We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #71 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The good- Rooms appeared to be recently updated and were nice and comfortable. Location is a plus if you are looking to do things downtown. If you are interested in bars and nightlife, plenty within immediate area.

The bad- Hotel common area is very run down. There is no hotel parking available which requires you to park at the lot next to the hotel for $20-overnight! You have an option to also park in the street, but be prepared to get up early to move the car as the street sweepers need access. Free breakfast is horrible, would rather pay for an upgraded meal. Stick to the yogurts, fruits, and breads if you must. Reserved 2 baby travel cribs and was told that they were available when we booked the room, only to only get 1 for our two night stay. When we arrived, we were told that someone was checking out the next evening so we would have the 2nd crib for at least one of the nights, the following night……never happened!

If traveling with children/family, I would not recommend this hotel. If traveling alone or as a couple, it should be ok as the price is decent for a downtown location. Service was also mixed. A couple of front desk people were very nice, a couple had no personality. Spanish lady in breakfast area and housekeeping people were very friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baldytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 714 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights, good location in the heart of the city, but you have the added noise to contend with, including the construction site at the rear of the hotel. From 06.00 am till late at one point 11.15 pm thank god we spent most of the tiime site seeing. Parking was expensive and i did not like leaving my keys even though we did pay upfront, elevators were dirty as were the corridors. The room we stayed in was clean and spacious with a added balcony overlooking the construction site so we did not use it .The staff were unhelpful and did not seem bothered about my complaints. Would not go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

i may sound harsh, but you are going to spend you money on a hotel, go somewhere else. i would have no complaints if this was less than 80 bucks to stay there, but for 160 a night, this place is terrible

where do i start?

1. you have pay for parking, 20 bucks a night! when i booked the hotel, my first question with the reservation desk was if they had parking, i was told yes, that it part of the hotel. i also asked if they can accommodate a large vehicle and i was told yes. when i arrived at the hotel, the clerk told me that parking is NOT part of the hotel, and i need to pay 20 a night for a regular car and 100 for the vehicle i had!!! i was lied to! when i told the clerk that the reservation clerk told me the hotel had parking, he replied " they would have not told you that! this really angered myself and my hubby as we choose this hotel bc of the parking!

2. Internet connection does not work! again, another lie. they claim to have internet service, but while i there i had a hard time getting the internet. when i called the clerk about the internet , he said i was the first one to complain. the other guest i stayed with did not get internet connection as well. I was given a number to a support line for the internet and i was told that the hotel does not have enough access points for the internet. so my questions is, why advertise internet access when you do not have it?

3. There was spider in my bed. enough said

4. balcony door was torn and could not shut properly

5. CONSTRUCTION!!! there is major construction going on across the street, and the noise will wake you up at 5 am!!! the drilling was terrible and they actually were nice enough to change my room where i can't hear the noise, but i still heard it.

6. There is a noisy bar downstairs where the patrons party till 2 am. it will keep you awake.

7. They charged us 160 a night , when the price was advertised as 129

8. dirty elevators, and the tub drain was clogged. yuck

the list can go on and on, but i think that i said my piece. it is sad that the hotel management does not care about this hotel as i seen many complaints about this hotel. i usually check trip advisor before i go somewhere but this was last minutes and i have stayed at other quality inns.

hope this review helps

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend while we were visiting Montreal and I have no complaints to say about this hotel. The only thing is that there is construction going on across the street, so that was noisy in the morning, which I admit was slightly annoying, but it's only in the morning and hey it forces you to get up early and take on the city!

The location of this hotel is PERFECT. You couldn't be more in the centre of downtown, and Crescent Street (the street the hotel is on) is sooo cute. There are tons of little pubs and restaurants, all uniquely decorated with lots of colour. The rooms are also HUGE with very big comfy beds. I found the staff at the front desk to be very pleasant as well. For the location, quality of room, and price of the hotel, I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McGov2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked Quality Inn Downtown Montreal On Crescent.
When I arrived there the front of the hotel was not what seems on the internet.
Very disappointed.....
The hotel is undergoing remodelling.
The room was nice and clean but the elevators and the halls were dirty.
For breakfast, they gave us a coupon to present to the corner Bistro.
the value of the coupon was for a croissant and a coffee only.
If you like a nightlife, there is a brasserie across the street, very very noisy.
They should have mention it on the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceo denmar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Vicinity of hotel is undergoing new-building construction. Work crews begin at 6:30am. Expect their work to be your wake up call! Hotel is undergoing remodelling; other areas within the hotel could use remodelling, too, which probably are not part of the current renovations.

James at the front desk was very unhelpful when it came to our "complimentary" breakfasts. He stated because we paid such a low rate (using a VIP Corporate rate, via Choice Privileges!), we were not entitled to complimentary breakfasts (Although when we checked in, the hotel manager told us how to pick up & use our breakfast vouchers). OBTW: the breakfast area is part of the current renovations, so hotel guests are sent to a restaurant across the street, with hotel vouchers. The selection at the restaurant is very scant for these vouchers, but users can upgrade - for a price. Seems like a scam to me.....

Parking is adjacent to the hotel (with a boisterous, busy, OUTSIDE bar/lounge in between the hotel and parking lot) and is $20 / day for hotel guests, but regular parking customers get $15 / day rates. Again, another scam. If you park here, expect to need a car wash afterwards. Also, there's no liability to the parking company if something happens to your parked vehicle - for example, by an out-of-control patron of the aforementioned bar on a Fri. night (just a friendly word of caution)!

About the only redeeming comment I can make is the hotel's location - right off St. Catherine St. If a downtown location is important for you (along with budget), this could be a good choice. If location or budget are not so important, you should consider alternate lodging. As for me, I had little choice, as I was meeting other (frugal) family members in Montreal, and they wanted all of us to stay a central, "affordable" hotel. This one seemed good enough at the time of booking.

Lastly: the 2 elevators are small and slow and very unpretentious. The elevators are indicative over-all of this hotel.

2 Stars = 2 Stars. Anything more would be inaccurate and grossly generous.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrJimmy14612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

this hotel is well situated for exploring the major tourist areas of Montreal.
Great for those who enjoy 15-20 minute walks to most areas- Old Montreal- Downtown/ McGill University/ Museums- St. Laurent and St. Catherine Streets. Nice rooms, not huge, but all the necessary items- good beds, flat screen tv's good wireless connections. The bonus is the very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#39 of 166 in Montreal
1,777 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#73 of 166 in Montreal
286 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Address: 1214 Crescent St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2A9, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $93 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Hotel Montreal
Quality Inn Montreal
Montreal Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing