We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”
Review of Old Montreal

Old Montreal
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.31*
and up
Walking Tour of Old Montreal
Ranked #3 of 396 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stroll, bicycle or take a horse-drawn carriage through the narrow cobblestone streets of Montreal's famous Parisian-style historic district, filled with cultural landmarks, museums, boutiques, sidewalk cafes and restaurants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Garden Grove, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Walked along the cobblestone streets lined with little cafes at night and watched couples and horse-drawn buggies go by. Lovely. Do not go alone unless you're in love.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationer077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,688
    2,895
    717
    120
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I visitedt his area 4 years ago and I remember liking it more back then. I was on foot this time with my girlfriends. Last time my husband and I took a horse and carriage to site see and it was great because it was pretty much guided. We were able to get tons of nice photographs and see things a little quicker than if you were on foot.

I do recommend going to Chinatown to eat though, much more variety and that's where I went last time. Close to the waterfront this time, we dined at an outdoor cafe- more like a deli and the food was not great but very expensive.The waiter ( maybe owner) was rushed and forgetful and on times rude. This restaurant is not yet on trip advisor so I cannot write a separate review of it.

If you enjoy site seeing, it's a nice area to go, the streets in places are stone and really neat, cars go thump thump down these streets,everything is very close together and has an old world feel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canada-Malibu-Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Sightseeing on a nice day”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lots of things to do and see in old Montreal.
Preferably on a sunny summer day. Plenty of restaurants, shops.
A must for tourists.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank humm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“There is so much to see just walking on your feet”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you take a bus tour you can learn a lot about the culture and buildings. Try the amphibus boat/bus in one

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fouadanbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Travel back in time”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The narrow old cobblestone streets are tricky to walk on(especially in heels) but the architecture is well worth the walk. You can find everything from trendy boutiques to out of the way restaurants, but I suggest reading the posted menus before choosing as prices vary as much as the type of restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing