We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epitome of a 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Epitome of a 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Four years were invested in renovating the Montreal Ritz Carlton, the oldest jewel in the crown of this vintage hotel constellation. The staff takes obvious pride in the history and elegance of this hotel. Our room was dazzling from the chandelier, bright pink sitting chair and state-of-the-art heated toilet with all kinds of whistles and bows. The experience wasn't perfect--no newspaper was delivered the first morning, room coffee canisters were not replaced, but they made good on any minor deficiencies. The concierge recommended a terrific sushi restaurant within walking distance of the hotel (actually two, but one was closed for repairs) and a great music venue to hear jazz. The hotel restaurant operated by 3-star Michelin chef Daniel Boulud is over-the-top wonderful. Locaton, location, location and the Ritz Carlton is walking distance to museums, amazing street art, shopping, Metro, etc. Also, there is a well equipped exercise gym downstairs. If you can afford it, the Ritz is the place to stay in downtown Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jschreib11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    73
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
149
276
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights after getting off of a cruise. Hotel has recently completed a very extensive renovation. Large rooms with wood floors except in bath areas. Heated Toto toilets, heated marble floor in bathroom, remote control window shades and many other amenities not normally found in hotels. And the bed...well it was so very comfortable. After having to wait way too long to check in (about three hours), I was taken to this lovely room and almost all was forgiven. No club level at this hotel but they do have a very good restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms do look out to another building. But very quiet as not on a noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodnightirene1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights in Montreal because it wasn't my final destination but loved the stay il ritz-carton... The position of the hotel is perfect, the best stores of the city are around the corner. The gym is really nice and it has some excellent machines. The personal is very friendly, and the hotel has been restructured lately

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Ritz Carlton underwent an extensive renovation and it shows. The rooms are large, beautifully appointed, and have many high tech features. Boulud's restaurant makes breakfast and dinner exceptional. The location of the hotel is perfect,and one can enjoy the walking city that is Montreal.We look forwrd to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed at 5 Star Hotels in London, Paris, Toronto & Johannesburg.

The Ritz in Montreal is as good or better than any of these. It begins when you arrive with the guys on the curb, extends through the greeting you get at the front desk which includes a warm towel on a tray. Then you're accompanied to immaculately refurbished rooms and shown around and made to feel at home. Bathrooms are amazing (though the technoloy's a bit intimidating), beds comfortable.

I stayed in two different rooms two different nights on either end of a trip. The rooms have been redone to a very high level of contemporary finish. Not sure how well this will age but that's irrelevant now: they're super cool.

First night I stayed in a smaller room. The only small negative note was that in the smaller room there was this very shallow "sofa" which was really a piece of decor rather than a useful piece of furniture. So the room was pretty compact but otherwise perfect in every detail.

Next time I stayed in a suite and it was roomy and comfortable. Could have used less desk and more sofa but again I am having to grasp for anything less than perfect. My room had a fireplace which wasn't working but is supposed to. Not a big deal -- I am totally confident if I had called about it I'd have had a tech there in moments.

After getting in my room I realized I'd left my jacket in my car. Concierge staff killed themselves to go down and get it, brought it to my room etc.

I didn't eat in the restaurant but it has a lively bar scene and great decor.

Sherbrooke Street location is great, close to Museums, shopping (Holt-Renfrew) and McGill.

Overall the Ritz Montreal offers a truly world-class facility with world-class service. You pay a pretty penny but you also feel the money was well-spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaraselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Ritz Carlton in Montreal the first week of October. The room was beautiful, the bed very comfortable and absolutely quiet. We stayed on the 9th floor and the window overlooked the garden attached to the Maison Boulud restaurant. The bathroom was well designed, with a shower that had three settings (rain shower, side nozzles, and hand held). The toilet / bidet combination was very interesting...not sure I would install one at home, but glad I got to try this one :-)
We had drinks and snacks at the bar in the lobby twice and the staff was very accommodating. Great breakfast in the atrium part of the restaurant. Also had the tasting menu at the Maison Boulud, highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjp2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

everyone should stay at least once in this hotel. best hotel i ever stayed. This was first time for me at Ritz and I liked it better than any other starwoods luxuries hotel. I would also like to try now other Ritz hotels

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hup15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#11 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. Today, more than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing