We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“double deck bus tour”
Review of Old Montreal

Old Montreal
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.98*
and up
Walking Tour of Old Montreal
Ranked #3 of 393 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stroll, bicycle or take a horse-drawn carriage through the narrow cobblestone streets of Montreal's famous Parisian-style historic district, filled with cultural landmarks, museums, boutiques, sidewalk cafes and restaurants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“double deck bus tour”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

took bus tour of city. got offf bus in 'old montreal' and ate lunch at a side walk cafe then did an unguided 'walking exploration' of the area. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE BUS TOURS!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank j k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,593
    2,848
    707
    119
    46
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic city but sad”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

So Spring is definitely the best time to visit Montreal. Everything was melting but the weather is still cold. The old port was dead and many businesses were closed. But anyway Old Montreal is absolutely beautiful and it makes Montreal a unique city in North America.

But it is so sad that Montreal is going downhills over the years. When I arrived YUL, the airport was like dead. It was empty. I was surprised. After a couple of days I read about the history of the struggles of Quebec. The politicians made laws about protecting French language and drove a lot of huge companies away along with skilled talented and smart workers/students. They didn't achieve anything except hurting the economy. During my stay in Montreal, almost everyone I met spoke fluent English. Montreal used to be the most vibrating city in Canada and could be the most fascinating city now but those hypocrite politicians really made Montreal a worse place. It is just so sad. I hope one day they can turn around and realize it. I really love Montreal and wish I could live there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old World in a New city”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Walking around Old Montreal was one of my favorite parts of our tour. The buildings and architecture is beautiful. The cobblestone brick streets made you feel as if you were truly in the old city. Worth a tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Crix2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
506 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Best place in Montreal”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

What else can I say that hasn't already been said? Old Montreal is a beautiful area that is filled with history, great restaurants, and a great bit of charm. The cobblestone streets are a personal favorite of mine and I loved walking around and seeing all the old, beautiful buildings. There are many things to do around here (such as seeing gorgeous churches like Notre Dame) and it's a great area to take a lot of pictures. The people are also very friendly here and the food is really great. It's true that it's a touristy area, but it's popular because it's wonderful and definitely a place to visit when you're in Montreal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“This is the place to go to feel like a local”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This area is the real deal. People working, and mixing it up. You can walk for hours just taking it all in. Take time to eat, every place we stopped and ate had great food. This is a very special place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BostonBabeBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing