We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for surprise getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Mad River Valley
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for surprise getaway.”
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I chose the Auberge du Vieux Port based on a friend's recommendation as a surprise getaway for my husband's birthday. It was a perfect choice. We were there 2 nights. The price including dinner and parking was very reasonable. Front desk and parking valet were gracious and accomodating. Wine/cheese offered each evening, along with live jazz on the nights we were there.

Many attractions within walking distance. We will return again another time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRVdocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    352
    74
    30
    20
See reviews for
144
1,090
50
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

When my wife and I arrived, the room they had for us was dirty and had not been cleaned by room service yet, so they moved us to a smaller but still a nice room. I figured, this happens, they fixed the problem the best they could. Later that night when we went down stairs for dinner, the manager stopped me and said there was a problem with my car. Told me they would bring it around, which they did 45 minutes later. The hotel had driven my new Lexus into a parking support causing damage to the back left side of the car. Again, I figured this happens and they assured me they would pay for the repairs if I provided them with an estimate. This morning I received a call from them saying they will not be sending me a check to cover the damages. I worked with this hotel chain for 3 months now trying to resolve this problem and there has been no effort on their part to correct it.

To be fair, the hotel is beautiful and a short walk to some great spots. However the look of a hotel is nothing com paired to its ability to manage it's services. If you decide to stay here, do not bring your car, do not expect the senior managers to support any additional services or needs you may want and certainly do not trust anything they tell you about rates, refunds or room charges. I would say it was like living in a beautiful condo with a slumlord as a landlord.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotty1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My huband and I stayed at the Auberge du Vieux-Port in late August for 6 nights for our "mini-moon" and we loved it. We also chose the hotel for the location in Old Montreal and loved the surrouding area.

The concierges and valets were a pleasure - we enjoyed seeing and interacting with them during our stay. They always greeted us and were happy to provide advice and suggestions on what to do, where to go, and where to eat. We also brought our bikes and were able to store them in a back room.

The room itself was wonderful. We stayed in a room on the third floor that overlooked the water. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were lovely also. Everything was clean and well appointed.

Breakfast was a delight every morning. I loved the crepes and croissants and the wait staff were very nice also. We had the wine and cheese a few times, which was a nice treat during the stay. We also ate dinner at the restaurant and the food was delicious.

Our overall experience was wonderful and we loved it there. It felt like "home" a few nights into our stay and we would definently stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We spent a very pleasant weekend at the Auberge de Vieux Port in mid-March.

The room was as presented on the website – the stone wall, wooden posts and wooden floors gave it a unique and romantic character that you will not find in your typical high-rise hotel.

The hotel is within walking distance of most of the downtown attractions and key buildings.
We walked to and from the train station in about thirty minutes, along the way passing Notre Dame and the convention centre.

Supper at the hotel restaurant was excellent, and we enjoyed the jazz duo that plays on weekends. There were also several restaurants catering to a range of tastes and prices on St. Paul Street, directly behind the hotel.

The price was also as presented, with no surprises at checkout time.

The room came with a Jacuzzi tub, but unfortunately it was only built for one. (Well, two people could fit if you are both small.)

We prefer a firm mattress, so we found the bed to be very comfortable.

The only negative was that noise from the street level easily drifts up and through the window, so be warned if you are prone to retiring early.

However, what struck us most was the very attentive service, and the outgoing, enthusiastic and friendly attitude of the hotel staff, making this one of the most pleasant stays at any hotel we have visited.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2009

I just got back from a lovely weekend in the Auberge du vieux port. We traveled all the way from Pennsylvania, and had a great experience at this hotel. It is located in the center of Old Montreal. The location could not be any more perfect, as the street behind the hotel is lined with little shops and many excellent restaurants. The street in front of the hotel hosts the port, which is a great place to walk around. When we arrived the staff was very friendly and continued to offer their help and services through the extent of our stay. The room was gorgeous, with its tall ceilings and brick walls. It had all the European charm we had expected. The bathroom was also extremely clean and updated. I am a very strong critic of hotels, and often times find something wrong, however I had nothing to complain about with this one. The included breakfast was delicious and prepared to order, and the complimentary wine and cheese between 5 and 7 is very charming, especially when the jazz band plays on the weekends. The hotel is in walking distance to the cathedral and all activities in Old Montreal. It is also in walking distance to downtown, and all the main shopping areas. I highly recommend this hotel and would consider it a hidden gem.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancejackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

The location is excellent if you want to be in the old port area. You can easily walk to restaurants. It’s a 10 minute walk to the metro. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

But there are things you should be aware of if you’re thinking about staying in a loft. This applies only to the loft (apartment) number 603.

The lofts are not in the inn, but two blocks from the rear door of the inn. Someone will help you get your bags there and back. There are no elevators. We couldn’t figure out whether everybody in the building was a guest of the inn. It appeared that some were permanent residents, and that the inn just owned one or more apartments in the building.

Loft #603 consists of one large (maybe 25 feet by 25 feet) room, a reasonably large bedroom, a smaller bedroom, a bathroom, an entrance hall and kitchen. Walls are exposed brick and stone; pipes and electrical cables are exposed. The fireplace doesn’t work, and neither did the TV in the large room. The TV in the large bedroom did work but you have to string an extension cord through the door and plug it into an outlet in the large room. WiFi worked pretty well.

Lighting is inadequate: one person can sit next to the table lamp and have enough light to read comfortably, but others will find the light a little dim for reading. The cord for the lamp by the bedroom runs into the wall, then inside the wall to a spot several feet away where it emerges and is plugged into an outlet. This is beyond strange; it is a fire hazard.

It can get noisy. The people downstairs had a party that included children playing hockey in the hall. Someone upstairs rose each day at 6:30, flushed the toilet 15 or 20 times, then woke the children and got them started practicing their Morris dancing. OK, I exaggerate a little, but you will hear every flush, foot step and (muffled) conversation. Luckily, with the exception of the party night, people went to bed fairly early and we didn’t really find the noise too bothersome.

The large bedroom has a glass door, reducing privacy. The water heater has enough hot water for only two showers. Housekeeping makes the beds and changes the towels each day.

If you’re not cooking your own in the loft’s kitchen, breakfast is in the inn and it’s $10 (not included with the room as it would be if you were staying in the inn.) Our breakfasts were excellent and the service was prompt and courteous.

We arranged through the hotel for transportation to the hotel from the airport and back; it was reliable and pleasant. However, we were told by the hotel that the trip to the hotel would be $101 including tax and tip, and that the trip from the hotel would be somewhat less. We paid for both trips when we returned to the airport, and the bill was $232 not including tip. It’s about 20 minutes each way; I’d bet a cab would have been quite a bit less. For comparison, here in overpriced New Jersey a roughly equivalent round trip was $100 including tax and a pretty generous tip.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Narrowgauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This lovely auberge has a lot going for it: a brilliant location in the heart of vieux Montreal; very large and attractive rooms with bare beams, exposed brick, hardwood floors, and large windows - ours looked out over the river.

The ensuite bathroom was a dream: wonderfully spacious and well equipped with an abundance of fluffy towels and quality products, a shower with lashings of hot water and a separate jacuzzi tub. Fabulous!

Breakfasts were good. A continental breakfast buffet was laid out, together with menu service that included full English breakfasts, omelettes, pancakes etc. We also enjoyed an excellent dinner one evening in the hotel restaurant.

Quirks? As has been mentioned by other guests, there seems to be some under-staffing. Although courteous, friendly and ultimately responsive, the front desk staff person is also responsible for answering the phone and taking reservations - which can mean quite a wait for incoming or outgoing guests.

When we arrived, our room was extremely cold, in part due to a faulty thermostat and not helped by the faulty window sealing which allowed frigid Montreal air to whistle through. The brick wall beside the window was also crumbling in places, resulting in small piles of dust and brick fragments on the windowsill and floor. We also expressed disappointment to the front desk that here was no means to make coffee or tea in the room. By the time we returned to our room that afternoon, a portable heater was waiting for us, together with what appeared to be a brand new coffee maker - complete with coffee, cream etc. That's service!

All in, an experience that I would recommend.

  • Disliked — Cold room upon arrival
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing