We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming - but get past Jacque Cartier”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Montreal

Old Montreal
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.73*
and up
Walking Tour of Old Montreal
Ranked #3 of 394 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stroll, bicycle or take a horse-drawn carriage through the narrow cobblestone streets of Montreal's famous Parisian-style historic district, filled with cultural landmarks, museums, boutiques, sidewalk cafes and restaurants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming - but get past Jacque Cartier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've always loved roaming Old Montreal, but on this trip I realized that its best to get off Rue Jacque Cartier, the "main strip". Rue de la Commune along the water is a beautiful stroll, and we enjoyed the shops on Rue Notre Dame.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriCollins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,496
    2,795
    698
    117
    46
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of my favorite parts of our trip ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Toddling around Old Montreal was one of my favorite parts of our cruise! The buildings are gorgeous and picturesque. There are also some interesting shops and cool restaurants in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Here There and Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you want to be around less people venture between the history museum & Notre dame, still plenty of restaurants and bars etc

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An eclectic mix of food outlets and great shops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We enjoyed Canada Day festivities at Old Montreal with our friends (who are Montreal locals). It was great to see the street performers, the many touristy shops but most of all the vendors with their locally created art works. There were several food choices and the kids had a great day

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tieritiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pedestrian friendly Vieux-Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The oldest part of the city is pedestrian friendly. Beside the Rue St Paul being pedestrians only, it is thriving with restaurants to fit any pocketbook from fast food to pubs to swank dining. Then there's the port promenade only another block away. Since we're inveterate walkers, we loved this area of the city.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing