We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My (now) fiance and I went to Montreal for a weekend get away. I did a bunch of research on Tripadvisor to find a romantic hotel and settled on this one. It was truly a great experience all around! I booked it knowing that I was going to propose over the weekend. I contacted them ahead of time and spoke live with Michael and staff. They helped me make reservations for a carriage ride after dinner so I could propose. They delivered chocolate covered roses and wine to the room after we came back, and just really went out of their way to make our weekend extremely special!

The hotel is right down by the waterfront and is very convenient for walking around old Montreal. We valet parked the car with zero hassle, and we just loved the room. Old exposed stone and wood beams/pillars. A stunning bathroom/shower/tub, and a VERY good restaurant/bar attached to the hotel. Do not miss the terrace bar on the top floor overlooking the water. Great view!

Can't go wrong with this one folks. Awesome hotel, staff, food, location. Can't thank them enough for making our special weekend extra special!

Room Tip: Spring for the bigger/better rooms. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bearlewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Bonjour Monsieur!
On behalf of the entire family at the Auberge du Vieux Port, we all congratulate you and wish you and your fiance all the best.
We’re very happy to hear that your stay was excellent and everyone made sure that your requests were answered. We hope that you will make it a yearly thing and come back to see us for your anniversary.
We look forward to welcome you and your fiance back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel on the new year's. I reserved a room with a river view. The way to the room was very difficult because we had to carry the stroller through the stairs since the elevator does not reach the room area. The room was ok but the photos on the website was away from reality. I believe that this hotel has the best view for the new year's fireworks in the entire city (despite that the front desk staff was surprised when I told her that I was able to enjoy the fireworks' from my room because she did not know about that before).

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank the_admen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience you had.
On the website we show pictures of different categories in order to give you an idea on what your room would look like. The Front Desk Staff are here for you if there’s anything you are unhappy with during your stay and we make sure to do everything we can for you to have a memorable stay.
We do hope to have you come back in this New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spent 4 nights in April and loved the hotel. the staff could not be friendlier. We stayed in a king river view and suggest you spring for a river view. The bathroom was large and updated beautifully. We walked to the metro, all the old port sights and around the river. My only complaint is our room was warm; we were unable to control the temperature ourselves. The front desk did their best to remedy it. But would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Ellen B,
It’s our pleasure to hear that you appreciated the service provided at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We would like to reassure you that we’re working on the temperature control in the rooms for everyone to be comfortable depending on the Guests needs.
We look forward to welcome you again in a heartbeat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Recently arrived from 3 nights at the Auberge du Vieux Port, April 21 to 24. The Rooms quiet, lot of room and the bed very comfortable. The area full of restaurants, easy to walk around old Montreal.The breakfast included great way to start the day! The personnel very friendly and eager to meet your needs. 5 stars!
William Mulinelli

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Monsieur William Mulinelli,
Thank you for the 5 Stars, it is our pleasure to meet your needs for you to have an excellent memory of your stay.
The entire team looks forward to have you stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here during the second week of April for the first time. It was his first time in Montreal and my first time not staying with family in the city. The decor of the place was very European and warm. But the best thing about the place was the absolutely amazing service. Everyone was extremely helpful and kind. They gave us maps and advice for our stay. The breakfast was really good (although slightly small portions and you have to pay extra for eggs benedict). The waitress was super at her job and obviously loved working there.

The room was a Queen Deluxe and although the room was a bit petite, it had a lot of charm and the feel of a real high end place. White linen, brick walls, and a rainfall showerhead definitely added to the appeal if our room. The only "con" i would mention would be that the walls are pretty darn thin. It was easy to hear your neighbors talking or having some "intimate" time haha. And the doors slam if you aren't careful. I definitely recommend paying a little extra to get a top floor because they have wooden floors there where you can really hear your above floor neighbor stomping around in heels.

All in all though, totally worth the money for a great place in a perfect location. I have honestly never stayed at a friendlier hotel (they literally jump up to press the elevator button for you and everything Haha). And it was great to be treated respectfully even though we're a really young couple( early 20's).

Stay here!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank youtoohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Auberge du Vieux Port as your first hotel to stay in when not staying with your family.
No matter how old you are, we want you to feel like this is your second home and we're your second family.
You've discovered us and we look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel 15 years ago and loved it and my feelings have not changed. The hotel is bigger and a new restaurant has been added-breakfast in the mornings was great. The staff is so nice, the maid service was great and the waiters/waitress were wonderful. The rooms are charming with exposed brick and big windows. The floors are not straight as it's an old building but it was charming. Our bathroom was beautiful and great toiletries for our use. It is also so close to so many tourist attractions, bars and restaurants. That however is a pro and con. It did get loud on the street at night from groups leaving the bars but it didn't bother us much.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Robin M,
On behalf of the entire family at the Auberge du Vieux Port, we thank you for coming back after 15 years. We're sincerely grateful for that.
We're also glad to hear that everything went wonderfully and the people leaving the bars late at night, did not bother you. For you next stay, soon we hope, try the port view rooms if you are coming on the weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Auberge a Saturday night, and we went to see the Montreal Canadiens play at the aBell Center.
The staff was just great! Valet parking, assistance with our luggage, and great service included in your stay.
The loft we got was amazing. Two stories, kitchen, living room, and bedroom takes up entire second floor...high ceilings....it was defintely memorable.
Thank you everyone at Auberge du Vieux Port for helping make our weekend unforgettable.
Rachel and Rita

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Rachel & Rita,
The staff is like family, we’re here for you during your stay to assure you have and unforgettable time with us.
We hope that we will always be the place of choice for your next stay in the Old Montreal and for the next Montreal Canadian game at the Bell Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,522 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,265 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,404 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,094 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $136 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing