We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

There really isn't anything bad to say about this place. Stunning rooms with all the latest gadgets (heated toilet seat anyone?), impeccable service and a fabulous restaurant. My only complaints are that I couldn't figure out how to work the coffee maker and there was no corkscrew in the room (which made it very difficult to take advantage of the honor bar as I'd hoped to). The pool was also closed during our stay which was a disappointment for our daughter but is something that maintenance demands on occasion I suppose. We will definitely be back for a longer stay in a few short months.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocky6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    84
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
218
400
35
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just stayed there over the weekend with the family. The hotel was renovated in the past year and it shows. The rooms were spacious, clean with great decor, large bath rooms and all the modern electronics. The service was extremely friendly and attentive. Everyone was just great. Real cool infinity pool on the Penthouse level and a brand new gym with the latest equipment, that was also spotless with complimentary water and headphones. I liked everything about this hotel, Its steps from everything and walking distance to the Bell Center if you are going to catch a Habs game. Great all around! I will go back anytime I want to escape and just chill out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

There are a lot of very good hotels in Montreal and we've stayed at many of them - and the RC is definitely one of the best, if not the best at the moment in this class of hotel. Their recent renovation (complete gutting and re-do, not just a face lift) has changed this hotel from a tired grand dame hotel to a modern boutique-like hotel. Although highly modern it has not lost it's historical feel and elegance, you can still imagine and sense the presence of the past as you walk down wide hallways, through beautiful French doors, and spy little historical details.

More specifically here's what we thought of service, room, etc.

Room: We stayed in a deluxe king room facing the street. The soundproofing is amazing - you barely hear the street noise. Decor is modern but still very comfortable - very chic. Great closet and storage space. Bathroom has wonderful amenities and, yes, the toilet as other reviewers have remarked is an interesting feature. Bed was extremely comfortable. Sheets and towels - wonderful, all the very highest quality and what you would expect at this price level. No thread bare towels or pilling sheets here!

Service: Friendly and truly excellent - you can tell that they really want you to have a great stay.

Location: fabulous - a wonderful central location - good for shopping, restaurants (but seriously almost any place is in Montreal) and walking. A short cab ride to Old Montreal.

We highly recommend this hotel and can't wait for our next weekend to Montreal - we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montcalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, MA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was the original Ritz Carlton, that has been completely modernized. It is conveniently located, and a wonderful property. The rooms are tastefully decorated with wonderful amenities like the dim lights that come on and guide you to the bathroom as soon as your feet the floor from the bed. I can not say enough about the shower. It is fantastic. It seemed as if we were the only guests at the hotel with how quiet it is, and the attention that the staff pays you. Room service is also outstanding. Great cheese plate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tgj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Will come back. It's unusual to find such consistency and friendliness in all the services. Top quality FREE Wifi everywhere. l
Cannot fault the service or the Room except for the over-complicated light controls in the room. Very friendly throughout . Room service very good and nicely presented. Very good Gym equipment. Highly recommend it. A real pleasure

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Concordia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just loved it. Could go into great detail but it wouldn't do it justice. Fancy but unpretentious, classy and timeless, wonderful customer service; I wish I could afford this kind of luxury regularly! Perfect for a night away from the kids in our own city! Oh, and that Japanese toilet... luxury!

Room Tip: request a room with a bath tub; you'll enjoy the visit further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1sttimeineurope2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Everything about our stay at the Ritz in Montreal was amazing. Our experience with the concierge before and during the trip made our stay wonderful. The front desk was helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant for breakfast was delicious. (We only had breakfast at the hotel.) The restaurant was beautiful. The rooms have just been remodeled and they are really nice. The bathroom is one of the nicer hotel bathrooms I have been to. Finally, the location of the hotel is perfect. I can not say enough good things about the hotel and its staff and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FastidiousZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. More than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. Dine in Maison Boulud, an upscale restaurant offering a twist on traditional French cuisine. Offering another twist on a familiar setting, the indoor saltwater pool overlooks the city from the rooftop. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Marriott, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing