We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Montreal”
Review of Underground City

Underground City
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.25*
and up
Downtown and Underground Montreal Walking Tour
More Info
$55.90*
and up
Beyond the Basilica Walking Tour in Montreal
Ranked #35 of 411 things to do in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Montreal's answer to the region's harsh winters, Underground City refers to the extensive web of train stations, restaurants, department stores and hotels all connected underground.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Montreal”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Find lots and lots of shops and restaurants without ever having to go into the cold. Even in summer it's fun!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank opheliabuttocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    430
    279
    61
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Terrible maps, extensive shopping”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Recent reviewers have hit the nail on the head; the "underground city" is little more than a large shopping mall. Interestingly, this popular "attraction" isn't terribly easy to navigate, particularly if you enter the underground from a location other than Eaton Center or other central metro stations. Our hotel concierge explained that we would have to go above ground to get to the largest shopping sections of the underground city, which we found ironic. (Visitors can metro from section to section, but we were traveling primarily by car, and hadn't used the metro system. It seemed silly to buy a ticket just to travel from one store to another.)

In comparison to Toronto's PATH system, Montreal's underground city is difficult to navigate. Be wary of the unhelpful maps that are posted through the metro system. The labyrinth of interconnected stores and pathways is confusing, and the maps don't indicate the relationship between the underground and the above-ground streets. In other words, you can't easily figure out how to get from one area of the underground to another, if you happen to be above ground.) We were also shocked at the number of police patrolling the underground; whether this was intended to lend to an air of safety, it caught our attention, as it was a unique experience despite our many (above ground) explorations throughout the city.

Visitors to the historic and beautiful city of Montreal can find ample shopping and more interesting boutiques elsewhere in the city. If you're visiting during bad weather, the subway and its accompanying series of stores may offer respite from the cold or rain, but otherwise, it's safe to skip this popular item on many traveler lists.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Qlever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is NOT an underground city - but a huge shopping mall”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We read reviews and in things to do - to see the underground City - old remnants connected by tunnels etc etc

Its the damn subway connecting mall after mall after mall.

Dont get me wrong I love to shop, and I did, but it wasnt what we were looking for in our limited time in Montreal

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahlianagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not distinctively impressive, but it is big”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The underground city is not really that impressive. You could say in a way most major cities today have their "underground" portion - this one is just malls linked together by walkways from the metro. The only impressive facet of it is its size and if you manage to find a map you will see how sprawling it is and in theory you can get from one part of the city to the other without really going outside - but in reality you're better off going above ground and seeing the sights and sounds of the real montreal. Unless the level of cold above ground is freezing you solid within ten seconds, then there's no need to use the "underground city" to move around montreal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Arkada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is an overrated place. Many tourists come to Montreal and ask us to go to the underground city. First it is not a city, it is a bunch a malls that are linked together with the subway. It was done for city workers so they don't have to walk outside during winter. If you want to go shopping, no problem, there are a lot of store. But I believe it is better to discover a city by its street with people and ambiance. thanks!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underground City also viewed

 

Been to Underground City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing