We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the visit...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal

St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.07*
and up
Montreal Attraction Pass
Ranked #4 of 394 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Saint Joseph's Oratory of Mount-Royal is the largest shrine dedicated to Saint Joseph in the world. You must come visit our treasures like the votive chapel containing 10,000 lights and votive candles, our marvelous museum with a permanent exhibit of hundreds of creches from around the world, the Chapel of Brother Andre built in 1904, the heart of Brother Andre, our spectacular gardens containing the Way of Cross, the Crypt Church and the majestic Basilica.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the visit...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

You can see this oratory from kilometers away, so huge! Interesting visit, beautifully landscaped as well... Alot of walking up and down, but great views...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RICCPICS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OratoireStJoseph, Guest Relations Manager at St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Great comment ! Please come back and enjoy our activities !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,186
    1,022
    200
    37
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cathedral known over the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I went many times to the Oratory. It's just fantastic to see it. From the Oratory we also look at all the city of Montréal and more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4Mshmsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OratoireStJoseph, Guest Relations Manager at St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We thank you for coming back again and again ! Please, check our website to plan your next visit !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
“church in heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

a place where you are blessed by god`s presence,,no words to describe its beauty & the view from the top

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OratoireStJoseph, Guest Relations Manager at St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We continue to protect the religious and artistic heritage that are in our care. Saint Andre still watches over the Oratory. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Goose bumps when you realise where you are”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This is my favourite place to visit in Montreal. Most people rave about the church but take time to look at the room of candles.

Littered with candles that look random colours but secretly spell out words.

The walls are decorated with crutches of people long past healed by miracles.

It captivates you as you begin to understand that there is power beyond understanding.

It moved me.

Helpful?
2 Thank bansheeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OratoireStJoseph, Guest Relations Manager at St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We thank you for your spiritual message. We hope you can come back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BUS TOUR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

A 'MUST SEE' when in montreal. breath takingly beautiful building and grounds. if you have the time and energy, you can take the steps up.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank j k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OratoireStJoseph, Guest Relations Manager at St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your comment ! We are happy you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal also viewed

 

Been to St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing