We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Nearby Hotels
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$168
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$170
$153
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$142
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Le Crystal(Montreal)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$235
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal(Montreal)
$204
$179
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$350
$270
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,810)
Filter reviews
1,810 results
Traveler rating
1,295
378
84
32
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,295
378
84
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewold porttaverne gasparexposed beamsvieux portrooftop barthe main hotellawrence rivercharming hotelcrepespaul streetfifth floorbreakfast was includedgreat showerthe entire staffsmall hotellarge windows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
966 - 971 of 1,810 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I are in our early 40's and had such a wonderful three night stay! I travel often for business so have stayed in a lot of hotels - the charm and personalized service at Auberge du Vieux-Port is top notch. We had room 503 facing the water and were happy that the on-line pictures accurately depicted the old world charm. The room had wireless internet, was clean, quiet, comfortable, and I loved the glorious rain shower in the bathroom. The staff were young and friendly, spoke both English and French, and made excellent suggestions and reservations for us. I was impressed that the attached restaurant/bar served full breakfast daily (choice of omelets, french toast, crepes, etc.) along with a coffee/snack bar all included in our stay. We had delicious steak dinner there as well and took in the DJ on Thurs eve with a younger crowd. We did see couples of all ages throughout our stay. The location could not have been better - we walked all over Old Montreal and took the subway 2 stops to the Bell Centre for a Canadiens game. We also went to the Rainspa at Le Place d'Armes (part of the same hotel group) for both swedish massage and hammas steam room which was complimentary with purchase of the massage. There was no onsite swimming or fitness facility at Auberge. We took cabs to and from the airport so not sure if or where there would be parking. We had an unforgettable stay! Would love to return in the summer, they have a roof top restaurant and I am sure the waterfront would be even more beautiful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. The front of the building faces the port, the back faces a cobblestone street with lots of shops and restaurants.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N0rth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear N0rth40,
It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful and unforgettable stay with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
It’s nice to see that you took advantage of all the services and amenities we offer. I will make sure to let the Gaspar Tavern Management know that you also had a great time and a great meal there.
We would love to have you stay with us again this summer and if you decide to come with your car, we do provide to all of the Guests Valet service.
Merci beaucoup for your nice comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I lived in Montreal for 4 years and I have stayed here 2 or 3 times before when visiting. It is absolutely beautiful. The staff are very friendly! They go above and beyond. I have stayed in the apartment style, and the regular rooms - both did not disappoint. Definitely my favourite place to stay while visiting Montreal. I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcjay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your beautiful comment and for always coming back to stay with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
On behalf of the Staff we are glad to hear that you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel tops my list for personal, caring, generous service and quiet atmosphere. The window views to the port are wonderful, the place is spotless and the entire staff makes you feel like nothing is too much to ask. An upbeat, cheerful stay with high regard for your comfort zone. They know your name, they listen to your requests for information and you end up relaxed and feeling pampered. My wife and I will return soon for our 4th visit. Can't happen soon enough for me!

Room Tip: Rooms on the port side have a great view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Monsieur William m,
On behalf of the entire team; Thank you for always coming back to stay with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Feeling pampered and relaxed is our goal and we are glad to hear that we’ve achieved it.
Don’t wait too long, come back and see us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We planned a 2-night late-winter get away in Vieux Montréal and discovered Auberge Du Vieux-Port due to its location. It is smack in the middle of the old part of Montreal. As we took the train, we were able to take a short cab ride from the station to the hotel, then explored the old city on foot, never needing another vehicle until it was time to go. The room we stayed in was so gorgeous, we found excuses during the day to pop back and enjoy it as much as we could. The hotel has been restored with modern tastes in mind, but with the extra time and care it takes to retain old structural surfaces (wood, brick, stone). The hot breakfast was a welcome perk--included in the price of our stay. And I can't say enough about the cheerful, helpful staff. They didn't just work there--they extended hospitality. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuminOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
It’s nice to hear that you really took advantage of the fact that everything is walking distance from the Auberge du Vieux Port.
The building was built in the 1800’s and we did restore and renovated a lot of it yet kept the original beams to leave that rustic chic feeling.
All the staff can say that we come to work feeling that we are coming home and we are glad that we made you feel comfortable and had a fabulous time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I live in Montreal, and we got married on Friday. We received as a gift a night at the Auberge du Vieux-Port. What a beautiful room we had (and the bed and pillows are so comfy!). And the view, especially at sunrise, was spectacular! The staff greeted us with a smile, and were very helpful when we need to find a few addresses. I think we will repeat the experience, having a nice weekend just for the two of us, even if it's not that far. But for an instant, we felt what other visitors feel when they go to another city. Thank you Auberge du Vieux-Port for making our honeymoon so wonderful and memorable!

Room Tip: The ones with the stone and brick walls are worth it, for an authentic experience. Room 301 has a fantastic view of the Old Port, you can see the train tracks and the ships in the water. The trains were not noisy at all in the morning.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Madame Karina R,
On behalf of the entire team; Congratulations!
It is a great pleasure to hear that locals are spending memorable stays at the Auberge du Vieux Port and to leave us with an excellent souvenir makes us feel fulfilled and happy.
Make it a yearly thing and come back to see us on your one year anniversary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews