We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Saint Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal
from $90.03
More Info
from $43.30
More Info
from $132.57
More Info
Reviews (4,769)
Filter reviews
3,060 results
Traveler rating
2,015
825
175
30
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,015
825
175
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brother andre votive chapel holy place climb the stairs main church mount royal peaceful place gift shop light a candle great view of the city worth the trip awe inspiring visiting montreal notre dame beautiful architecture escalator crutches
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,060 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount Royal is a beautiful church overlooking the city of Montreal. The structure is gigantic so be prepared to walk around the grounds with sturdy comfortable pair of shoes. It is a place for spiritual reflection & peaceful meditation. Mass times can be searched thru their website.

Thank stregine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

The grounds on the approach to the Oratory were well kept even though we were there in October. The Oratory itself is a fabulous piece of architecture. Climbing the steps to see the view was well worth the effort. Unfortunately we didn't have time to go inside.

Thank MarkC8820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location on the hill side and the huge size of the basilica makes it a monumental building well worth visiting. If you can afford it to get there twice it's a good idea to have a daylight and an evening visit, because the views are beautiful and very different for the two cases. Generally, I'm not the church or basilica fan, few of them can actually make me say "wow", but this is one of them for sure.

Thank EndreKemenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On first viewing this fantastic building, I just said Wow!
This is a stunning Basilica set on the hillside, it is a standout attraction in Montreal, there are a few too many steps to climb to get to main building, but if your up for it, it’s well worth the effort, I believe on the other hand you can get transported up to the top, this basilica is on the hop on hop off route.

Thank 43ericb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Often referred to as the big church up on the hill, this was my first visit and I was impressed at the accessibility to it and the limited crowds. I was able to park on the upper level near the entrance - this was early October by the way, and highly recommend this time of year because there wasn't much of a crowd and you could enjoy the foundation quite pleasantly.

The crypt, the altar and the grounds are all well-kept. A few areas don't allow cameras which makes sense because it is hallowed grounds but there are many places to snap great pics.

There is also a parking area at the foot of the Oratory so you can take the walk up towards it - it is uphill so be forewarned. Again, the parking towards the top was decently free so I parked there.

You could visit this place over and over and find much tranquility. If you are a Catholic church-goer this would be great for weekly mass.

There is also a small cafeteria for light meals and drinks. The gift shops are plentiful.

I highly recommend the visit - there is a sense of majesty and peace there.

Thank Bautista777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a breath-taking basilica. It's open to the public for free and provides a quiet place for reflection if you're in need. It also has a fantastic lookout point.

Thank adamander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellant, the garden, the church, the organ, the museum, all amazing a must . Brother Andre's humble beginning very interesting visit, and the look out what a view.

Thank nickfiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

St Josephs’ sits on top of of Mount Royal and walking up to it is breath taking. We wanted to attend mass on Sunday and at 11:00 on Sunday they have a high mass in French. A full choir, which was heavenly, at least 10 prist and a full house of people made for a very spiritual memory. Even if you don’t speak French you really should just go and take it all in. After church we went out to the balcony and had a fantastic view of Montreal.

Thank P7894CSmichelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a awesome place and so clam place with rich architecture build church. It was take around 2 to 3 hours to entire place observation and perhaps it might vary depend on your interest

Thank ASdarshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I nice place to see and have a quiet moment. It's good to good alone or with a group. If you're amateur photographer you will get some nice photo views.

Thank Clifford J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews