We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were very happy with our 3 night stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The apartment we stayed in was spacious. The kitchen was spacious and worked out well for storing our foods and snacks, although we didn't actually do any cooking. There were 4 adults staying in the room, so it worked out perfectly. I was told the furniture in the apartment was just recently replaced and generally the furniture was nice and worked out well, although the lamp was somewhat annoying and could pose a safety hazard.

The loft bed was a little uncomfortable, but not too bad. The downstairs bed was comfortable. The loft was spacious, but the downstairs bedroom was typical of a European room (smaller.) The loft was on the third floor, so it was a pain walking up and down the stairs each day, but I really can't complain about this, as I think it is acceptable and very typical not to have an elevator in old hotels like this.

The safe in the room was not secure. The cable was extremely fuzzy. The shower door leaked a bit, but all of these things were minor in the grand scheme of things, as we very much enjoyed our stay in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tawnyaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    361
    77
    31
    20
See reviews for
149
1,127
51
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I had a delightful long weekend in Montreal this August 2013 and the comfort, location, and charm of this hotel was a big part of it. The staff are fully bilingual and assisted us easily in English. The room was stylish and comfortable. Especially helpful was the advice on places to eat and sights not t miss. The location allows you to park your car (valet) and forget it. Breakfast was fine, nothing too special, but adequate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilcarl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife, daughter and I just completed our stay at Auberge Du Vieux Port in Montreal. Unfortunately, I turned out to be a very poor choice. When booking the reservation we were never told that the "apartment" was up 4 full flights of stairs. The unit was very poorly maintained (blinds didn't work, shoddy furnishings, barely working shower head, etc.). Expensive and hardly worth the money. Not recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank awohlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited Montreal for the Roger's Cup and after reviewing hotels here on Trip Advisor selected this hotel. It is on the river, in the Old City.
The room was comfy, but our room overlooked St. Paul , which was very noisy every night, making it difficult to open a window, and therefore the room was a bit stuffy. Perhaps a more expensive room overlooking the river side would be better....hard to say.

Staff was very helpful, breakfast was good enough, but I doubt I would stay here again given the noisy situation.

Room Tip: go for the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachesrsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a charming 40-room hotel in a stone building across the river in old town. The location was fantastic, and the hotel and my room were exactly what I expected. The pictures the hotel website provides provides an accurate description of what you can expect.
I had reserved a queen room with river views; the room decor was very charming and the bathroom was updated and nice. The only down side was that being on the second floor, the river views were obstructed by the trees. I would recommend requesting rooms on 3rd or 4th floor if you want river views. The breakfast was good. The staff is very nice and helpful. I want to mention that I arrived a day late because my flight was canceled, but the hotel did not charge me for that night... I was very happy.

Room Tip: As I understand this hotel has some rooms with modern decor, and their rooms with king beds are much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrin72h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel was pretty good. I enjoyed the room particularly, with it's view over the port and windows that opened. The location was nice. The bed was comfortable. The shower with both a rain and regular shower heads was nice. The bathrobes had seen better days, having multiple rips and worn spots. Someone, presumably the housekeeper, left a cigarette in our room (unsmoked) and forgot to leave towels. We tossed the cigarette, and the hotel quickly provided the missing towels. I thought the included breakfast, while fine, was uninspired, however the croissants were excellent. Sitting outside for breakfast was lovely. The coffee was a little weak for my taste. The desk staff were very helpful and pleasant. It was easy to talk with them without having to wait too long. The bar on the roof had exceptionally slow service the evening we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ealing
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in a fifth floor deluxe king river view room. River view very good and street outside quiet. However, room a tad small for bed/furnishings and we kept bumping into corners of the wooden bed with resulting bruised ankles. Why I'm giving 4 rather than 5 stars.

Front desk staff extremely helpful with directions and best means of getting to various sights. Porter was most helpful with luggage, taxis and bathroom door when it stuck. Service in Gaspar's excellent and dinner one evening very tasty. Breakfast was ordinary but was included in the value for money room rate. Roof terrace excellent venue for late night drink. Would recommend but perhaps I should have booked King Premier Room to fill my expectation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPKATZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,337 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,134 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing