We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent! higly recomended !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

me and my hubby went for new years eve ! the hotel is amazing. the room was really clean(and im picky) and brand new. the staff was so polite, helpful and professionals. EVERYTHING was perfect!!! next time i will take my swimsuit because they have an awesome swimming pool

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alex a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is the best hotel in Montreal. It combines the charm, luxury and sophistication which this hotel has always been known for with freshly designed and decorated rooms that are incredibly comfortable. When the hotel was renovated, they cut the number of rooms by almost half and made every room almost twice the size. The high ceilings, large and luxurious bathrooms and electronic luxuries like window treatments that are motorized with controls on both sides of the bed, coddle you in supreme comfort. The sheets and towels are the finest. Our walk-in-closet was so large, we used it as a dressing room when guests arrived at our room a little early. The staff could not have been more attentive and in the most pleasant, relaxed and unobtrusive way. The location cannot be better. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend my 60th birthday at the Ritz--what a treat! From the moment we arrived to the minute we departed, service was friendly and professional. I requested an upgrade and without hesitation the agent tried to accommodate us, but because the room wasn't ready, we kept our initial room, and we were not disappointed. The 21st century technology is throughout the room. If you wake up in the evening, nightlights go on like an airport runway, leading you to the bathroom. It's a fun and elegant environment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Montreal-dietitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ritz Montreal is one of the best hotels i have been to. I combines 19 century charm of the lobby with 21 century comfort of the rooms. Rooftop pool is stunning. Service impeccable. Bathroom is modern with fancy appliances ( if i could take it home with me). In summary, if you have extra $ to spare, you will get top notch stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Needvacation247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Ritz in Montreal is very nice. The location is perfect. The rooms are the best part - very modern and updated. The tea service in the lobby is lovely. The staff are generally very nice and accommodating. Our only hesitation is the concierge - Montreal has a ton of fabulous restaurants, and they failed to make any solid restaurant recommendations. They sent us walking to lower end restaurants multiple times just because we said we would prefer something a little bit more casual than their top end restaurant Maison Boulud. Other than the concierge, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank kor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! The lobby is fabulous and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The rooms are lovely, all the work was worth it. Try the restaurant, we had such a fantastic night, yes we had a few servers but they were all fine and in tune with what was going on. The beef done 2 ways was so SO good.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Puff328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I booked 3 nights in June for our anniversary. We selected the "upgraded" room with more floorspace and amenities. When we checked in we learned that our Ritz Carlton Visa card, which comes with specific benefits and upgrades for cardholders, earned us no benefits at this hotel. "We don't participate in that program, we've been remodeling for 4 years." They booked us into an "upgraded" room that had a view of the back alley. We returned to the front desk and demanded a room with better view given that the hotel did not appear to be overly booked or busy. They changed our room to a better one overlooking Sherbrooke. The rooms are nice but they have spent way too much money on "automation" like electric blinds, electric toilets, photo sensors, etc. The charm was lost when they remodeled. For $500 per night you can do better in Montreal. The staff is young, inexperienced, not particularly accommodating. The balding doorman even ran into my wife trying to beat her to the exit door, the door then closed on my wife. The restaurant in the hotel (Cafe Boulud) is very expensive, and romantic, but the food is quite average, the service uninspired and confusing, we had 5 different waiters and waitresses. A mixed drink at the bar is $18. An average glass of wine is $15 for a small pour. This hotel does not offer value, it charges 5-star prices and delivers 3.5-star service.

Room Tip: A room on an upper level on Sherbrooke has lovely views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank bobbyintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,471 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,686 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $405 - $893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. More than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. Dine in Maison Boulud, an upscale restaurant offering a twist on traditional French cuisine. Offering another twist on a familiar setting, the indoor saltwater pool overlooks the city from the rooftop. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing