7 other guests, averaging less than 25$ including taxes for each of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was such a great hostel, rooms and bathrooms are so spacious, very clean and modern, staff are lovely and helpful, great location! I loved how each bed had a reading light and a 'bunk buddy' (small container thingy to put your belongings- especially useful in top bunk!) The wifi was honestly the best wifi I came across in North America. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleetfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

i have stayed here 2 times in the pass 6 mouths. both last minute get away. the staff are nice an more then willing to help you with any thing you asking. clean rooms clean bath rooms. one of the rooms i stayed in at a tub. its not like i want to take a bath but i was able to put my feet in hot water because they hurt big plus. close to the metro bar an shops. coffee an tea all day. really the only down fall is no mike for the coffee they have the powder milk witch is ok.

Room Tip: not on the first floor. in less your a heavy sleeper theirs a bar in the basement. but it was not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Can't do better than M-Montreal. Good prices, Accommodating staff, breakfast was wholesome with some variety to get you going. The hostel is within walking distance of everything downtown including Old Montreal which is a popular tourist location. The wifi was great and I just wish the computers had chairs. The place was cleaned daily and the bathrooms were very spacious with a full bath and shower. The kitchen was also very sufficient and well equipped. I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The best hostel i went on my trip. Comfortable beds, modern rooms. You have your own bathroom. Delicious breakfast. You getting coffee and tea the whole day. Every evening is a different attraction in the bar. You feeling like a hotel for travelers. i would like to stay there a second time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised to see that some people I'd become friends with at events and activities were actually staff members. It gave the place a really friendly, welcoming feel. And for staff that seem to get to have a lot of fun, they do a really professional job.

I don't think I've had a better hostel experience. Or a less expensive one.

10/10 would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick-AUS-91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#2 of 94 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Montreal

Property: M Montreal
Address: 1245 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir des Alpes)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — M Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your M Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Alpes Montreal
Manoir Des Alpes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing