We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was a great hotel to stay at during our short 3-night getaway in Montreal. The hotel is in the midst of Old Montreal, one side facing the port and the other backing onto the cute cobblestone streets. The staff in both the hotel and its restaurant were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful during our stay. Our room was beautiful, featuring the original brick walls and beams, and floor-to-ceiling windows, and despite what some say, we quite enjoyed the street view. Our stay package included daily breakfast, which delivered a smaller list of options, but would thoroughly satisfy any taste buds. Overall this was an amazing choice for a hotel, and we look forward to returning for another stay in the future!

Room Tip: Windows are sealed during the winter season to preserve heat, so for a better view during this seaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieOB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear KatieOB95
Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers.
We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your room with the historical Saint Paul street view, which is one of the oldest street in the city built in 1672.
It makes us happy to hear that we will be the place of choice for when you return to Montreal in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We let the hotel know we would be arriving very late and the clerk was waiting for us, friendly and helpful at 2a, making us feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms, with exposed brick and beams, hardwood floors and lush furnishings, were immaculate and charming. The old world style was accentuated with all the modern comforts. Our room featured a huge Jacuzzi tub and a cute sealed fireplace unit, but even the shower stall was the modern type with rain shower and additional nozzles. The cozy bar/restaurant features entertainment at night and included continental breakfast with a small upcharge for extras like a delicious eggs benedict or cappuccino. Situated right on the port in the heart of Old Montreal, the street above the restaurant is Rue St. Paul, which is home to tons of cute boutiques and art galleries. In an area known for its charming appeal, this hotel is quintessential - hard to imagine there could be a better option. Our only regret is the stay was too short. Thanks to Michael and the entire, wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Room facing the port with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub was amazingly cozy and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
At the Auberge du Vieux Port, you may arrive at anytime you wish and it would be a pleasure for us to great you with open arms.
We’re happy to hear that you had an excellent stay.
For your next stay, you will have to stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a wonderful little hotel in a perfect location. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They are such an asset to the hotel. Our experience was very similar to the "medal winner " reviewer. We had a relaxing evening having a cup of coffee in the lobby watching commercial ocean liners go buy the window. We also watched the sunrise from our window and it just seemed to add to the magic of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAOSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
We hope that the medal we won your heart with was a gold one.
Thank you for the comment about the staff being an asset to the hotel, we’re grateful for that.
Come back and see us to have more magical moments at the Auberge du Vieux Port.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights last summer and it was a wonderful introduction to Montreal.

Our room was a little small, but very unique. The breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had.
All of the rooms at the Auberge du Vieux Port are different, even the ones in the same category, which does make them unique.
This summer is coming fast and we do hope to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was my first time to Montreal in 30 years and I give myself a "gold medal" for choosing to stay at Auberge du Vieux-Port! The view to the St. Lawrence and old port, not to mention the sunrise from my elegant windows would have given me the bronze; the hot breakfast with good coffee and tea brought it up to silver; but it was the helpful, cheerful staff that brought me the gold! So I am a happy camper!! Bed and linens lovely. Really, you can't beat the location for walking the in City. Just a couple blocks away from the Scandinavian Spa, if you like to relax. The History and Archeaology Museum is literally down the street. Traveled alone and felt safe and comfy day and night. Really enjoyed walking the old docks, too, and imagining what it must have been like during the height of the wheat shipments.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor, front, with a great view of the morning sun, fog, and ice crystals! I loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REJ810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
We Love how you used the medal theme as we are in the Olympics season.
We're extremely happy that you won the “gold medal”
We are thankful that you chose to come to the Auberge du Vieux Port and that you took the time to share your experience here with other travelers. We do hope that you will come back and let your imagination go once again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This quaint hotel in Montreal is the perfect place to stay on your next Canadian vacation. The staff is lovely, helpful and kind: I was lost driving on my way to the hotel, the sweet receptionist stayed with me on the phone and step-by-step directed me until I arrived. The rooms are as pictured, cozy, clean and comfortable. The location is ideal, as it is in the heart of Montreal and a quick walk to the Basilica Notre-Dame and a number of delicious restaurants; not to forget mentioning, the restaurant in the hotel serves a fantastic complementary breakfast. There is good energy amongst the hotel guest because I believe everyone is very satisfied with their accommodations. Should I return to Montreal, I would most certainly stay at L'Auberge du Vieux-Port with pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
We’re glad that you appreciated the service provided by the receptionist the day of your arrival. It is our pleasure to be here for you, wherever you are and at anytime of the day.
It would be also a pleasure for us to have you stay at the Auberge du Vieux Port once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I'm twenty two years old and took myself here for a two three day vacation. It was amazing! The hotel lobby is smaller than it looks online, but my room was huge! And the king size bed was great. I was nervous to travel alone, but not once I arrived. The service was really friendly. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha-Moore12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
It’s nice to hear that once you got to the Auberge du Vieux Port you did not feel nervous anymore to travel alone. We, as staff, feel like we are home when we come to work and we try to also make you feel that way.
“Definitely be coming” is exactly what we want to hear and it would be with great pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,421 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,200 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,034 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $166 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing