We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome area to explore!”
Review of Old Montreal

Old Montreal
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.04*
and up
Walking Tour of Old Montreal
Ranked #3 of 393 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stroll, bicycle or take a horse-drawn carriage through the narrow cobblestone streets of Montreal's famous Parisian-style historic district, filled with cultural landmarks, museums, boutiques, sidewalk cafes and restaurants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome area to explore!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I had a blast exploring Vieux-Montreal. Being down by the water is a beautiful sight, but I especially loved the narrow streets - just lovely!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,590
    2,842
    707
    119
    46
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We took the subway from the Marriott to Old Montreal and had dinner in a restaurant that was hard to find. This part of Montreal was so quaint, I was sad that we hadn't spent more time exploring. Next time I go to Montreal I will definitely add this to my "to-do" list.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pickyeater12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Has it all”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The cobblestone streets, the numerous variety of restaurants and cuisines, the waterfront, the history, all make this a must visit area while in Montreal. Two blocks from Metro.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank F13fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A place not to be missed, but watch for parking tickets”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

You can enjoy the charm of architectural design of Europe. Rue St. Paul is exclusively reserved for pedestrians. It is full of bars, restaurants and souvenir shops. Place du Jacques-Cartier is a place for photo op; of course it's not the only one. Many tourists took the 2-hr horse carriage around Old Montreal. It is $85. The 1hr cost $45. there is a lot of history here. The water front is a good place to walk around and take pictures. You can spent a few hours here easily. If you drive, parking is very tricky. First, you have to know Mon-Fri, Sat, Sun in French to know when you can park. Second, spaces between lamp posts have different restrictions. . First, you have to know Mon-Fri, Sat, Sun in French to know when you can park. Second, spaces between lamp posts have different restrictions. If you find a space behind or in front of a car, that space may not be a legal parking space. You have to look at the signs posted on the nearest lamp post to see if there is a no parking sign with an arrow to show where the restriction starts. Then you have to know Lun-Ven means Mon-Fri. I saw a police and another Parking Enforcement officer giving tickets to unaware motorists. Also there is no right turns on red, unlike most states.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank mlam18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“tourist attraction on steroids”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is beautiful to walk around and has nice hotels and restaurants and is centrally located (3 blocks from the closest metro). We enjoyed it, but it is definitely a tourist area- a ghost town in early am and Disneyland in the pm. The horse carriages and number of souvenir shops can be a little off-putting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathySShermanOaks_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing