We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$362
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$201
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gault(Montreal)
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$693
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,824)
Filter reviews
1,824 results
Traveler rating
1,306
381
84
32
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,306
381
84
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewold porttaverne gasparexposed beamsvieux portrooftop barthe main hotellawrence rivercharming hotelcrepespaul streetfifth floorbreakfast was includedgreat showerthe entire staffsmall hotellarge windows
Filter
Updating list...
1,506 - 1,511 of 1,824 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2009

The location is excellent if you want to be in the old port area. You can easily walk to restaurants. It’s a 10 minute walk to the metro. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

But there are things you should be aware of if you’re thinking about staying in a loft. This applies only to the loft (apartment) number 603.

The lofts are not in the inn, but two blocks from the rear door of the inn. Someone will help you get your bags there and back. There are no elevators. We couldn’t figure out whether everybody in the building was a guest of the inn. It appeared that some were permanent residents, and that the inn just owned one or more apartments in the building.

Loft #603 consists of one large (maybe 25 feet by 25 feet) room, a reasonably large bedroom, a smaller bedroom, a bathroom, an entrance hall and kitchen. Walls are exposed brick and stone; pipes and electrical cables are exposed. The fireplace doesn’t work, and neither did the TV in the large room. The TV in the large bedroom did work but you have to string an extension cord through the door and plug it into an outlet in the large room. WiFi worked pretty well.

Lighting is inadequate: one person can sit next to the table lamp and have enough light to read comfortably, but others will find the light a little dim for reading. The cord for the lamp by the bedroom runs into the wall, then inside the wall to a spot several feet away where it emerges and is plugged into an outlet. This is beyond strange; it is a fire hazard.

It can get noisy. The people downstairs had a party that included children playing hockey in the hall. Someone upstairs rose each day at 6:30, flushed the toilet 15 or 20 times, then woke the children and got them started practicing their Morris dancing. OK, I exaggerate a little, but you will hear every flush, foot step and (muffled) conversation. Luckily, with the exception of the party night, people went to bed fairly early and we didn’t really find the noise too bothersome.

The large bedroom has a glass door, reducing privacy. The water heater has enough hot water for only two showers. Housekeeping makes the beds and changes the towels each day.

If you’re not cooking your own in the loft’s kitchen, breakfast is in the inn and it’s $10 (not included with the room as it would be if you were staying in the inn.) Our breakfasts were excellent and the service was prompt and courteous.

We arranged through the hotel for transportation to the hotel from the airport and back; it was reliable and pleasant. However, we were told by the hotel that the trip to the hotel would be $101 including tax and tip, and that the trip from the hotel would be somewhat less. We paid for both trips when we returned to the airport, and the bill was $232 not including tip. It’s about 20 minutes each way; I’d bet a cab would have been quite a bit less. For comparison, here in overpriced New Jersey a roughly equivalent round trip was $100 including tax and a pretty generous tip.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Narrowgauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This lovely auberge has a lot going for it: a brilliant location in the heart of vieux Montreal; very large and attractive rooms with bare beams, exposed brick, hardwood floors, and large windows - ours looked out over the river.

The ensuite bathroom was a dream: wonderfully spacious and well equipped with an abundance of fluffy towels and quality products, a shower with lashings of hot water and a separate jacuzzi tub. Fabulous!

Breakfasts were good. A continental breakfast buffet was laid out, together with menu service that included full English breakfasts, omelettes, pancakes etc. We also enjoyed an excellent dinner one evening in the hotel restaurant.

Quirks? As has been mentioned by other guests, there seems to be some under-staffing. Although courteous, friendly and ultimately responsive, the front desk staff person is also responsible for answering the phone and taking reservations - which can mean quite a wait for incoming or outgoing guests.

When we arrived, our room was extremely cold, in part due to a faulty thermostat and not helped by the faulty window sealing which allowed frigid Montreal air to whistle through. The brick wall beside the window was also crumbling in places, resulting in small piles of dust and brick fragments on the windowsill and floor. We also expressed disappointment to the front desk that here was no means to make coffee or tea in the room. By the time we returned to our room that afternoon, a portable heater was waiting for us, together with what appeared to be a brand new coffee maker - complete with coffee, cream etc. That's service!

All in, an experience that I would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We were pleased from the outset with this hotel. Truly one of the high points of our 5 state and 1 province tour of the Northeast. The staff was remarkably attentive, although, we thought, at times the hotel was short staffed for all that was expected of them. Still we never got an ounce of attitude from the front desk, the valets, maids, bar or restaurant. All were attentive to our needs. In addition the rooms were nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The wine and cheese hour is a delight, and the breakfast was delicious... really. This hotel was for us one of the best aspects of our trip to Montreal. We'll go back to Montreal just to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Witerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Do yourself a big favor by calling the hotel if you are arriving late. If you don’t, they will give it away then blaming on the online booking system. It happens to us even with credit card deposit guaranteed. It ruined our trip to Montreal totally.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
2  Thank LifeIsGood-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We have just returned from spending four nights at the Auberge du Vieux-Port and had a FANTASTIC time!!!

We checked in on September 22 until September 26, 2008.

The main part of the hotel is located RIGHT on Rue de la Commune which is directly on the riverfront where romantic horse drawn carriages stroll by all day. Across the street is the wharf where the bateaux-mouche dock and the bike path begins. Around the corner is the Jacques Cartier Square .......

This is where we checked-in but we knew in advance that we would be staying in one of their off-site Lofts.

However, from the moment of our check-in, we knew we were in for an excellent experience!

Fredrique escorted us ((and carried our luggage)) to our loft around the corner on Rue de Vincent which is an EXCELLENT location.

Our loft is in a 119 year old building. The lofts are all BEAUTIFULLY & rustically renovated warehouses ...... open ceilings, exposed brick, water pipes, etc ......

Next door is a fantastic Italian restaurant ((Galliano's)) where we had TWO delicious dinners.

Although our loft ((#604 ~~ HIGHLY RECOMMENDED)) was up SIX flights of stairs (with NO elevator), we would not want to ever stay anywhere else!

#604 is over 900 square feet.

Please see our scans to get a complete idea of how extraordinary was this loft!

The side of the room overlooking Rue de Vincent had four floor to ceiling, double windows.

Most of the walls are exposed stone and used brick. There is a WORKING fireplace, WITH wood provided! Although we did not need it, the loft is air conditioned and the heating works great. We didn't have time to prepare meals but the kitchenette is well equipped for our needs....... microwave....... frig .... everything ....

There are two dining tables ~~ formal & informal. The furnishings are soooo comfortable and welcoming. Take a look at that fantastic BED!!!! Wireless, CD player, TV, closet space, bath ~~ all great. Comfortable couch and easy chairs..... Desk .......excellent lighting ..... The king size bed and linens are LUXIOURIOUS!! We had daily maid service ..... bath linens are great.

At night, the view from our loft was breathtaking! While sitting on the couch, we could see the beautifully lit dome of the Marche Bonsecours down the street ...... Below us, Rue de Vincent bustled but was very quiet ...... we never were bothered by noise during our entire stay. Right next door to our loft is a washing machine & dryer but we did not need to use it.

EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT!!!!!

We only paid $169.00 a night!

Because we were not staying in the main Hotel, we were not entitled to a free breakfast ..... but it only cost us $10.00 and it was GREAT! Also, Loft Guests had extended breakfast privileges until 11:00. Because we are late sleepers, this worked out perfectly.

As explained by previous reviewers, breakfast is served in a cozy restaurant below the Hotel Desk. Service was always excellent. We never felt rushed, food was always complete and plentiful and our servers were always friendly, professional and delightful. Our selections included omelets, eggs, waffles, pancakes, assorted breads & croissants, cereals, muffins, fruits, etc ...

The Hotel Staff at Auberge du Vieux-Port was always extremely friendly and helpful.

LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION!!!!!!

We didn't rent a car and didn't need one .... so much was within walking distance and our four days were not nearly enough time to scratch the surface.

One morning, we took a tour on the Bateau-Mouche..... relaxing and wonderful .....

Another morning, we rented bikes at Ca Roule ....... biked to the Marche where we bought picnic sandwiches, cheeses, etc & drinks ....... and then biked along the Lachine Canal to the Parc where we ate our picnic lunch on the banks of the St Lawrence River and then we biked back!!! Thirty Miles, we were told , but it was soooooooooooooo worth it (we are 58 & 60 years old and it was a not-too-miss experience.)

I was taught by the Sisters of the Congregation de Notre Dame de Montreal (in New York) so I really enjoyed the Bourgeoys Museum and the Bonsecours Chapel. Even my husband (an Episcopalian) was impressed ......

One night, we bought tickets for a light show at the Notre-Dame Basilica. It was called: "Lumiere Fut" and was a little cheesy in spots but, overall, a FANTASTIC show! The Basilica (where Celine Dion was married) is gorgeous during the day but SPECTACULAR at night.

Don't miss the Pointe-a-Calliere Museum (Museum of Archaeology and History) ~~ VERY well done. Montreal is very proud of its extremely important history and the Pointe offers a great introduction and over-view to it.

Although very French, Old Montreal is completely bilingual and everyone we met was extremely friendly and fun.

We live in San Diego but we BOTH want to return to Vieux Montreal...... it was an unforgettable trip ........

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank s1nead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews