We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, stylish hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely location, stylish hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Situated on the waterfront in the middle of the old town, this has the charm of a French auberge, but with spacious rooms that are stylish and modern. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast included was very tasty (we liked the eggs benedict).

Our room was one of the 'loft' rooms, with exposed beams and girders and it looked out over a pedestrian street to the rear of the hotel which had several bars and restaurants situated on it.

Top tip: make sure you go to the top floor terrace bar for a drink and nibbles; it overlooks the city and on Weds and Sats you get a good view of the fireworks (sadly we missed these as we were only there for 2 days).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjmmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    351
    74
    28
    20
See reviews for
139
1,073
50
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I did not stay at the main hotel. I stayed at the loft on the top floor above the steak house. There are 5 flights of stairs so if you mind stairs reconsider staying at the main hotel. Aside from that the loft was fantastic. Also the location was perfect and the staff very friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat just based on location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
At the Auberge du Vieux Port we have rooms that are in the main building and Lofts that are located in different buildings right across the street behind us. It’s more of an independent feeling for you yet always with a four star service.
We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Auberge du Vieux Port. Staff were extremely friendly, in particular Veronique, Michal & Frederic. Our first room was on the small side so we asked if we could change & were given a much larger room the next day. Although rather noisy at night (July 4th weekend & World Cup games) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nice that they included breakfast in the morning. Easy access to the Metro line & all that Montreal has to offer!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose Auberge du Vieux-Port for our 3-day getaway in late June, based solely on hotel's website and Trip Advisor reviews. I can report with pleasure - and relief - that our high expectations were met. Our room (409) was as chic and charming as the website portrayed, with gorgeous design features and furnishings. The restaurant was crowded and loud on a Saturday night (great if you like lively), and an attempt to reach room didn't work out. In general the staff were delightful (except for the rude room service guy) and the food was outstanding. Breakfasts were included and incredibly good (i.e., asparagus and brie omelette). Our waitress was a lovely young woman who graciously humored my French. The roof top terrace is smaller and perhaps not quite as glamorous as depicted on website, and the elevator is somewhat (but not dreadfully) slow. These are minor comments in a resoundingly positive review of this chic and appealing hotel

Room Tip: Room 409 has beautiful brick walls, wooden floors, hip bathroom furnishings and excellent shower. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProustLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
It’s great to hear that we met your high expectations and it is a relief for us to know that you will have an excellent memory of your stay at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
As for the room service experience, rest assured that management are taking care of it because something like that should never happen.
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Lovely place - nice big rooms, very up to date, aesthetically pleasing (exposed bricks, nice mix of old and modern) and very clean! Excellent location, and very helpful and friendly staff, we really had a great stay here! It has a nice restaurant/bar attached to it, and a great roof terrace with a wonderful view over the harbour. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable as well!

I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great stay. The hotel is charming. The staff are extremely helpful. The breakfast was really good. We stayed in a room on the fourth floor in the back with a great shower. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We’re glad to hear that you will stay with us again when visiting Montreal.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a very pleasurable 4 night stay here. The location was nice and the hotel itself was very accommodating. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a plus to start the day and the Terrace was a perfect place to end the day. Would recommend it and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailgal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing