We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good reviews of the Bonaparte are right”
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #4 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2007

We spent four nights at the Bonaparte in late September. Our third-floor room was nicely spacious and had large windows overlooking the street, although lacking in drawer space (2 drawers in the TV armoire) if you like to unpack. Although the wood floors were attractive, I would have expected a rug. The room was spotless and housekeeping kept it that way throughout our stay. The location is perfect for visiting the old city and within easy walking distance of several excellent restaurants, including the hotel restaurant. The included breakfast is, as many reviewers have pointed out, outstanding. It probably would cost you $25 or more per person in New York -- coffee or tea, orange juice, choice of yogurt or fruit cup, and choice of eggs w/bacon/sausage and potatoes, various omelets, french toast or thin pancakes, and choice of toast, croissant or chocolate croissant, all served in a lovely white-tablecloth restaurant. The only hiccup was that the lock on our room door was balky from the start and our keys quit working entirely the day before departure; the desk clerk would not call anyone in to fix it but instead insisted that we had to let the front desk unlock our room each time, which was intrusive and annoying. A very good value for a hotel room in Montreal, and I would certainly stay there again anytime. Beware of the directions on the hotel website, though.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2007

Our 5th floor room was lovely! Not a very interesting view (out onto the street) but the room itself was large, very bright and clean. The hotels location is fabulous, right in the middle of everything in the old town. The highlight for us was the breakfast, included in the price and cooked fresh with a choice of eggs, crepes (the hotel has a very french feel), toast etc etc. Its served in the restaurant, which is very simiiar to a French cafe, very appealing and a lovely way to start the day. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickiandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed at Auberge Bonaparte in mid August 2007. It is a charming, comfortable, and quiet hotel in Old Town Montreal. I would strongly recommend it to anyone traveling to Old Town Montreal. Around the corner from the Basilica Notre Dame, and the main tourist streets in Old Town it has an ideal location without the crowds. Our 2nd Floor room faced the street but was very quiet, and we appreciated the AC during a heat wave. The bed was comfortable, the bath well appointed. The wood floors and furnishings were charming without being "hospitality". The staff was fabulous, they took excellent care of us. Storing our luggage at check in and check out, delivering it to our room, searching on the internet for obscure jazz clubs and bands, they were very helpful on every point. Breakfast was delicious and not heavy, the crepes in particular were delicious. Service in the restaurant was top notch. We even made use of the tiny little bar behind the front desk. They have a roof top deck that is sadly under developed - mostly a hide out for the smokers. The Bonaparte was a peaceful refuge from the tourists and heat . We would happily go back and happily recommend Auberge Bonaparte. One request - a robe hook in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KBSilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Our family of 4 stayed for 3 days in a large room, with 2 double beds, and large bathroom. Very quiet - room looked onto church gardens, not on the busy front street. Air Con very efficient, kept us cool, even with all 4 in the room. Breakfast was as good as the reputation makes it - really excellent, and service was friendly. Perfect location for old town Montreal, and you can walk to the subway in 5 minutes, and get anywhere in the city from there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Great hotel in great location. Breakfast included is wonderfully delicious. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms quiet and tastefully done with antique reproductions. Highly recommend eating at the restaurant for dinner. One of the best meals we had.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scanmike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

European style hotel in a modern city. Located within the old town the hotel is well appointed and within short walking distance of all the old town tourist sights. It is almost adjacent to Note Dame Bascillica. Continental breakfast included in the rate was served in the hotel restaurant and was very high quality with waiter service rather than buffet.
You can walk from the Place De Armes Metro station

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

As part of a week's trip to Quebec, we spent three days at the Auberge last week. On a quieter side street, it has the flavor of a small European boutique hotel, with a 4 star restaurant to boot. The staff was helpful, the room was comfortable and spacious, with a large, tiled bathroom. The one drawback, no refrigerator.

It's a minute walk from the front entrance down to Rue St. Paul, the main street of Vieux Montreal. Dinner at the restaurant was the high point of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DougViages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,078 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,416 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
409 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Formerly Auberge Bonaparte)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $168 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaparte 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing