We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Impressive!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Ritz Carlton in Montreal is easily the best in the city, maybe the best hotel where I have stayed in Canada and the US. It is located on Sherbrooke St near high end department stores, galleries and the city's best restaurants. Its a short cab ride to old Montreal. Newly renovated in 2012 so the rooms were very crisp and fresh (my room had an amazing bathroom with a Japanese ToTo toilet, a deep bathtub and Bulgari White Tea toiletries). Service is top notch and guests are appreciated. We were there for New Years Eve and we did not have a reservation for their popular New Years party but the concierge went out of their way to get us a table. I was very impressed and now I am a Ritz Carlton regular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FJW_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    83
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
195
372
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went to Montreal for 3 nights with my husband and daughter. Booked the larger room with double beds (rm 517). Room was perfect, very clean, simply decorated/modern....huge flatscreen and another smaller flatscreen in front of tub....2 full length mirrors (1 in bathroom behind door and another in walk in closet). Bathroom was luxurious: deep long tub, huge shower, and Japanese style toilets (everything electronic). Housekeeping was excellent. Afternoon tea was 3/5...great service, food was good...but I'm comparing this afternoon tea to the Dorchester in London (5/5). Dined in restaurant daily for breakfast (food was delicious especially eggs benedict). Dinner service and food is what you expect from this level of restaurant (perfection). Room service was quick and very good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvlondon60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Pack all the logos you can for this one! The posing potential is huge but not necessary if your not in the mood. Warning, you may run into movie stars here. One Direction sightings where a thrill for the kids. Service excellent & sexy. The pool was divine & peaceful with loungers & magazines ready for those who are just dippers. This hotel is close to everything that matters especially Museum of Fine Art. Morning coffee was hot & strong and a pleasure to wake up to. Merci Beaucoup Ritz!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estylostyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went to the Ritz to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had booked a package that included one night, the Sunday buffet brunch and late check-out (3pm).

The room was absolutely great; upscale, elegant, modern, comfortable. It shows that a lot of thought has been put into the design. The only fault I could find was the lack of a full length mirror, which is a must in any hotel room, especially in this type of institution.

We had a few disappointments during our stay. The first was to find out that our room was not ready when we showed up at 3:30pm, 30 minutes after check-in time. The reception clerk told us it would take at least an hour and offered to call us to let us know when our room was ready. Living in Montreal, our goal was to enjoy the room and the romantic atmosphere of the hotel, so we did not see the point of hanging out outside the hotel to wait for our room. We thought perhaps they would offer us a complimentary drink while we were waiting, but they did not. Anyways, we ended up waiting at the hotel bar until 5pm and there was no apologies from the staff. They simply said that the hotel was fully booked, hence the delay. Then the next day we got a phone call from the reception around 1:30pm to ask if we were extending our stay. My husband answered that we had booked a package allowing a late check-out. We left the room at 2pm to have brunch and when we tried to go back to the room to get something we had forgotten, our key had already been deactivated. Finally, at brunch it seemed our waiter was not aware of the package that included brunch, so we explained him and then had to check with reception desk about the bill.

In the end we realized the package we had bought seemed to be misunderstood by the Ritz’s own staff, and we had to keep explaining it. It was annoying. Upon leaving we were asked at the reception desk if we liked our stay and we mentioned the problems we encountered. It’s not that it ruined our weekend, but given the price you pay at Ritz, it simply shouldn’t happen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mnonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We are from Montreal but any excuse to come here and we do!

Service is excellent all round.

Rooms beautifully decorated, full of modern technology including a bathtub tv, and very spacious.

I have also been to various events in the main ballroom and other function rooms and all impeccably done.

Maison Boulud is a superb restaurant and brunch is a must do.

Only small drawback for loyal Ritz Rewards members is that its not a partner hotel so no points but that aside this hotel is perfect in everyday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with our 11.5 month son. This hotels as recently renovated so the rooms are well appointed and equipped with the latest technology. We stayed in a signature room and appreciated the extra space. The service is impeccable. Every time I called to ask for something, it was always delivered within minutes. When we asked for a crib, we got a crib AND a bathtub for our son AND a bath toy!

I also had a great time taking my son to swim in the pool on penthouse level. The pool is heated and very quiet. We had the pool all to ourselves. The staff there even offered my son a floatie to sit in and play. The pool is the best way to unwind after a day walking around in the city.

The hotel is located in downtown and close to lots of restaurants. We were able to walk to restaurants nearby on Crescent and St Catherine and got outdoor seating right away.

We can't recommend this hotel enough. Will definitely stay again if we have the opportunity to revisit Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puccipuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The toilets are amazing. They have a Toto toilet that actually...well...uhm...cleans your behind for you! The seat is warmed. Jets of hot water clean you very well. The shower is amazing as well. This was for sure the Sistine Chapel of bathrooms. For sure a plumber and bathroom connoisseur's dream.
I found the hotel to be physically beautiful. The pool is exceptional. The life guard was very friendly. As for the staff...they were not as accommodating as I would have hoped. Honestly you could do better for a lot less money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel William Gray
Hotel William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. Today, more than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing