We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loves Auberge due Vieux-Port, Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Reno, Nevada
313
Reviewed October 18, 2004

We spent 3 nights beginning of Oct. at Auberge du Vieux-Port and upon our arrival we knew we chose the right place. They met our taxi and took our bags into this small hotel facing the St. Lawrence, then invited us to go down to their restaurant Ramparts (downstairs) to partake of their evening complimentary wine and cheese for guests (from 5-6 each evening). We needed this..after our long day of travel. While relaxing with our wine, our bags were taken to our room and we 'checked in' after our wine. The rooms (we started first night in a 'loft' room as we arrived on a Sat. and the hotel was full), then moved to the hotel for the next 2 nights. Both rooms were very nice, but the loft wasn't for us ... too many stairs and we like to be situated in the hotel to really enjoy the amenities more easily. The loft, however, would be great for a family as it had a small kitchen and a very large sitting/dining area. The breakfasts were very good -- small buffet of baked goods, fruit, juices, coffee, cereal, plus you can in addition order from the menu. Robes and slippers, stocked bar and old world style furnishings made the rooms/stay so pleasant. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We mainly dealt with David at check-in and when changing rooms....and he was very nice and helpful. They volunteered to make any reservations we wanted. We highly recommend this hotel and especially Old Montreal -- if you want a relaxing, romantic and charming experience - surrounded by good restaurants!! (Bonaparts, Pavarotti are a couple. Didn't get a chance to try Ramparts which is in this hotel). We did alot of walking downtown Monreal on St. Catherines and were glad we didn't choose a hotel there -- location to many restaurants good, but the noise.....rap music playing very loudly -- not for us!!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,532 - 1,538 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2004

we loved our Oct 3, 3 nite stay, get the rooms that overlook the river, high floor, quieter. large rooms, free high speed wireless internet, tasty free breakfast served in their below ground cellar where they also host a daily free wine/cheese hour. attentive staff, and easy walking distance to all sights, we enjoyed tasty Indian and Polish restaurants nearby, with many choices. loved the Botanical Gardens too, but you'll need car. We'd go back...

5  Thank garymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2004

We spent three nights at the Auberge in September 04. As an old warehouse, the building may look a bit uninspiring from the outside but the interior makes up with bags of character in abundance.

The 1st floor room, with exposed brick walls and quality furnishings was quite special. A really comfortable bed fixed our jet lag. Service was excellent and the CD player with a good choice of CD's was a nice touch. Breakfast in Les Remparts was good and wholesome and always served with a smile.

The Auberge is well situated in the old town and easy to find, even for us off a plane and the airport shuttle, followed by a metro and a short walk. There are loads of excellent restaurants close by (restaurant du vieux port is recommended)

It's hard to criticise the Auberge - and it does not affect the excellent review- but the noise early in the morning from the cobbled street may worry some (we lived with it because the quality of the room was so good). Someone also commented that you couldn't see out of the dirty windows - that was solved by opening the huge windows to give views of the port.

All the same, this place is excellent and recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobs-big-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Auberge the first week of August based on the reviews here and the location. We were put in one of the larger rooms on the 5th floor (towards the port) the first night and in one of the rooms on the other side, 5th floor, the next two nights. The rooms were both large and very nice and the views on both sides were nice as well. I sleep soundly so no problems with noise, plus we stayed up late enjoying the city. The beds were very comfy.

I do recommend taking one of the horse carriage tours. Our guide pointed out a lot of the sites to see, cool bars, and good restaurants. Unfortunately, we didn't do that until the last night.

The location is great, right in the middle of the old city with lots of things to see and do. A short taxi ride gets you to other sites in the city.

We had breakfast each morning which was included in the room. Excellent breakfast. Service was good except one morning when one of the help didn't make it to work.

Montreal is a great city; three nights is all you need. It's not Paris, but it's less than 1 hour away from NYC.

Definitely would recommend the Auberge.

3  Thank Orlandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Commack, NY
551
Reviewed August 3, 2004

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Monroe Twsp. New Jersey
11
Reviewed July 30, 2004

We stayed for three nights in July,2004 and had virtually the same feelings as the Atanta reviewer. We were on a lower floor(2) so the noise was a little more apparent, but not bothersome at all. The serbice throughout the hotel was excellent, with special mention to Matthew,DavidChristine, Kyle and Marie.
P.s For those non-walkers such as us, the valet parking is well worth the additional expense,

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Tx
1
Reviewed July 28, 2004

We stayed in the lofts, which are located about 100 yards from the main hotel. It was huge! Over 1000 sq feet. The outer room had a fireplace and TV, full kitchen with brand new equipment and lovely dining area. The bedroom had a comfortable king- sized bed and a large jacuzzi. The bath was slightly smaller, but had a huge modern shower.

There were no elevators, so we had to walk up 3 flights of stairs, but it helped burn off those extra calories from desserts.

The staff was very friendly and helpful except for one of the concierge members, who seemed not to know much of the city apart from the "usual" spots. The maid service was good. The breakfasts at the hotel each morning were very nice and there was complimentary wine and cheese each afternoon at 5.

My only complaint was the noise. Each morning (including the weekend) there was construction noise, garbage collectors, etc outside. The windows must have been very thin because 3 floors up it was enough to awaken you. Also the ceiling transmitted the walking noises from the people above you (the floors are all hardwood without carpetting)

Overall, we'd recommend the Auberge, but if the were to do something about the noise, I'd return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,421 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,200 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,034 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $166 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing