We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

As 1st time visitors to Montreal we chose to stay here as the area looked charming and vibrant. We were not aware at the time of booking the close proximity to where we disembarked our 7 night cruise from Boston so this was an added advantage. The place did not disappoint - it is clean, the rooms are well equipped and the staff are very friendly and helpful, even at 4am when we left for our early flight! The porters, in particular Matthew, were very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Breakfast which was included in the room rate was good and cooked to order, the only downside being that you are presented with a bill for breakfast to pay a service charge- this is something we have never encountered in our numerous stays in hotels all over the world ! The location of this hotel is excellent and perfect for exploring the old town and the new. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAB632013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had during your time at the Auberge du Vieux Port. We’re glad you’ve discovered us and really happy to hear that you had an excellent time especially for your first visit in Montreal.
Mathieu is delighted that you were satisfied with the information he gave you and appreciated his services.
We all hope to have you stay with us again during your next visit in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    322
    70
    27
    19
See reviews for
124
970
47
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay it was my first time visiting Montreal ,and what a great way to see this beautiful city. The rooms were very nice, well decorated with all the amenities. The only negative thing was ,although the shower was very nice and spacious there was a problem with the water spilling over the shower stall while you shower, we did bring it to the attention of the staff ,they seemed to be very concern and glad that we brought it to their attention. The front desk staff was very polite and friendly even though I did not speak French . Michael one of the concierge was very nice and helpful, But kudos to Olivier one of the Hotel Managers as well who was very informative ,pleasant and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable, for example we would be going to Quebec city on a bus tour the next day and wouldn't be able to have breakfast because we were leaving to early, he had a lunch box prepared for us and showed us where it would be on that day. That was very considerate. Both gentlemen seemed very sincere and seem to really enjoy being able to help as if it gave them great gratitude from seeing the guest happy . The restaurant staff was overall friendly and accommodating ,the complimentary breakfast that was include in our price was very good and well worth the cost. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this Hotel. We had a Great time .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choiceman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a treat and a treasure, we loved our stay here. The rooms are beautiful, ours was the honeymoon suite and everything was perfect. Big cozy bed, large French open windows overlooking the water, big spa like bathroom and no carpets on the floors.
The staff were so friendly and helpful and so was room service every morning. We walked every where in Old Montreal from this spot. The rooftop terrace is a must, the view is just lovely.
We will stay here on our next visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th year anniversary. We have traveled and stayed in many hotels throughout the world. I have to say that this hotel is one, if not the best! The rooms are gorgeous, romantic, clean. The bed and linens are so soft, could sleep for hours. Showers are great. You can hear the horse hooves outside on the Rue Commune at night clip clopping by, which makes for a charming effect. We were in room 102. The staff is friendly and were very accommodating. We left for an early flight and they all made sure our cab was there and breakfast was available, even though it was before hours. They went above and beyond all expectations. The only slightly annoying thing was the wi-fi was very spotty for us, and would go in and out. We let them know and they did their best to fix this for us. I have to say that Montreal was not one of our favorite cities, so this hotel really helped us enjoy our stay that much more. Thank you, Auberge du Vieux-Port for making our anniversary very special and memorable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riss104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Auberge du Vieux Port. Not only was our room beautiful, all the fixtures and amenities were high end. The staff was terrific, especially Michael, the concierge. Take advantage of his (and the others) knowledge of this beautiful city. The complimentary breakfast was very good - wonderful mini chocolate croissants. I have seen other reviews mentioning the noise level at night, but we didn't hear a thing - maybe due to the fabulously comfortable bed. the location is ideal, right in the heart of old Montreal, with views either of the St Lawrence river or the cobblestoned streets. Make sure to book a space on the rooftop terrace to watch the Saturday night fireworks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDHNorthernVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

You have high expectations when you first stay at an auberge with a reputation as good as the Auberge du vieux port, but you know that there is a chance that the real experience will not live up to your expectations. But for the Auberge du vieux port our high expectations were not only meet, I would say they were exceeded. For our visit, this was the hotel with the best location, best facilities and the very best staff. Michel at the front desk, Federic (valet) who was everywhere, all of the other staff, all overseen by Olivier. They made sure that our visit was not only excellent at the hotel, they went to extreme measures regarding our excursions around the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel is cheery and helpful. Beds are super comfortable and room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was wonderful, if crowded on some mornings. We had a room on the fifth floor (top floor) with a great view. However, the downside was that the partners leaving the terrace late at night via the fifth floor were very loud and inconsiderate of those staying at the hotel. This was a nightly occurrence, but particularly bad on the nights when there were fireworks (weds and sat). Also, the elevator was extremely slow and always in high demand. Beyond that, would highly recommend this hotel as it is right in the middle of everything and has its own unique personality.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dulceyjugoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#7 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonaparte
Auberge Bonaparte
#3 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing