We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montreal Archaeology and the Beatles!”

Pointe-a-Calliere Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.17*
and up
Old Montreal Discovery Tour
Ranked #17 of 393 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Pointe-à-Callière, the birthplace of Montréal and a National Historic Site, offers visitors the opportunity to explore history through an original underground circuit leading through archaeological excavations. At the start of their visit, an immersive multimedia show presents a high-speed view of the city's history, the remains come to life and the count down begins! The museum also offers year-round temporary local and international exhibitions. For Montréal's 375th anniversary in May 2017, Pointe-à-Callière will inaugurate a new pavilion highlighting Fort Ville-Marie.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Montreal Archaeology and the Beatles!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The archaeology tour of Montreal was interesting and a unique way to learn about the city's founding. The Beatles exhibit was very cool! If you're a Beatles fan, I highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank erinobene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    439
    102
    51
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Confusing Jumble of Rocks and Bells and Whistles”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am fascinated by archeology and had high hopes for Pointe-a-Calliere. However, Pointe-a-Calliere was a disappointment. The underground crypts are poorly explained, and after careful reading of the explanations I was usually not sure where I was in relation to the old city, and what I was looking at. This is despite being surrounded by interactive/touch screen displays, cases with findings, and dioramas. I would have benefited enormously from the presence of a docent whom I could have spoken with. However, they had only one English language tour that Friday, and that was later in the afternoon. Likewise, I would have gladly paid for an audio guide or a guidebook, but they simply have none. The exhibit starts off with an 18 minute multimedia event which gives an overview of the history of Montreal. Not bad in and of itself, but it would have helped to give an overview of the archeological finds.

It is not clear that the excavations themselves were that interesting anyway. Most interesting were part of a 17th century graveyard that is excavated, and a sewer built in 1837 which allowed for the paving over of a creek to create Place D'Youville. A good part of the excavations were for an 1870 insurance building, and some other mid-19 century buildings (it was hard to discern what was what). There was an Iroquois hearth next to a model of the Iroquois town Hochelaga, which gives the impression that this was the original site of Hochelaga, though in fact it is well known that that site is a few miles away.

The interactive screens allowed you to see how a canoe was dugout, to talk to several residents of the time, and others things that kids would enjoy, without clarifying the sites. At the museum were also special exhibits on a visit of the Beatles to Montreal in 1964 and on the history of tea, both of which I skipped. Perhaps I should have looked at them, maybe they would have made the $20 entrance fee worthwhile.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_B_from_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little peice of history”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The tea exhibit was lovely. It was interesting to learn a bit more about the history of montreal. There was a video at the beginning that we viewed, skip it if you want, it was not good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good and getting better”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A great mix of history right on the site of the founding of Montreal, and always good temporary exhibitions (The Beatles at the moment of writing)
Don't miss it !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christophe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So informative yet fun for all”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This museum is built on an archaeological site which is really very intersting for its own history let alone any theme that might be presented. There is also a great restaurant at the top.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pointe-a-Calliere Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pointe-a-Calliere Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing