We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love this place because of updated, large rooms, location and staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place because of updated, large rooms, location and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Hardwood floors, classy decor and a staff person who is a Chuck Berry double that bent over backwards to help. Great location by terrific restaurants. Why must reviews be 200 characters to be approved?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    208
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
133
564
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Montreal for only a few days in August (15th through the 17th). We couldn't have chosen a finer hotel. We did not have a car and planned to walk around Old Montreal. When we arrived, we met the front desk clerks Sabrina and Michael. They were both so helpful with recommendations for restaurants as well as sites to see in Old Montreal. Michael suggested the Archeological Museum within walking distance of the hotel. It was very interesting, and we also enjoyed the Beatles Exhbit within the museum building. They also suggested a small group cooking class across the street from the hotel. We were able to fit a class in for my boyfriend which he really enjoyed. Our room was delightful--high ceiling, large windows and comfortable bed and pillows. Our room was near the elevator but we heard no mechanical noise nor did we hear any street noise. The breakfast (which was included) was really good--you have to try the French Toast. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. And a special thanks to Sabrina and Michael for helping us make the most of our short stay in Old Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've stayed here twice and have not been disappointed. A welcoming and efficient staff, a good location in Old Montreal near the Notre Dame Cathedral, and a very good adjoining restaurant make for a nice stay. The rooms are very nice, although the bathroom in ours might be considered a little small by some. We really enjoyed the included breakfasts which are delicious. You're about three-four blocks from a subway station at Place de Armes.

Room Tip: If you head up to the sixth floor, you'll discover a small stairway leading out to a rooftop dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. I loved the window ledges but that just my own personal preference. Breakfast was nicer and is provided. It is a beautiful French resturants. The reason that it only got a four is because we missed our train and thus a night in Montreal. But we called to let them know we were going to miss the first day but to charge it and hold the room for the next day. They agreed, when we got there the guy said no one had called about our room and that we were Luckythe held it.......apparently it was him and a girl that worked the night we called....boyfriend check his number to make sure it was the right number and it was.....hotel needs better communication with each other. Friendly other than that

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is great and having requested a room to the rear of the hotel it was nice and quiet. Whilst the bed was small for a room of this size it was adequate and the room itself was clean and well appointed. What really lets the hotel down is the minimalist breakfast and surly waiting staff. For a hotel of this standing using Kraft portion control conserves isn't great.
The chap from Bordeaux on reception was very friendly and deserves a mention.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frederico77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is located right in the heart of Old Montreal which is a great location. There are lots of nice bars and restaurants really close by. You're also very close to a pick up/drop off point for the horse drawn carriages. The hotel itself was great. The rooms are simple but elegant and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant, assuming breakfast is typical, was great. The service is wonderful from the front desk people to the restaurant staff. I'd highly recommend and we will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazzarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Using Trip Advisor as our guide we chose Auberge Bonaparte as our hotel. It was perfect. Close to Old Town or the metro so once you parked your car you didn't need it as you explored the city and all the attractions. The staff of the hotel was especially helpful and appreciated the guidance of Nicholas. It was also great they all the staff spoke good English and were so willing to assist. Room was very comfortable and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeM_12-20-2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel William Gray
Hotel William Gray
#2 of 162 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Property: Hotel Bonaparte
Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Formerly Auberge Bonaparte)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaparte 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing