We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Renovated Hotel in a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Montreal Center
Ranked #42 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nicely Renovated Hotel in a Good Location”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I like this hotel, and the recent renovations really give it a nice modern zingy feel to it. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are well laid out, and the suite works well. The location is great, near the Bell Centre for you hockey fans.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenM465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    800
    309
    77
    45
See reviews for
371
521
130
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

In town on business for two nights. The hotel is small, (only 9 floors) and is more of a Boutique Hotel. It is modern with a funky/quirky style. My room was clean, quiet and everything worked. However it is a little "tired" and the carpet in my room needs to be replaced. My only complaint with the hotel would be in relation to the underground parking lot. It is small, dirty, (with peeling paint and dripping ceilings), very tight corners and parking spots. It is also very poorly lit

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xichveho, Director of Sales at Novotel Montreal Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Martin G,
Thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay.
We appreciate your positive feedback and are happy to inform you that we will be renovating our standard rooms in the next few months: the rooms will be completely renovated.
As for the parking, since it does not belong to the hotel, we will relay these comments to the Managing Company so they take into account your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Novotel Montreal Centre,
Xich-Vê
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights for business and overall found the hotel to be better than average. The front desk team were friendly, the breakfast was great and the rooms clean, comfortable and spacious. I stayed on the 3rd floor facing the street. It was a bit noisy in the morning as they are constructing a very large building directly across the road. The room was equipped with a mini fridge, coffee maker and free wifi. Only complaint was the shower with only a hand set for the shower.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night. It was a great hotel. It wasn't luxorious but it was clean and comfortable. It is located on a side street and right across the street you have a few pubs. It is within walking distance to the Bell Centre and Ste. Catherine street.

I would consider staying at this hotel again the next time that I am back in Montreal.

I read on other reviews that the front desk staff wasn't so nice, but we did not experience that. Everyone was very nice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xichveho, Director of Sales at Novotel Montreal Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Kristy 850,

Thank you for your kind comments, they are certainly encouraging,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon :-)

Xich-Vê
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed in this Hotel for 10nights, so I had the chance to explore quite a bit of it. The Rooms are okay. Since Montreal has a lot of snow in the wintertime its a little unlucky that the whole hotel has carpet floors. The Recepiton Ladys didnt seem to be the most friendly ever. F.E when my Travel Card "did not work" the lady only sent me away to get cash or "figure it out myself". Since my Card was load with plenty of cash it must have been their issue. Very weird. Anyway, the Rooms are okay, the Price is fair and the location is excellent. (150m from the Bell Center) Would stay for short, not for long anymore.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xichveho, Director of Sales at Novotel Montreal Center, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Swiss P,

Thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay.
We are delighted to read that you found our location convenient, and that you felt you received good value for your money.
Regarding the Reception ladies, we would like to apologize if you found their attitude unfriendly, we will discuss that matter with them to ensure all guests are assisted in a professional manner.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,
Xich-Vê
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

All in all the hotel is great! The service has been fantastic both front desk, restaurant and cleaning service. Very clean and very different rooms. Comfy bed and pillows. You don't we overlook a busy street with view of the bell centre and construction taking place across the way but you don't hear anything at all really (especially at night). 5 mins or less walk to the cell centre and just 2 mins up the road from St. Catherine's where you will find a vast majority of shopping and the occasional restaurant (we went to Reubens one night and it was great!). Sorry walk to multiple metro stations and the commuter train as well. Hotel is very reasonably priced especially for its location. I would stay here again with no doubt !!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The breakfast here was fantastic. Fresh baguettes, pastries and a wide variety of hot and cold buffet options. The hotel is centrally located and we easily walked to most touristy areas, even in the snow. The staff here are friendly and eager to help. The rooms are spacious and clean, however, the double beds are too small. If more than one person is sleeping in the bed I would recommend the king size bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,598 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Montreal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Montreal Center

Property: Novotel Montreal Center
Address: 1180 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#44 Family Hotel in Montreal
#45 Business Hotel in Montreal
#47 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Montreal Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Montreal Centre hotel is located the the heart of the business centre of downtown Montreal. The hotel is walking distance from shopping, restaurants and Old Montreal. The hotel boasts newly renovated executive rooms, all hallways, carpets, wallpaper and fitness centre for end of 2010, as well as the reception area in 2012. Restaurant lounge bar, multimedia meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. Underground parking is available at a charge. Wired and WiFi internet access is available in all guest rooms as well as well as WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Montreal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Accor Montreal Center
Montreal Novotel
Hotel Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing