We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff in a wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing staff in a wonderful hotel”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have just left the hotel this morning to continue our journey in Canada. We spent 3 nights at this hotel and we were not disappointed in the least. As others have said, the place has been expertly transformed from a former warehouse to a beautiful hotel. The ambiance in the room (101) was enhanced by the original stone, brick and steel walls and hardwood floors. The room was spacious with plenty of room to move in. There was a closet with ample room for all of our hanging clothes and plenty of drawers to take care of the non-hanging clothes. The bed and pillows were extraordinarily comfortable and cozy. Bathrobes and slippers are also provided.

The bathroom, while a little on the smallish size, had an amazing modern multi-jet shower that was luxurious. The room was clean and housekeeping services were always prompt. This was another eco friendly hotel which because we come from a California that is under a severe drought, we really appreciated.

The internet connectivity was fantastic and we never had an issue with it.

Parking is by valet and worth every penny of it as the hotel is in a busy area of the old town Montreal. There are lots nearby that you could self park, but unless you are familiar with driving in downtown Montreal, I would opt for the valet. Our car was always delivered promptly.

In our package breakfast at the restaurant that is connected to the hotel was included. We were blown away when we were offered three choices of a full breakfast and/or the breakfast buffet bar. The food was fantastic, arrived in good time and was hot.

Now to the amazing staff! From the get go as soon as we set foot in the place, we were so well taken care of. by the entire staff. On check in-although the place was packed and hopping because of several weddings, Patrick go us checked in, offered information services and just made us feel welcome. Every other staff member that we came in contact with was exactly the same way: warm, with a smile, always a bonjour, and a readiness to help wherever they could. We have not found this kind of consistency in many of the hotels we have stayed in. The staff and manager are to be commended for the way that they handled people. I want to add that this also includes the staff at the connecting restaurant. They were always smiling, attentive and willing to answer questions even at 8:00 a.m. when we have seen plenty of surly wait staff. We would return to this hotel strictly because of the staff.

My one slight disappointment was the noise level that we experienced. We had asked for a river view room which we received although on the first floor there was not much river to be seen through the trees. While we were right next to the elevator-there was absolutely no noise from that which surprised me. The noise came from outside the hotel which was a result of a number of factors such as lots of weekend visitors, restaurants, bars and a disco that was at least half a mile away from the hotel was playing the music so loud it could be heard in our room. On Sunday and Monday nights it was much, much better-so just remember that when you are looking at dates that you will be visiting. We would most definitely stay there again without hesitation, but we would not ask for a river view room.

Room Tip: Be careful about requesting a river view room because they can be a bit noisier with outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimboCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    352
    74
    30
    20
See reviews for
144
1,090
50
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed a tthe Auberge for four nights in August, in their King Supreme with River-view.

The location is in the heart of old Montreal, in fact one step out of the hotel and you are on pedestrian only cobble-stone streets with dozens of restaurants, pubs and art stores all around - and within Walking Distance of the Notre Dame Bassilica.

Now about the hotel... Old Charm with new world service and amenitites sums up this place. We were there for four nights so we got to know the hotel staff pretty good and they always greeted us with a smile, asked if we needed anything or how we were doing, and were more than happy to make restaurant reservations or advise of where to go and what to do (in french or english)... We winged it so their insight drove most of our sightseeing, shopping and eating decisions - and we weren't disappointed!

The valet guy treated us, especially my wife, like royalty! Opening the car door for her (i know, i should have done it:)), carrying our bags and walking her to the hotel and car with umbrella in hand when it rained. Just remember to tip the guy!!

The restaurant serves a pretty good breakfast that's included in the price of the room. We didn't eat there for dinner but the menu looked good with mostly upscale pub-food to offer.

Oh...and one added bonus about this place...they can lay claim to the slowest elevator in Canada!! But that shouldn't bother anyone on vacation, right?

I would suggest this place to anyone who wants to experieince Old Montreal - the hotel is part of that experieince. And keep the young kids at home - this place is for adults or oilder teens.

Thank you, Auberge du Vieux-Port!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fireguy_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel at the last minute because of its location in the Old City, the river view, and the positive reviews from Previous guests, and in every regard we were glad we chose to stay here. The staff was incredibly helpful, going so far as to escort us to the closest convenience store so we could pick up some supplies! The room was spacious and comfortable and very lovely. The bath products smell divine. One thing I should mention is that the rooftop bar and tavern, which sound so charming in the hotel description, are pretty much a young people's drinking/pickup scene, so if you are, like us, middle-aged parents who want a quiet drink or dinner when you arrive, you might want to look for a different place to go once you check in. There are plenty of good places in walking distance from the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DrPoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Bonjour DrPoe,
Last minute decisions are the ones that make you discover new things and new places.
We’re glad you’ve found us and we're happy to hear that you had an excellent time with us.
As for the roof top terrace, we try to attract different clienteles, we do hope that for your next visit, you would still try it again as it is not like that every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

A wonderful little gem tucked away in Old Montreal. From the moment we arrived and greeted by the Valet, Matthieu we knew we had made the perfect choice. The lobby is decorated very simply and the guest rooms are just as depicted on their website. We had a queen size room overlooking the cobblestone street below. From modern crystal lighting fixtures to brick exposed walls, the decor was best described as rustic meets elegance. We enjoyed our nights at the roof top bar and our morning breakfast on the terrace both were both exceptional. The entire staff is kind and helpful. The only thing I would change is, to upgrade their wifi, quite frustrating to be kicked off every few minutes but I'm sure in time this could be addressed. We would definetly return if we visit Montreal again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

The Auberge Vieux-Port is an older, lovingly renovated building facing the waterfront in old Montreal.

At check-in, staff were attentive and extremely helpful. Our 2nd floor room was airy and natural, with high ceilings and tall windows. The bed was wondrously comfy.

Ah, but the shower. Multiple nozzles, completely adjustable. I had no idea a shower could be such a deep and fulfilling experience. We wanted to take it home with us.

Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tedbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel with rustic rooms and a gorgeous bathroom. We were staying in the city and not very familiar with the old Montreal area. The staff was very friendly and the valets were efficient. The guest services manager (Michael) was amazing to help us find something that interested both my mother and I. As someone with experience in the Hotel industry I was amazed at the organizational skills and the knowledge of the area he possessed. We checked out before we were properly able to thank him however because the stay was so wonderful we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaheyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Bonjour Monsieur Rahey,
Merci for taking the time to write and share your comments about your stay.
We’re glad to hear that everyone was efficient and thank you for mentioning my name. It makes me happy and satisfied to hear that I was able to answer to all your questions.
We look forward to have you come and stay with us for another wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our wedding at the Auberge du Vieux Port. Everything from the space, decor, food and drink was spectacular. The contemporary-historic feel of the venue 'wowed' our guests; it's truly a beautiful space. Although the venue was terrific (including food from Tavern Gaspar), we wouldn't have had such a wonderful (and stress-free) time without the help of the events manager, Candice Cartoux. She guided us every step of the way through the wedding planning process. Since we are living in Chicago (and don't speak French), she was a helpful resource to have in Montreal. She recommended top notch vendors and facilitated the planning process for us so that we were never worried or stressed out. We wholeheartedly recommend having your next special event at the Auberge du Vieux Port!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
On behalf of the entire team we congratulate you and thank you for choosing the Auberge du Vieux Port for you special day.
It was a great pleasure for Candice and all of us to make sure you have an excellent time.
We look forward to have you come and stay with us on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing