We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Montreal Center
Ranked #39 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very nice hotel offers ample and confortable rooms with nice and large beds, bathroom is large and confortable.
Breakfast is available both with a rich buffet and a la cart. Wifi connection very fast. Reasonable price

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stone651128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night this past weekend for an early Sunday morning meeting at the hotel. I should have clued into the fact that we were just across the street from the Bell Ctr and that people were all wearing jerseys that it was going to be a rowdy night. Besides the noise of the other patrons in the hotel the rooms I found had very little soundproofing. I could hear whole conversations going on in the next room.
The room was large but the carpet really needed to be stretched. The rolls in it were so big I tripped in it a couple of times. The room was nice and clean but the bathroom was really tired. My bathtub and chips out of the enamel with pieces of black showing through the enamel. There was evidence of mold in the bathroom around the shower as well.
The staff are lovely and the restaurant food was terrific. This would be a great place to stay if you were attending a hockey game or for shopping due to its great location but forget it for a business traveler especially if you have to be productive during the day. The noise level really is unreal.

Room Tip: I had room 620 which overlooked an alley way that looked directly into an old building that looked l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goneagain50_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xichveho, Director of Sales at Novotel Montreal Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear goneagain50_7,

Thank you for choosing our hotel last month.

Overall you seem happy about your stay, and we are glad that our service and food was to your satisfaction.

I acknowledge your comments about the carpet and the bathroom: you will be happy to know that we are planning to fully renovate these rooms in the next 12 to 24 months, as we need to work around the hotel occupancy too.

As for the happy fans, I understand that their joy may affect some guests and I apologize on their behalf.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Xich-Vê

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Clean room, good bed, bathroom door does not have much privacy! Mitchell at the front desk was very helpful! Breakfast pricey but excellent, good portions. Will stay there again. Got three rooms total, I ended up staying in the most dated of the rooms

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Got upgraded to king room for being platinum accor member.
Room was not cleaned well and the floor carpet was stained.
Bathroom sink did not work and the hotel refused to change my room. Instead they only did a temporary fix.
Bathroom is tiny,
Bed was comfortable.

I would not stay here again and I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xichveho, Director of Sales at Novotel Montreal Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Emile S,
Thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay and for being a member of our loyalty program.
We apologize for not meeting your expectations and that the room that we gave to you did not satisfy you. We clean our bedrooms on a daily basis and invite you to share with me in a message which areas of the bedroom were not cleaned, so we can give the proper feedback to our housekeeping team. As for the carpet stain, we would be happy to fix it if you give us the room number you were in.
We feel sorry that you would not recommend our hotel and certainly remain at your disposal if you have any other concerns,
Kind regards
Xich-Vê

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Novotel is my winter choice when I'm travelling for business in Montreal, as it's really close to the office and it's a plus in cold weather!
Hotel appears to be newly renovated, especially the lobby and restaurant halls.
Rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet, even the ones directly over Rue de la montagne (can be noisy in the rush hour).
Breakfast buffet is good even if they always have the same set of dishes. Good quality, anyhow!

Room Tip: Try to avoid a low floor room on Rue de la montagne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyberpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xichveho, Director of Sales at Novotel Montreal Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear cyberpax,
Thank you for your nice review, and your loyalty!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
All the best from Montréal,
Xich-Vê

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at Novotel for a work trip in November. The hotel was conveniently located and a reasonable taxi from the airport. It was just a couple of blocks walking to the Metro or shopping. The lobby had plenty of seating areas, computers, restrooms, and friendly front desk attendants. A full service restaurant and bar is just off the lobby. The meeting room we used was prefect for about 35 people and the food and beverages were kept well stocked throughout our meeting. The room was attractive--think Scandinavian inspired--and spacious as I had an executive suite and free wifi with our corporate rate--otherwise, you have to pay for wifi. The bed was comfortable but the TV was small and had poor reception on some channels. The bathroom was small, but had a very nice rainwater showerhead--but no door or curtain if you are travelling with others it could be awkward. The shower tile needed re-grouting and the ceiling paint was pealing off. Views are limited in some rooms due to tall buildings in the area. The biggest issue was a noisy elevator if you room is in the number x01 series as these rooms wrap around the back side of the elevator; it is loud enough to wake you up. They were full so I couldn't change rooms, but I then left the central heat/AC on versus cycling so it acted as white noise to cancel most of it out. Lobby restaurant was pricy for breakfast buffet but other options are available nearby if it is not too cold.

Room Tip: Avoid any room with a x01 room number if you are a light sleeper due to elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 89VTGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is well located if you want to see a hockey game or concert. Subway stops are relatively close and the train station is a 10-15 minute walk. The lobby is modern and well appointed. The rooms themselves are quite basic and need modernizing. The room I was in had a comfortable King bed but the TV was small. There is a small sitting area but the furniture was somewhat dated. The bathrooms are not well designed and the shower in the bathroom did not work al that well. Overall, the rooms looked a little worn.The fitness centre is basic but functional.
If the price is right this hotel may work for you but do not expect a 4 or 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_K_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xichveho, Director of Sales at Novotel Montreal Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Don_K_Kingston,
Thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay. We are glad to read that you found our location very convenient.
Regarding your comments about our bedrooms, you will be pleased to know that we are planning a gradual update so they can be better suited for your needs: remodeling of the bathroom, new carpet, new furniture, bigger TV.
We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your disposal if you have other concerns,
Best regards
Xich-Vê

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
2,773 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Montreal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Montreal Center

Address: 1180 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#45 Business Hotel in Montreal
#47 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $108 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Montreal Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Montreal Centre hotel is located the the heart of the business centre of downtown Montreal. The hotel is walking distance from shopping, restaurants and Old Montreal. The hotel boasts newly renovated executive rooms, all hallways, carpets, wallpaper and fitness centre for end of 2010, as well as the reception area in 2012. Restaurant lounge bar, multimedia meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. Underground parking is available at a charge. Wired and WiFi internet access is available in all guest rooms as well as well as WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Montreal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Accor Montreal Center
Montreal Novotel
Hotel Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing