We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting museum”

Pointe-a-Calliere Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.95*
and up
Old Montreal Discovery Tour
Ranked #19 of 393 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Pointe-à-Callière, the birthplace of Montréal and a National Historic Site, offers visitors the opportunity to explore history through an original underground circuit leading through archaeological excavations. At the start of their visit, an immersive multimedia show presents a high-speed view of the city's history, the remains come to life and the count down begins! The museum also offers year-round temporary local and international exhibitions. For Montréal's 375th anniversary in May 2017, Pointe-à-Callière will inaugurate a new pavilion highlighting Fort Ville-Marie.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The area is on a river and is very beautiful. The museum is not long to visit and all the artifacts are interesting. The guides are warmful and knowledgable

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    434
    99
    51
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sainte-Julie, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went there for christmas, and there was a play for children, it was so nice, the kids loved it. And the pirat's boat was awesome.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Like the special exhibits the best, though the underground holographic exhibit of Montreal history is amazing, too. Small kids will meet holiday figures from any cultures at Christmas time -- Pere Noel, Old Buffana, etc. Very multicultural.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vivaldi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
520 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

As Americans we know little about the history of Montreal so we went to this museum thinking we might be bored. However, we found it fascinating, especially how the place is built on top of the ruins of the original city. The price of admission includes a multi-media presentation of the city's history in a theater that sites on the center of the ruins. My only quibble with the show is that it is too "gung-ho" Montreal and glosses over some of the more controversial parts of history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeb1Falmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

So I went on a very busy Sunday lunch period and this affected my overall experience of the place. Having looked this up online I was hoping to catch the lunch time tours, three in a row, all included in the entry price... so I thought.

Upon arrival I was greeted by a long line well out the door and down the street. Although I only had to wait 15ish minutes when I did manage to get inside it was very confusing to know where to go. A lady on loud speaker was saying the same thing in French and English, barely audible "all tours are full... try later". Whilst all this was going on people were pointing in different directions in the building.

Assuming you could self tour for free I followed a group of people off to a section of the museum. It was pretty basic, learning about how Montreal first started civilization etc. The layout was confusing and I left after 20 minutes, more out of confusion and annoyance with how busy the place was.

Being a 22 year old who doesn't like history this wasn't my thing. Potentially with a guided tour on a day that wasn't packed this may have been worth paying for, however I'm glad I could have a look for free

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dcuf146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pointe-a-Calliere Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pointe-a-Calliere Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing