We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovation, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Mequon, WI
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great renovation, great service”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a one room suite with connecting double queens (total three rooms). The reason I didn't give it five stars had to do with layout. The sitting room was a corner room, then the main bedroom, then the next bedroom connected through the two closets. Very weird. If you went from the double room to the living room, you had to walk through two narrow closets and the other bedroom. Also, the bathroom had a sliding door which I really dislike. The WC had an all glass door.

The recent redo was top notch though - all the finishes and furnishings are very nice. The whole hotel is very quiet, even though it is on Sherbrooke. The service is superb. There are only about 120 rooms, so they know everyone. There is no club lounge. The lobby sitting area is really the entrance to the ball room, so it's kind of awkward and there is no bar service in the lobby. You use the bar area of the adding Michael Boloud restaurant, which is fine. Great bartenders.

Perfect location (three blocks) for visiting McGill.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeqonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    87
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
230
431
37
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Two nights pre cruise at this five star hotel were perfect. The room, the bed, location, staff, restaurant (even the Toto) met the most exacting expectations. Concierges are knowledgeable and provided excellent recommendations. Walking distance from great shopping, restaurants. Museums, the McGill campus. We walked to the waterfront! Will go back soon!

Room Tip: Loved our inside room, perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton for a long weekend recently. It was a great place to stay with the hotel itself being a part of Montreal history which you feel as soon as you enter the lobby.

I found that the staff were very courteous and whilst I had to wait to check in they were very good at giving my advice on areas to explore during the wait as well as sending me on the way with water and snacks.

The rooms were truly 5 star, classic modern with the most comfortable bed as well as a bathroom which was more like a spa. The facilities in terms of gym and swimming pool were both very good and I'd highly recommend dining at the Bourdain restaurant which whilst pricey is definitely worth it.

All in all one of the key elements which made a great stay in a great city

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fearsomepuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

First off, let me say that we're not really 5-star hotel people. When I visit a new city, I generally want to spend most of my time NOT in my hotel room, and the cost of hotels of this caliber are usually out of my price range. But that being said, we decided to splurge during this trip (and were able to use points earned through the Marriott rewards program to soften the blow), and were we ever happy we did! Every staff member that we came in contact with was exceptional - friendly, helpful, knowledgeable about their city and if they knew deep down that we didn't really belong in the "Ritz-Carlton world" they never let on.

There was a noise issue (work being done in a nearby stairwell) when we first got to our room, and when we called the front desk we were immediately shown a few new room options, including one that was larger than our original. The staff members that helped us were wonderful, and very patient while we made our decision and very helpful in getting us re-settled.

When my husband asked the woman who came by for turn-down service if we could have one dark chocolate and one milk, she returned with a handful of both. When we decided to stay in on the very-rainy afternoon of our arrival day and have high tea, the gentleman that waited on us was great - funny and very friendly. He helped us figure out where the closest movie theater was and recommended what sounded like a great BBQ place - though we sadly never got there.

The bathroom was spectacular in every way, the bed was wonderful - I can't remember ever sleeping that well in a hotel before. The temperature controls were smooth, quiet and completely non-intrusive, volume-wise.

The location couldn't be better. We were not eager to drive the streets of Montreal after getting a glimpse of all of the road work and lane closures on our way in, but there was no need. We could walk to everything we needed, and it was a great way to get a feel for the city.

I'm not sure that I will be able to visit many 5-star hotels in my lifetime, but this one proved to be an absolutely fantastic experience and one that we will remember for years to come.

Room Tip: I suspect there isn't really a bad room in this entire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monalleesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed from 10/25-10/27/13 and, as first timers at a Ritz or any luxury hotel for that matter, we could not have fathomed the outstanding service we received from arrival to departure. The beautifully appointed rooms were magnificent with their high tech amenities, the heated marble bathroom floor, the heated Toto toilets (ooh la la) and relaxing rain shower head. It was so spectacular that we didn't bother to go to the other nearby hotel we booked for our second night. We had also planned to visit Old Montreal, but stayed and enjoyed the hotel instead. The salt water pool was very relaxing and exhilarating. Maison Boulud was beyond expectations with its delectable food and exceptional service. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dchath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Four years were invested in renovating the Montreal Ritz Carlton, the oldest jewel in the crown of this vintage hotel constellation. The staff takes obvious pride in the history and elegance of this hotel. Our room was dazzling from the chandelier, bright pink sitting chair and state-of-the-art heated toilet with all kinds of whistles and bows. The experience wasn't perfect--no newspaper was delivered the first morning, room coffee canisters were not replaced, but they made good on any minor deficiencies. The concierge recommended a terrific sushi restaurant within walking distance of the hotel (actually two, but one was closed for repairs) and a great music venue to hear jazz. The hotel restaurant operated by 3-star Michelin chef Daniel Boulud is over-the-top wonderful. Locaton, location, location and the Ritz Carlton is walking distance to museums, amazing street art, shopping, Metro, etc. Also, there is a well equipped exercise gym downstairs. If you can afford it, the Ritz is the place to stay in downtown Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jschreib11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights after getting off of a cruise. Hotel has recently completed a very extensive renovation. Large rooms with wood floors except in bath areas. Heated Toto toilets, heated marble floor in bathroom, remote control window shades and many other amenities not normally found in hotels. And the bed...well it was so very comfortable. After having to wait way too long to check in (about three hours), I was taken to this lovely room and almost all was forgiven. No club level at this hotel but they do have a very good restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms do look out to another building. But very quiet as not on a noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodnightirene1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,366 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,321 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. More than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. Dine in Maison Boulud, an upscale restaurant offering a twist on traditional French cuisine. Offering another twist on a familiar setting, the indoor saltwater pool overlooks the city from the rooftop. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing