We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a fantastic experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely a fantastic experience!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was our first trip to Montreal and we wanted to experience the old world. Auberge did not disappoint. Michael, Lora and Simone provided exceptional service and the hotel was more than we expected in terms of the room and all the amenities. We had booked another hotel and wanted to change this reservation so we could continue our outstanding experience at the Auberge. You should try it you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9388hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We always try our best to not disappoint and we are glad to hear that your experience was outstanding.
On behalf of all of us, we thank you for mentioning our names and I will make sure to let everyone know that you appreciated there services.
We do hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    361
    77
    31
    20
See reviews for
149
1,130
51
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stay here regularly on business, the staff go out of their way to ensure a wonderful experience. Everyone is courteous, welcoming and go above and beyond with service. The restaurant/bar attached has delicious food and great staff as well.
Location is great - located in Old Montreal - lots to do and see. Cirque is across the street and great shopping is within walking distance.
Highly recommend this hotel. Note - elevator takes a while, but you get to your floor eventually.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_55_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Auberge du Vieux Port for when you come for work and also have time to enjoy the attractions around.
We’re glad to hear that everything was excellent and we do hope that you keep coming back for business or for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the sister properties in a Montreal, I was looking forward to my meetings at this property. Things did not start well as my trip up the stairs to my room was brought about by a very slow elevator and being tired of waiting. Once at my door, neither key would work so back down the stairs. This on its own is not a deal breaker but then problems kept cropping up. The next issue was my room having no bath towels or face cloths which I only discovered after getting out of the shower. A dirty cleaning rag was found on my desk chair. Since the room is narrow, the platform bed frame takes up much of the room and after two good solid cracking of my ankle on the corner of the bed I vowed to avoid going around the bed anymore. Service in the restaurant is friendly but slow. TV reception is very poor which normally isn't a priority but a certain level of picture clarity is good. There were also numerous other little things that added up to a poor experience which is a shame as the hotel is in a great location.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We all thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had.
It is unfortunate to hear that things that don’t often happen, happened to you and we sincerely apologize about that.
As for the elevator, it is something that management are working on making it faster for everyone not to wait as long yet it is a historical building from the 1800’s and they’re trying their best.
We do hope that you will still come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My (now) fiance and I went to Montreal for a weekend get away. I did a bunch of research on Tripadvisor to find a romantic hotel and settled on this one. It was truly a great experience all around! I booked it knowing that I was going to propose over the weekend. I contacted them ahead of time and spoke live with Michael and staff. They helped me make reservations for a carriage ride after dinner so I could propose. They delivered chocolate covered roses and wine to the room after we came back, and just really went out of their way to make our weekend extremely special!

The hotel is right down by the waterfront and is very convenient for walking around old Montreal. We valet parked the car with zero hassle, and we just loved the room. Old exposed stone and wood beams/pillars. A stunning bathroom/shower/tub, and a VERY good restaurant/bar attached to the hotel. Do not miss the terrace bar on the top floor overlooking the water. Great view!

Can't go wrong with this one folks. Awesome hotel, staff, food, location. Can't thank them enough for making our special weekend extra special!

Room Tip: Spring for the bigger/better rooms. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bearlewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Bonjour Monsieur!
On behalf of the entire family at the Auberge du Vieux Port, we all congratulate you and wish you and your fiance all the best.
We’re very happy to hear that your stay was excellent and everyone made sure that your requests were answered. We hope that you will make it a yearly thing and come back to see us for your anniversary.
We look forward to welcome you and your fiance back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel on the new year's. I reserved a room with a river view. The way to the room was very difficult because we had to carry the stroller through the stairs since the elevator does not reach the room area. The room was ok but the photos on the website was away from reality. I believe that this hotel has the best view for the new year's fireworks in the entire city (despite that the front desk staff was surprised when I told her that I was able to enjoy the fireworks' from my room because she did not know about that before).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank the_admen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience you had.
On the website we show pictures of different categories in order to give you an idea on what your room would look like. The Front Desk Staff are here for you if there’s anything you are unhappy with during your stay and we make sure to do everything we can for you to have a memorable stay.
We do hope to have you come back in this New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spent 4 nights in April and loved the hotel. the staff could not be friendlier. We stayed in a king river view and suggest you spring for a river view. The bathroom was large and updated beautifully. We walked to the metro, all the old port sights and around the river. My only complaint is our room was warm; we were unable to control the temperature ourselves. The front desk did their best to remedy it. But would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Ellen B,
It’s our pleasure to hear that you appreciated the service provided at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We would like to reassure you that we’re working on the temperature control in the rooms for everyone to be comfortable depending on the Guests needs.
We look forward to welcome you again in a heartbeat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Recently arrived from 3 nights at the Auberge du Vieux Port, April 21 to 24. The Rooms quiet, lot of room and the bed very comfortable. The area full of restaurants, easy to walk around old Montreal.The breakfast included great way to start the day! The personnel very friendly and eager to meet your needs. 5 stars!
William Mulinelli

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Monsieur William Mulinelli,
Thank you for the 5 Stars, it is our pleasure to meet your needs for you to have an excellent memory of your stay.
The entire team looks forward to have you stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,347 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 165 in Montreal
2,135 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,344 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,985 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing