We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautifully dine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautifully dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We are from Montreal but any excuse to come here and we do!

Service is excellent all round.

Rooms beautifully decorated, full of modern technology including a bathtub tv, and very spacious.

I have also been to various events in the main ballroom and other function rooms and all impeccably done.

Maison Boulud is a superb restaurant and brunch is a must do.

Only small drawback for loyal Ritz Rewards members is that its not a partner hotel so no points but that aside this hotel is perfect in everyday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    74
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
158
284
26
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with our 11.5 month son. This hotels as recently renovated so the rooms are well appointed and equipped with the latest technology. We stayed in a signature room and appreciated the extra space. The service is impeccable. Every time I called to ask for something, it was always delivered within minutes. When we asked for a crib, we got a crib AND a bathtub for our son AND a bath toy!

I also had a great time taking my son to swim in the pool on penthouse level. The pool is heated and very quiet. We had the pool all to ourselves. The staff there even offered my son a floatie to sit in and play. The pool is the best way to unwind after a day walking around in the city.

The hotel is located in downtown and close to lots of restaurants. We were able to walk to restaurants nearby on Crescent and St Catherine and got outdoor seating right away.

We can't recommend this hotel enough. Will definitely stay again if we have the opportunity to revisit Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puccipuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The toilets are amazing. They have a Toto toilet that actually...well...uhm...cleans your behind for you! The seat is warmed. Jets of hot water clean you very well. The shower is amazing as well. This was for sure the Sistine Chapel of bathrooms. For sure a plumber and bathroom connoisseur's dream.
I found the hotel to be physically beautiful. The pool is exceptional. The life guard was very friendly. As for the staff...they were not as accommodating as I would have hoped. Honestly you could do better for a lot less money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Rooms are good sized, beds very comfortable. All sorts of modern electronic gadgets. Press buttons for raise/lowering shades or toilet seats. Like all hotels dining in house is expensive. Typical breakfast of 2 eggs, bacon, toast, coffee will run about $40-45 so check out local coffee shops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

stayed there in May 2013, rooms are stunningly renovated. ours had a 2nd room that was a sitting room with a fireplace.
rooms were spectacular in terms of furniture and hi tech gadgetry, room service was amongst the best I have seen.
quality of food was in line with your expectation of the Ritz.
the only issue we had was during checkout , the rate in the folio was double what we were quoted, and it took about 20 minutes to resolve this. the front desk person was quite insistent, we had to pull out emails of confirmations etc to prove our point.
Location is very good- common areas such as restaurants and bar quite nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my second visit to Montreal, but my first stay at the Ritz Carlton. I was overwhelmed with the level of service and the quality of the room. It is the first 5 star hotel I have visited that truly lived up to its status.

The room has an understated elegance that is unparalleled in any hotel I have stayed in. The decor is thoughtfully soothing with the perfect pop of color. The bed was sumptuously made and dreamy to fall into each evening. But the showstopper in this hotel is the bathroom. Two vanities grace the bathroom with an over abundance of toiletries. The shower has four body soothing body sprays, a rainshower, and a handheld shower. The toilet/bidet is heated and has every accoutrement ever thought of.

The concierge and all staff we encountered were gracious and helpful.

Overall, an exceptional stay in and exceptional setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights last week on our way to Mont Tremblant. Everything was perfect, from the valet service & check-in, to the room and amenities, to the nightly turndown service. No detail was overlooked. The updates to the hotel were made over 1 year ago, but everything seemed brand new with no signs of wear and tear. Our bed was very comfortable and our room while relatively small (we opted for the smallest room category) felt spacious and luxurious. The rooftop pool was a nice place to relax and take in some great views. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant on our first evening and for a Monday night it was very busy and we could see why, the food was delicious, servers were polite and attentive. We will definitely be returning to the Ritz on our future trips to Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TTP538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. Today, more than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing