We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Bonaparte
Ranked #5 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My mum & I stayed here in July for a night away. The service was fantastic! Large comfy beds in great rooms. Although, there was not much organisation in the morning for the breakfast rush, the food made up for it. The service is great, very helpful staff, including recommending GREAT restaurants & booking them for you. I can't remember the name of the man who checked us out, he may have actually being the owner/manager, but he was one of the best people I have ever met. Really cared & loved talking away to us.

Great location, idyllic really. Old montreal, cobble stone streets, hanging baskets. It was within walking distance to the shopping as well.

We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineMcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    189
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
119
506
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The room was reasonably spacious, quite comfortable and had a nice view over the back of the church. The breakfast is delicious! The front desk staff are extremely knowledgable and helpful and should be utilized whenever possible. The restaurant is fabulous, but very expensive. The only let down was the roof deck, which was a little small and underwhelming. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didyouenjoyyourstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford area, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our first time in Montreal. We picked this hotel based on reviews here on Travelocity. Our room was very nice, comfy bed (and I am fussy about mattresses). Hotel staff VERY helpful. Breakfast was included and good, however only served until 9:30. Parking lot is across the street. Our room was on the street side, and was a bit noisy (from the street) one night, but we had no issues with noise the next. The location is great, right around the corner from Notre Dame. Walking distance to Old Port. A couple of blocks to the metro.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnsy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Wonderful and excellent location. Has a distinct European flair. We spent 3 nights with the room with a king bed. Very comfy and quiet. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktkat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My companion and I stayed here recently for four nights and loved it.The location is ideal and quiet-on a side street in Old Montreal.The rooms were spacious and had hard wood floors.Our view out our windows could have easily been that of Paris.Our bath was also very modern with a great shower.What sets the hotel apart,though, is the ultra friendly service both at the front desk (Michael was especially helpful) and in the wonderful restaurant where our included breakfast was served (great French toast!) and where we ate two wonderful dinners.A special shout out goes to Catherine and Celene who took great care of us at dinner.This hotel is not the most trendy place in town, but the staff here makes you feel as if you were part of their family.I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cycle-ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Bonaparte offers comfortable, unique rooms. The staff were very friendly and professional. Found we could do currency exchange at the front desk for no charge. The morning breakfast was ordered off a menu that had offering like crepes, omelets etc. as part of your daily rate. Exceed our expectations as far as the quality and service. Location was in easy walking distance of many sites including the basilica, the water front and many great restaurants. The staff offered great recommendations. Price is moderate for Canada considering all that the Bonaparte has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

An old auberge renovated to perfection. Great location steps away from many visit-worthy museums and interesting restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful and if you can, do try a drink at their little bar by the lobby. They have a great selection.

Room was clean. Immaculate really. Bed comfy! Room service available!

Remember this is a renovated very old heritage building so it is a small hotel but it adds to its old world charm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracklebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#7 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,436 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#11 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Property: Auberge Bonaparte
Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing