We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location with a great lobby and comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Montreal Center
Ranked #43 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location with a great lobby and comfortable room”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at Novotel for a work trip in November. The hotel was conveniently located and a reasonable taxi from the airport. It was just a couple of blocks walking to the Metro or shopping. The lobby had plenty of seating areas, computers, restrooms, and friendly front desk attendants. A full service restaurant and bar is just off the lobby. The meeting room we used was prefect for about 35 people and the food and beverages were kept well stocked throughout our meeting. The room was attractive--think Scandinavian inspired--and spacious as I had an executive suite and free wifi with our corporate rate--otherwise, you have to pay for wifi. The bed was comfortable but the TV was small and had poor reception on some channels. The bathroom was small, but had a very nice rainwater showerhead--but no door or curtain if you are travelling with others it could be awkward. The shower tile needed re-grouting and the ceiling paint was pealing off. Views are limited in some rooms due to tall buildings in the area. The biggest issue was a noisy elevator if you room is in the number x01 series as these rooms wrap around the back side of the elevator; it is loud enough to wake you up. They were full so I couldn't change rooms, but I then left the central heat/AC on versus cycling so it acted as white noise to cancel most of it out. Lobby restaurant was pricy for breakfast buffet but other options are available nearby if it is not too cold.

Room Tip: Avoid any room with a x01 room number if you are a light sleeper due to elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 89VTGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    770
    300
    77
    43
See reviews for
354
498
127
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
443 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is well located if you want to see a hockey game or concert. Subway stops are relatively close and the train station is a 10-15 minute walk. The lobby is modern and well appointed. The rooms themselves are quite basic and need modernizing. The room I was in had a comfortable King bed but the TV was small. There is a small sitting area but the furniture was somewhat dated. The bathrooms are not well designed and the shower in the bathroom did not work al that well. Overall, the rooms looked a little worn.The fitness centre is basic but functional.
If the price is right this hotel may work for you but do not expect a 4 or 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_K_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xichveho, Director of Sales at Novotel Montreal Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Don_K_Kingston,
Thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay. We are glad to read that you found our location very convenient.
Regarding your comments about our bedrooms, you will be pleased to know that we are planning a gradual update so they can be better suited for your needs: remodeling of the bathroom, new carpet, new furniture, bigger TV.
We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your disposal if you have other concerns,
Best regards
Xich-Vê
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at Novotel in November while in Montreal for the Bon Jovi concert. Very nice property. Building, restaurant, rooms all clean. Front desk staff - friendly and helpful! The location is perfect. Easy, quick walk to the Bell Centre. Shopping, restaurants close by and pubs/bars are within walking distance!! I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yllem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in October 2013 on our way to Florida. We got a cab from the airport to the Hotel it's a flat rate of approx £30.00 and took 30 minutes.
The hotel is in a great location a ten minute walk to the main high street where you will find shops and restaurants.
We booked a superior king room and we asked for a high floor with a view.
We were more than happy with room we had as it faced out across the city. The room was clean and spacious it had everything we needed. TV ,coffee maker, in room safe, hair dryer, fridge, iron and ironing board a small sofa to relax. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent and a good price. The room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels supplied. The staff on reception were excellent in advising us where to eat and how time get the most of our time in the city.
I would happily return to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights over the Thanksgiving weekend in 2013. Coincidentally it was our 3rd wedding anniversary, and we were very happy with the service. Maria at the front desk was wonderfully professional and helpful, with everything from shopping recommendations to restaurants. The last time we were in the province of Quebec was our honeymoon and we stayed at the Chateau Frontenac in Quebec City. No word of a lie, but the beds at the Novotel WERE MUCH, MUCH MORE COMFORTABLE.
The location of the Novotel Montreal Center was walking distance to the VIA train station, and especially close to amazing shopping and restaurants. What a great location! The rooms are spacious, and well appointed, the service phenomenal. Checking in and out was super fast and easy. The VALUE that this hotel provides, from location, service, and room appointments and price can't be beat. I will stay here each time I come back to Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

A typical Novotel - functional, reasonably priced and generally efficient. That would rate 3 stars but they get a fourth because the staff were friendly and helpful and the location is brilliant. A reliable hotel in a big city with lots of choice. I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador City, NL Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at the Novotel for 3 nights to see the Eagles Nov 2nd and the Montreal Canadiens Nov 3rd at the Bell Centre. I could reach out and grab the arena it was that close! The location is great for hockey games and concerts. St Catherine Street is a few steps away, close to shopping, restaurants, and bars.
The hotel is very nice. Basic room, nothing special.
My only complaint is the $28 per day parking charge. Pretty outrageous even for downtown where I've paid as little as $16. Not the hotel's fault probably because the parking is contracted out, however I think they might be able to negotiate a better price for their clients...
All in all a great stay and I'll likely return to this hotel in the future

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truehabsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Montreal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Montreal Center

Property: Novotel Montreal Center
Address: 1180 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#44 Family Hotel in Montreal
#45 Business Hotel in Montreal
#47 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Montreal Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Montreal Centre hotel is located the the heart of the business centre of downtown Montreal. The hotel is walking distance from shopping, restaurants and Old Montreal. The hotel boasts newly renovated executive rooms, all hallways, carpets, wallpaper and fitness centre for end of 2010, as well as the reception area in 2012. Restaurant lounge bar, multimedia meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. Underground parking is available at a charge. Wired and WiFi internet access is available in all guest rooms as well as well as WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Montreal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Accor Montreal Center
Montreal Novotel
Hotel Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing