We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to all the other Trip Advisor reviewers - your recommendations for Auberge Bonaparte lived up to expectations. The location was ideal for us having just come arrived in Montreal from a cruise, so we walked to the hotel. Our room wasn't ready so early in the morning of course, but it was no trouble to leave our bags and we picked up a map and lots of recommendations about what to see - where the closest metro was (just a short walk) and off we went.

Coming back at the end of a full day exploring, check in was a breeze and our bags had been delivered to our comfortable room. Only negative - no fridge, but not a major issue as an ice-bucket (ice machine outside the lift on the top floor) worked well to chill a thirst quenching beer bought from just down the road.

We decided not to dine in, so chose a restaurant in the old town and during the meal got chatting to some locals who recommended, would you believe it ..... Restaurant Bonaparte. Although they were fully booked the next night, they did take our booking and we had a lovely meal.

I would definitely recommend Auberge Bonaparte for anyone visiting Montreal - great location in the old town, breakfast included and a nice feel about the place - so much nicer than the large hotels.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KorFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    211
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
139
579
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove Village, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Located in the Old Town Montreal, it's perfect location for walking anywhere worth seeing. Although some reviewers mentioned that the street side room was noisy, we didn't find that to be true. The room is large, well appointed, beds comfy. Bathroom also a good size, w/a whirlpool tub. NICE after a long day sightseeing. We were in Room 308 and I wouldn't mind it again. The restaurant for the included breakfast had more offerings than I thought they would, Waiters are a little rough if you don't attempt to speak some French, if you do, service improves. Most of all I have to give kudos to the concierge, Michael Banks. Found out we liked martinis & every restaurant he booked us in had a martini waiting. Nice touch! He's a gem and I hope they do everything to keep him.

Room Tip: Room 308 was facing the street, but the noise wasn't bad. Mostly heard the clipclop of horses go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My mum & I stayed here in July for a night away. The service was fantastic! Large comfy beds in great rooms. Although, there was not much organisation in the morning for the breakfast rush, the food made up for it. The service is great, very helpful staff, including recommending GREAT restaurants & booking them for you. I can't remember the name of the man who checked us out, he may have actually being the owner/manager, but he was one of the best people I have ever met. Really cared & loved talking away to us.

Great location, idyllic really. Old montreal, cobble stone streets, hanging baskets. It was within walking distance to the shopping as well.

We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineMcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The room was reasonably spacious, quite comfortable and had a nice view over the back of the church. The breakfast is delicious! The front desk staff are extremely knowledgable and helpful and should be utilized whenever possible. The restaurant is fabulous, but very expensive. The only let down was the roof deck, which was a little small and underwhelming. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didyouenjoyyourstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford area, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our first time in Montreal. We picked this hotel based on reviews here on Travelocity. Our room was very nice, comfy bed (and I am fussy about mattresses). Hotel staff VERY helpful. Breakfast was included and good, however only served until 9:30. Parking lot is across the street. Our room was on the street side, and was a bit noisy (from the street) one night, but we had no issues with noise the next. The location is great, right around the corner from Notre Dame. Walking distance to Old Port. A couple of blocks to the metro.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnsy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Wonderful and excellent location. Has a distinct European flair. We spent 3 nights with the room with a king bed. Very comfy and quiet. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktkat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My companion and I stayed here recently for four nights and loved it.The location is ideal and quiet-on a side street in Old Montreal.The rooms were spacious and had hard wood floors.Our view out our windows could have easily been that of Paris.Our bath was also very modern with a great shower.What sets the hotel apart,though, is the ultra friendly service both at the front desk (Michael was especially helpful) and in the wonderful restaurant where our included breakfast was served (great French toast!) and where we ate two wonderful dinners.A special shout out goes to Catherine and Celene who took great care of us at dinner.This hotel is not the most trendy place in town, but the staff here makes you feel as if you were part of their family.I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cycle-ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Property: Hotel Bonaparte
Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Formerly Auberge Bonaparte)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaparte 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing