We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and cheap place to stay”
Review of M Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
M Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very good hostel in the good location, close to metro station. Staff is helpful and nice. Even if you travel alone, don't worry, hostel offers a lot of attractions, for example karaoke. Rooms? clean, typical hostel rooms, without surprises. Hostel offers: free breakfast, wi-fi and bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank an_anas_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 370 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

I loved it here. I stayed in a 6 Bed Female ensuite. It was clean and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Each bed had it's own outlet and light, and there was a locker for everyone in the room, which I loved. The bed was comfortable, and they clean the room and change out your towels every day, which is so rare in hostels, but extremely appreciated! The bar downstairs was a great place to just relax with a drink and listen to live music at the end of the day. The location was great, it's close to Old Town, and being right in the latin quarter, there are a ton of bars and restaurants close by - St. Denis and St. Catherine were always hopping. I would absolutely stay again. Just do it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

On par with boutique hostels in South America and Europe. Thoughtful layout, Crisp sheets, free towels (of the fluffy white variety to boot) changed every morning. Nice that they have power outlets next to each bunk. They bake the breakfast croissants fresh overnight. Stayed in both an 8-bed mixed dorm and a 6-bed female dorm. Great layout in the female dorms. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Bar downstairs was a good place to chill. Management put a lot of thought in how to add value to the accommodations experience they offer to travelers. The type of comfortable hostel you hope to encounter in every city you're travelling to.

Room Tip: Front desk controls the A/C remotes. So if the A/C in your room is acting up, don't hesitate to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meeeohhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Staying at this hostel was one of the best decisions I made on my week-long trip to Montreal. There were fun activities planned every night, and the staff made an effort to build a personal relationship with everyone. The basement/ bar is sound proofed so even when they had musicians or dance lessons down there, you couldn't hear it upstairs. The breakfast was okay, with great fresh croissants and hard boiled eggs but not much in the way of fruit or vegetables. Just one thing to note: I stayed in one of the all-girls dorms and it did not have a mini-fridge. The lockers are also not big enough for your backpack, as in other hostels that sometimes have huge lockers. They were slightly larger than pool lockers. But these are minor scruples, and my 7-night stay was overall GREAT!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChocoWhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hostel is truly amazing! Me and my buddies went on a 3 day trip to Montreal and couldn't have hoped for better than this! The rooms get cleaned every day, we got new towels every morning and breakfast is actually better than some fancy star hotel. The staff is very nice and all the people you meet at the bar or in the lobby are even nicer. If you stay for at least 3 nights I recommend the beer special, where you get 10 beers for 20 dollars. Don't think about having a cherry beer though, it's gross! Another great thing: it's open 24 hours, so we didn't have a problem getting back from Montreal's nightlife. The only thing to criticize might be that the kitchen is a little to small. But besides that as a young person you can't go wrong with this hostel.

Room Tip: If you want to meet people go for the 16 bed mixed dorm. Not only is it the cheapest but it was also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWalter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It's my first time live in Hostel. Service is very good. Friendly. Funny. Always good.
這是我第一次住青年旅社,當天因為玩的很晚,所以抵達旅社的時候已經11點多了,當時工作人員非常親切,對英文不太好的我也很有耐心的溝通,還推薦我去他們自己的Bar感受外國熱情的氛圍,一個星期內有好幾天有不同主題的party在他們自己的Bar,真的是很棒的地方.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tai_vector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have been to montreal twice now, I will for sure stay here again! I stayed in a all female dorm with a friend. the room was huge, bathroom was huge. quite a bit of space. my bed was so comfortable. you get a fresh towel everyday, but no face cloth. breakfast is from 7-10 and was basic but deff appreciated! the kitchen is really nice, didn't use it, but a lot of people were! the hostel is super clean. anyone on here who wrote a poor review is delusional. location is like a 5 min walk away from the berry-uqam station which there is a stop to ride the bus to airport as well. there is a iga up the street and lots and lots of restaurants! always something going on! Really great price for the value. I also travelled there for osheaga

Room Tip: We got a room on the top floor, theres no elevator but no noise from above or the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmiller293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
701 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
592 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#1 of 100 in Montreal
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Montreal

Address: 1245 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir des Alpes)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: $17 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — M Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your M Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Alpes Montreal
Manoir Des Alpes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing