We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to Stay in Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
mmess1
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Montreal”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This past summer we stayed at Auberge du Vieux-Port. It was our third time staying here, and it is the only place we'll stay when visiting Montreal. The hotel is fabulous. It's a small hotel with great service and a fabulous location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful. We have never had a complaint. We can't believe it took us until our third visit to figure out that there was a back door to the street behind the hotel. Lots of great restaurants and bars are walking distance away, along with a museum and bike rental shop. We highly recommend Auberge du Vieux-Port!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Even if it has been a while since you stayed with us, we greatly appreciated that you took the time to share your experience you had.
We are glad to hear that you had an excellent and memorable time.
We do look forward to welcome you back very soon because there is a side door you haven’t discovered yet :) 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    352
    74
    30
    20
See reviews for
144
1,090
50
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morin Heights
Level Contributor
183 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a gem: imagine! An inn situated right in the heart of Old Montreal. One has to be a bit open-minded, since the rooms are converted from an old warehouse. There are some posts and pipes in odd places. The rooms are not styled in the “run of the mill” way that a chain hotel would offer. It probably took a lot of creativity and investment to make the rooms suitable for a hotel, the quaint décor makes it rather charming. The experience of going up to the top terrace bar where the view is spectacular is wonderful. It is also within walking distance to the summer location of Cirque du Soleil, and the “Bateau Mouche” of the Montreal old Port.

Upon arrival your car is taken to the parking by a young valet. At the reception desk you are given a warm welcome. They even offer a complimentary drink on the terrace. The service is friendly. The breakfast is served in a dark but comfortable dining room and it is quite good.

This was a memorable experience.

Room Tip: I have to admit that for people with limited mobility it would be a bit hard, since the access to so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights for a weekend getaway and to see a show. The location is very convenient to old port activities and close to Metro stations for easy access throughout the city. The room was small, but cozy and suited our needs well. The only downsides were that walls seemed thin and early-morning noise in the hallway woke us up. Valet parking was available and seemed pricey, but in the old section of a large city, it's what's expected. Also, the elevator at check-out was excruciatingly slow such that we got sick of waiting and carried our bags down the stairs. Though, in fairness, I'm notoriously impatient in such situations... ;-)

In all, we had a nice stay at Auberge du Vieux Port and, given the price, the minor critiques mentioned above were just that: minor. If visiting Montreal again, we wouldn't think twice of staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chas2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel is in the best location, has amazing rooms, great service and above all incredible value for the price. We stayed at this hotel a first time in November and we loved it so much we returned in December! We had the most gorgeous room facing the water with wood, stone, brick, pillars, etc. So beautiful. Breakfast, which was excellent, was included. Service at front desk was attentive and not pretentious. Nous y retournerons!

Room Tip: Facing the water is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onetripamonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for a few days after an extensive trip around Canada. We had stayed in their sister hotel previously in the trip but wanted to mix things up.

The Pros
Very friendly staff
Clean, modern room nice bathroom and shower
Great location for old town and port

The Cons
Breakfast which was included in our room rate was cold and almost inedible, luckily I was not hungry.

We had late checkout included in our stay and cleaners entered the room 3 times between 11 and 2pm. I don't think they are informed about guests who are not checking out at normal time.

We had a movie included in our room rate which we never received and TV signal was bad on most channels.

To summarise, luckily I am not bothered too much by the cons but I can imagine others would be, especially as this is not a cheap hotel. We would return as I did not make a complaint about the above and I am sure they would have remedied if I had given them the opportunity. We would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Jan 11-13 2014...Birthday weekend for my wife...our second visit here was just as perfect as the first time! Uber-Romanic room with 200 year old wooden beams. Many thanks to Assistant Manager Daniel who used his "magic" to obtain a dinner reservation at a nearby restaurant that was "full"...6 star service from all the polite staff all the time...not a bad thing to say...we shall return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinger45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I've long known that Montreal is a European city in North America and the Auberge du Vieux-Port supports this. The only gripe was the speed of the elevator and so I used the stairs certainly when going down from the fourth floor from where the view across the frozen marina and semi frozen river beyond could be enjoyed. The staffs' attitude to speaking English was certainly not as I remembered from years ago in the city. They freely chatted in English but admittedly once my wife revealed her excellent French the receptionist clearly found it easier to chat in her mother tongue. We ate one night in the hotel restaurant and it was good as was the choice at breakfast. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the room old world, bricks revealed but with all expected modern facilities. No bath but good wi-fi. I'd stay there again gladly.

Room Tip: Room looking to river, whole hotel was quiet although in summer with windows open river side could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank percy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing